We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Avisford Park
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel grounds are lovely. We stayed during a warm weekend. They have a beautiful garden, a golf course, indoor and outdoor swimming pool, gym. Bar/lounge area was also nice on a sunny day.

Rooms are dated but adequate, comfortable and clean. Breakfast not so great. Not much of a variety of pastries/breads. Fruits looked like it came from a tin. Plates weren't taken away quick enough so I had to pile them up. Dinner food and service was better but nothing special.

Reception staff were OK but would be better with a smile. They did their job but didn't go above and beyond, and gave some information about the area that turned out to be incorrect as we later found out from some locals and taxi drivers.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Elena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park, following your recent stay.

We were pleased that you had warm weather during your stay and enjoyed our beautiful setting. We were also pleased to note that the standard of cleanliness met with your satisfaction.

It was disappointing, however, that the quality and variety of breakfast items and level of service fell below our usual high standards. Your particular comments will be addressed with further training and we apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your feedback.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,088)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Avisford Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,307 - 1,313 of 2,088 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

Wife and I are just back from three nights in one of the cheaper rooms on the 2nd floor of the Avisford Park Hilton.
The hotel was OK, but could have been so much better.
The hotel is surrounded by mature parkland/golf course in a lovely area with easy access to south coast points of interest, so it is a really good location to stay. The leafy grounds are attractive, and enlivened by amusing metal statues, particularly near the golf club. There were plenty of seats on the patios outside the lounge and bar areas. The heated outdoor pool was lovely on a warm day, and the smaller indoor pool looked good, too. Despite being close to the A27, we found it a peaceful, relaxing spot.
The building looks quite nice from the outside, but inside, the conversion from a boys school isn't entirely successful. There are extremely creaky floors, upper rooms that get far too hot in sunny weather and odd, bendy corridors. There is no lift, just narrow stairs.
Dinner in the restaurant had a choice of five starters, mains and deserts, plus some main course grills at a small supplement. Two out of three meals were good - interesting and well flavoured, but on a busy Friday night, neither the charming waiting staff nor the kitchen could quite cope. Drinks were 20% more expensive than the other three hotels we used in the past year.The buffet breakfast had a good variety.

the problems were with our room. Not too bad a size, with a comfortable, if creaky, bed and spotlessly clean. Despite being north facing, it was much hotter than it should have been, even with the warm weather at the time, and sleep was difficult., One window would only open half way,and the other wouldn't stay open at all. The space where a minibar fridge had once been, now contained a desk fan which only worked on its slowest speed. One of the bedside lights didn't work and the handy little safe declared that its battery was failing. We took the bulb to reception, and told them about the other problems, but despite reminding them later, in the end I had to go out and buy a bulb myself. The staff solved the problem with the safe by removing it altogether and we propped the window open with the wastebin!. Windows in the corridor which we would have opened to allow better flow of air were stuck shut following painting. Although the staff could do nothing about the window (or, it seems, the light), they did provide another fan. Management were very apologetic and seem to have applied a discount to our final bill. If we go back there, it will be to one of them more expensive rooms on the 1st floor, and with earplugs in case the ceiling is as creaky as was our floor!

Room Tip: Avoid the 2nd floor if the weather is warm or you can't climb stairs easily.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pdfisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park, following your recent stay.

We were glad you found our location convenient for local places of interest and appreciated our beautiful grounds and peaceful setting. We are fortunate to have a wide range of leisure facilities and were glad it was warm enough for you to use our outdoor pool.

It was disappointing, however, that you did not fully enjoy your dining experience on the Friday evening, when both service and quality of food fell below our usual high standards. We also apologise that the standard of accommodation fell below your expectations. Your particular comments will be discussed with the relevant departmental managers and remedial action taken as necessary, to ensure similar occurrences do not arise in the future.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your constructive feedback.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed here for a wedding and was sorely disappointed. Room quality, staff friendliness/helpfulness and breakfast were below average from what should be expected from such a renowned chain. The hotel itself could do with modernisation as the decor and carpets are a bit dated.

The room: hot and stuffy with no way of cooling it down. Felt like the heating was on even though it wasn't. Bed was one of the most uncomfortable I've slept in for a long time. On the plus side the shower was nice and well stocked with clean towels and shower gels.

Staff: Not good. Most had a couldn't care less attitude and weren't helpful, gym staff were more interested in the football on tv, waiting staff at breakfast didn't give all the payment options so we ended up with a larger bill than expected. Exception was the front desk staff who were quite helpful in organising a taxi and quickly sorting out check in/out.

Food: Breakfast was disappointing. Hash browns were incinerated, bacon similar and sausages are small and poor quality. Good choice of continental items though if that takes your fancy... We were charged £16 each for breakfast and it was just not worth it...

I wouldn't stay here again, especially having stayed in other Hilton's which have outshone this hotel in every way.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weekend_breaker29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park, following your recent stay.

It was disappointing to read that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. There are clearly certain training matters which need addressing, in order to achieve and maintain our usual high standards.

On a positive note we were glad you enjoy the shower facilities and had a plentiful supply of towels and shower gels.

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I have just returned from 3 nights at the hotel. A perfect site for an hotel of quality, but a very tired building with small bedrooms, ancient fans past their working life, no air conditioning so compulsory open bedroom windows with years of dirt to disguise the paintwork and worn out beds, was not conducive to a good night's sleep. With effective pro-active management this hotel could be a winner. The dinning room staff were good, the food very average and the attention to detail was poor, with dirty trays left outside rooms for hours, bins not emptied, toiletries not replaced, no assistance with luggage, reception staff more interested in computer screens and telephones than customer service. Frequently fielding complaints from unhappy guests made waiting times in foyer most entertaining! This is not what is expected of Hilton Hotels and cannot be recommended.

Room Tip: avoid the top floor in summer, overbearing heat at night and no air-conditioning
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GarethGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park, following your recent stay.

We were very disappointed to read that your recent stay fell below our usual high standards. There is clearly a need for retraining in certain areas, which will be addressed by the relevant departmental managers to ensure the requisite standards are being achieved.

Thank you for your constructive feedback.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Lovely hotel in grounds including golf course. We had a great 2 nights there in June. We made use of the pools both indoor and out and I will be packing the golf clubs next time. Great breakfast and the whole hotel much quieter than staying in Arundel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park, following your recent stay.

We were delighted you had an enjoyable two-night stay with us and were able to make use of both the indoor and outdoor pools.

We were also pleased that the standard of breakfast met with your satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you back again for a further visit – remember the golf clubs!

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

A very tired room with no air conditioning. There was a good selection for breakfast and the table overlooked the very pleasant grounds. Unfortunately when leaving the reception staff did not know how to apply the prepaid ebookers confirmation. Which led to a 30 minute wait and my card was debited twice for the stay. Not what you expect from a Hilton.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park, following your recent stay.

Whilst we do not have air conditioning in the bedrooms, we do provide all rooms with a fan to assist with temperature control which we hope you found useful.

It was disappointing that you experienced a problem with your bill on check-out and apologise for any inconvenience caused; this will be addressed with further training.

On a positive note we were pleased you enjoyed the variety of items on offer at breakfast and had a good view of the garden whilst dining.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

we last stayed here 12 years ago, nothing much has changed, I felt this was just an average dated hotel, but with good staff. The surrounding grounds and the golf course were the best bits.

The best rooms are the corner rooms, as they are much bigger and tend to have two windows..

Room Tip: Corner rooms are large and sunny, an average hotel with very helpfull staff. the best bits are the b...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malcolm F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park, following your recent stay.

We were glad to note this was a return visit; since your previous stay we have refurbished various areas of the hotel and have just recently completed the outside patio with new furniture, making it a superb place to enjoy some refreshments whilst admiring our lovely grounds.

We were also pleased that our team members provided a good level of service during your stay.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope you will return for a further visit.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arundel
2.7 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
1,081 reviews
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
220 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
328 reviews
3.9 mi away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
1,030 reviews
4.7 mi away
Best Western Beachcroft Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Avisford Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Avisford Park

Address: Yapton Lane | Walberton, Arundel BN18 0LS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Price Range: £69 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Avisford Park 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Avisford Park, Arundel, a grand Georgian manor house is set in 89 acres of beautiful Sussex parkland. There are excellent transport links to the hotel; proximity to London Gatwick Airport and Southampton Airport and rail links direct to London.The hotel has 140 well appointed bedrooms and an array of leisure facilities including indoor and outdoor (seasonal opening times) heated swimming pools, sauna, steam room, tennis courts, squash court, putting, croquet and beauty rooms offering a range of Elemis treatments and products.There are also various function rooms ideal for weddings, christenings and family gatherings or business events catering for 2 to 550. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Avisford Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Avisford Park Hotel Arundel
Hilton Avisford Park Arundel, West Sussex
Hilton Arundel
Arundel Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing