We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable old style hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Avisford Park
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed there for 2 nights whilst in the Arundel area, hotel in lovely setting with nice gardens, golf course and outside terrace area. Hotel is of the old style, very comfortable, good service in bar, restaurant and at reception. Room was comfortable and clean. Only down side if you need a lift there isn't one but the stairs are easy and not too many of them

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems ask for a room on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your recent stay.

We were very pleased that you had an enjoyable two-night stay with us and appreciated our beautiful setting with extensive grounds, golf course and outside terrace.

We were also glad that you found your room comfortable and clean and the level of service experienced was to your satisfaction.

We hope you will return for a further visit, and would suggest you contact the hotel directly to request a ground floor room if this would be more suitable for your needs.

Thank you once again for choosing Hilton Avisford Park.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,416 - 1,422 of 2,153 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed here for a wedding last weekend and I really must commend this hotel for their excellent customer service. The staff were a delight from beginning to end.

The breakfast is absolutely lovely, cocktail menu is great, and the food provided at the wedding was gorgeous. The wedding itself was beautiful and the grounds are very pretty!

We took our little dog along but managed to forget her water bowl. We asked if they had something suitable that we could use and one of the ladies bought us up a bowl straight away. It seemed like it was going to be a little bit big for our tiny dog so she offered to go home to her flat to find something else! That is unusually great service and although we didn't take her up on her kind offer we were really impressed with it. Unfortunately I didn't get her name so I can't name check her - but you know who you are! ;)

We also need to mention Freddie the waiter. He looked after us all excellently throughout the whole weekend and the service he provided was perfect. Thanks Freddie!

I must unfortunately mention the bad points of the hotel... Our room was on the main corridor of the first floor (Room 122) and we had probably the worst nights sleep of our lives on the Friday of our weekend there. The walls are paper thin and we could hear every single person walking along the corridor, and there was a steady stream of them until about 4am!! Also the couple upstairs were having a fantastic time, and very loudly!! So we could hear every movement and noise coming from them. Which was pretty embarrassing and awkward, and also really inconvenient when we were trying to get to sleep!!

This room is also directly above a party room which on the night of the wedding meant that you could hear loud music until the early hours. This was fine for us as we were obviously guests at the wedding and enjoying the party. But if we hadn't have been or had wanted an early night it would have been nearly impossible to sleep.

Also it may be a tiny point to mention but the bathroom in our room was miniscule. You couldn't open the bathroom door without it hitting the basin. Although this didn't cause any major problems it wasn't the most pleasant!

Another bug bear in the wifi - its £15 for 24 hours which is truly ridiculous in this day and age where broadband is so cheap and readily available. The hotel has no signal whatsoever on both O2 and Vodafone networks which got really annoying too.

Overall due to the wonderful staff and gorgeous wedding this was a lovely weekend and I would stay at the hotel again. However I would definitely ask for a room in a quieter part of the hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KlnBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your recent stay.

We were delighted that you found the level of service, quality of food and cocktail menu all to your satisfaction and overall you had an enjoyable stay whilst attending a wedding. Thank you for your particular mention of Freddie; your kind comments will be shared with him. We were also pleased that a member of our team assisted in making your little dog’s stay with us as comfortable as possible.

It was, however, disappointing that you experienced some noise disturbance during your stay, and we apologise for the inconvenience caused. We have also noted your comment regarding the charge for wifi usage in bedrooms.

We do hope that you will return to Avisford Park for a further visit, and would suggest that you contact the hotel directly prior to making your booking so that we can advise whether or not the hotel is likely to be busy on your chosen dates.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Booked afternoon tea for 3.30pm for my partner and myself. Avisford is set in beautifully maintained grounds and the same degree of care is experienced inside the property.
The lounge where tea is served overlooks the lawn and borders and should the weather favour a well furnished patio provides an alternative setting. The quality of the sandwiches, cakes and scones was as good as we have sampled at hotels charging twice the price. We had one complaint, our choice of tea was not served hot. To make matters worse the cups were shallow, accelerating the cooling process. I asked for the water jug to be refilled with really hot water but to no avail, it was no better than the first delivery. Ah well, one can't have everything

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank stillgoinghants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your recent visit.

We were delighted that you chose Hilton Avisford Park to enjoy afternoon tea with your partner.

We were pleased that the quality of the sandwiches, cakes and scones was to your satisfaction. However, we apologise that the temperature of the tea was not hot enough, despite a replacement water jug being provided. Your comment regarding the style of the cups has been duly noted and we thank you for your constructive feedback.

Thank you once again for choosing Hilton Avisford Park and we do hope you will return to take afternoon tea on our patio on a future occasion.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed two nights over Easter and enjoyed excellent food and service - the restaurant staff were very efficient but friendly, especially over breakfast when things get busy. Beautiful location, and our room overlooked the frontage towards the golf course. Minor problem with children running through corridors late at night, but reception staff did try to deal with it -they can't be blamed if parents don't try to control their children! We have stayed in many Hiltons and this ranks as one of the best we have come across. Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have the best views overlooking the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your recent stay.

We were pleased to read that you had an enjoyable two-night break with us over Easter, and found our team members friendly and efficient and the standard of food excellent. We are fortunate to be situated in beautiful surroundings and note that your room had views overlooking the golf course which you enjoyed.

Whilst we rely upon our guests to show consideration towards other residents, we apologise that you experienced some disturbance from some of our younger visitors.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back for a further visit.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We have stayed at the Hilton Avisford Park at least 4 times in the last few years. It is set in a wonderful location outside Arundel, not far from Chichester, Bosham and many beaches.

Rooms have always been spacious and clean; last time we had a suite with two bedrooms but this time as we took just one of our girls we shared a family room.

It was my birthday during the trip and staff went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our stay, including leaving a happy birthday message written in chocolate and fruit in our room, and making sure we had a good table at breakfast.

Talking of breakfast, there is everything you could possibly choose from and if you prefer your eggs or porridge cooked in a different way, staff will do this too.

Highly recommended hotel full of character.

Room Tip: If you prefer your privacy then book a suite with two rooms as opposed to a one bedroom family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your recent stay in April.

We note that you have stayed with us on several occasions over the past few years and find our location particularly convenient for visiting the local area.

We were also glad to note that our team members recognised your birthday and prepared a celebratory fruit plate for your enjoyment. Our breakfast buffet offers a wide choice of items, in addition to individually prepared dishes for those guests with particular preferences, and we were pleased you found this to your satisfaction.

Thank you once again for continuing to choose Hilton Avisford Park as a place to stay with your family. We hope you will return for another visit soon.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We booked here for my partners birthday dinner. The food was excellent and the service was impeccable. Thank you for making our evening so special. We would definitely visit again and recommend to my friends.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashleyags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your recent stay in April.

We were delighted that you chose to stay with us on the occasion of your partner’s birthday and note your celebratory dinner was entirely to your satisfaction. We were very pleased that our team members positively contributed to making this a very special evening.

Thank you once again for your positive feedback and recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back for a further visit.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed here for two nights from Thursday to Saturday in April.
Stayed in the garden lodge part of the hotel, which is a few minutes walk through a link corridor containing lovely local canvas pictures to look at and purchase if wanted on route to our room. Nice comfortable good sized room.
Pleasant, courteous staff.
Relaxing atmosphere, lovely grounds.
Would recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gaynor77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your recent stay in April.

We were very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable two-night stay with us and enjoyed the walk along the linkway to your room in the Garden Lodge.

We were also glad that you found our team members pleasant and courteous and enjoyed a relaxing atmosphere in our beautiful surroundings.

Thank you once again for making Hilton Avisford Park your choice for your break, and for your recommendation. We hope you will return again for a further stay.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arundel
2.7 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
1,210 reviews
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
224 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Best Western Beachcroft Hotel
6.1 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
346 reviews
3 mi away
Arundel Park Hotel
Arundel Park Hotel
#7 of 7 in Arundel
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Avisford Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Avisford Park

Address: Yapton Lane | Walberton, Arundel BN18 0LS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Price Range: £84 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Avisford Park 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Avisford Park, Arundel, a grand Georgian manor house is set in 89 acres of beautiful Sussex parkland. There are excellent transport links to the hotel; proximity to London Gatwick Airport and Southampton Airport and rail links direct to London.The hotel has 140 well appointed bedrooms and an array of leisure facilities including indoor and outdoor (seasonal opening times) heated swimming pools, sauna, steam room, tennis courts, squash court, putting, croquet and beauty rooms offering a range of Elemis treatments and products.There are also various function rooms ideal for weddings, christenings and family gatherings or business events catering for 2 to 550. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Avisford Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Avisford Park Hotel Arundel
Hilton Avisford Park Arundel, West Sussex
Hilton Arundel
Arundel Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing