We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desperately needs updating and better staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Avisford Park
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Desperately needs updating and better staff.”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed here for a wedding and was sorely disappointed. Room quality, staff friendliness/helpfulness and breakfast were below average from what should be expected from such a renowned chain. The hotel itself could do with modernisation as the decor and carpets are a bit dated.

The room: hot and stuffy with no way of cooling it down. Felt like the heating was on even though it wasn't. Bed was one of the most uncomfortable I've slept in for a long time. On the plus side the shower was nice and well stocked with clean towels and shower gels.

Staff: Not good. Most had a couldn't care less attitude and weren't helpful, gym staff were more interested in the football on tv, waiting staff at breakfast didn't give all the payment options so we ended up with a larger bill than expected. Exception was the front desk staff who were quite helpful in organising a taxi and quickly sorting out check in/out.

Food: Breakfast was disappointing. Hash browns were incinerated, bacon similar and sausages are small and poor quality. Good choice of continental items though if that takes your fancy... We were charged £16 each for breakfast and it was just not worth it...

I wouldn't stay here again, especially having stayed in other Hilton's which have outshone this hotel in every way.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weekend_breaker29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park, following your recent stay.

It was disappointing to read that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. There are clearly certain training matters which need addressing, in order to achieve and maintain our usual high standards.

On a positive note we were glad you enjoy the shower facilities and had a plentiful supply of towels and shower gels.

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,046 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    613
    535
    286
    155
See reviews for
441
928
45
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I have just returned from 3 nights at the hotel. A perfect site for an hotel of quality, but a very tired building with small bedrooms, ancient fans past their working life, no air conditioning so compulsory open bedroom windows with years of dirt to disguise the paintwork and worn out beds, was not conducive to a good night's sleep. With effective pro-active management this hotel could be a winner. The dinning room staff were good, the food very average and the attention to detail was poor, with dirty trays left outside rooms for hours, bins not emptied, toiletries not replaced, no assistance with luggage, reception staff more interested in computer screens and telephones than customer service. Frequently fielding complaints from unhappy guests made waiting times in foyer most entertaining! This is not what is expected of Hilton Hotels and cannot be recommended.

Room Tip: avoid the top floor in summer, overbearing heat at night and no air-conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GarethGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park, following your recent stay.

We were very disappointed to read that your recent stay fell below our usual high standards. There is clearly a need for retraining in certain areas, which will be addressed by the relevant departmental managers to ensure the requisite standards are being achieved.

Thank you for your constructive feedback.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Arundel hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Lovely hotel in grounds including golf course. We had a great 2 nights there in June. We made use of the pools both indoor and out and I will be packing the golf clubs next time. Great breakfast and the whole hotel much quieter than staying in Arundel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park, following your recent stay.

We were delighted you had an enjoyable two-night stay with us and were able to make use of both the indoor and outdoor pools.

We were also pleased that the standard of breakfast met with your satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you back again for a further visit – remember the golf clubs!

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014

A very tired room with no air conditioning. There was a good selection for breakfast and the table overlooked the very pleasant grounds. Unfortunately when leaving the reception staff did not know how to apply the prepaid ebookers confirmation. Which led to a 30 minute wait and my card was debited twice for the stay. Not what you expect from a Hilton.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park, following your recent stay.

Whilst we do not have air conditioning in the bedrooms, we do provide all rooms with a fan to assist with temperature control which we hope you found useful.

It was disappointing that you experienced a problem with your bill on check-out and apologise for any inconvenience caused; this will be addressed with further training.

On a positive note we were pleased you enjoyed the variety of items on offer at breakfast and had a good view of the garden whilst dining.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

we last stayed here 12 years ago, nothing much has changed, I felt this was just an average dated hotel, but with good staff. The surrounding grounds and the golf course were the best bits.

The best rooms are the corner rooms, as they are much bigger and tend to have two windows..

Room Tip: Corner rooms are large and sunny, an average hotel with very helpfull staff. the best bits are the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malcolm F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park, following your recent stay.

We were glad to note this was a return visit; since your previous stay we have refurbished various areas of the hotel and have just recently completed the outside patio with new furniture, making it a superb place to enjoy some refreshments whilst admiring our lovely grounds.

We were also pleased that our team members provided a good level of service during your stay.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope you will return for a further visit.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Hotel in a lovely area and a great room. Plenty of facilities available for use. Avoid bar unless you have money to burn. Staff however very helpful. I would recommend this hotel if you are not on a budget.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park, following your recent stay.

We were glad you enjoyed our location and found the standard of accommodation and facilities to your satisfaction and our team members helpful.

Your comment regarding bar prices has been noted and we thank you for your feedback.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My wife and I recently stayed four nights at this hotel. We found the room spacious and easy access with a wheelchair. We had the impression that there is a very good team here, they went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The restaurant is good even if the menu is a little limited. We will be returning when we are next in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Norman J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park, following your recent stay.

We were delighted that you enjoyed your four-night stay at the hotel and found the accommodation suitable for your needs. We pride ourselves on being a friendly and professional team and were pleased this was your experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back for a further visit when you are next in the area, and hope you will enjoy the new menu we are about to launch.

Thank you for choosing Hilton Avisford Park.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arundel
2.7 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#3 of 7 in Arundel
1,033 reviews
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
217 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
322 reviews
3.9 mi away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
1,018 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Arundel Fontwell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Avisford Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Avisford Park

Property: Hilton Avisford Park
Address: Yapton Lane | Walberton, Arundel BN18 0LS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Avisford Park 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Avisford Park, Arundel, a grand Georgian manor house is set in 89 acres of beautiful Sussex parkland. There are excellent transport links to the hotel; proximity to London Gatwick Airport and Southampton Airport and rail links direct to London.The hotel has 140 well appointed bedrooms and an array of leisure facilities including indoor and outdoor (seasonal opening times) heated swimming pools, sauna, steam room, tennis courts, squash court, putting, croquet and beauty rooms offering a range of Elemis treatments and products.There are also various function rooms ideal for weddings, christenings and family gatherings or business events catering for 2 to 550. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Avisford Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Avisford Park Hotel Arundel
Hilton Avisford Park Arundel, West Sussex
Hilton Arundel
Arundel Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing