We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 4 star Hilton Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Avisford Park
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This is a Hilton in name only - at any star rating! We experienced poor service during our stay particularly in the outside patio area (e.g. no waiter service outside). This may be due to the fact that they had two wedding parties running on Saturday so no spare staff to look after the non wedding guests. This has definitely changed since we were last at the hotel. Its been a firm favourite for many family get togethers over the years. This time we had 3 rooms on Friday and 5 rooms on Saturday. We were very upset with a very rude poolside attendant who shouted at us for various poolside 'offences' starting with a very aggressive directive to stop taking a photo of my two 50+ brothers, talking in the pool - apparently the hotel now has a no poolside photos rule due to risk to children, in the pool!!. Has the world gone mad! There were no children anywhere near my brothers! Just wanted a picture of the two of them together in the pool! Further, the pool attendant told me off - for buying drinks and bringing them to the pool when his predecessor on 'watch' had told me the pool fridge wasn't working and to go to the bar and get drinks. There were no towels by the pool - another rule is that you have to get the towels from the GYM and sign for them - the staff at the gym gave off the vibe that they suspected you might not come back with them! Last time we stayed both drinks service by the pool and towels were all provided. PS - new rule also no alcohol by pool! We are not big drinkers but would have liked a beer or spritzer - in a plastic glass! There were several other incidents when the pool attendant jumped up from his deck chair to come over to us and tell us off by the pool and in the end I had to tell him to go away or I was going to speak to the Hotel Manager about his behaviour. This totally upset us all - trying to have a good time. We all found the rooms are swelteringly hot - no offer of a fan and for a 'deluxe' room we were very disappointed - clean but very basic and a small room. The cooked breakfast was consistently revolting on both mornings - mushrooms appeared to have been boiled and swimming in dark watery liquid - hash browns were dry and over fried, ditto fried bread etc. Definitely NOTa 4 star Hilton. Location and gardens are excellent - which is obviously why they don't need to try in the hotel. Sadly the standard of service and general state of the hotel means its very unlikely that we will stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yemcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park, following your recent stay.

It was disappointing to read that you and your family did not fully enjoy your stay with us. There have clearly been some changes since your last visit concerning the use of cameras poolside and in the health club, food and drink consumed by the outside pool and regarding the provision of towels and it was disappointing these were not explained to you in a more professional manner. This will be addressed with further training by our Health Club Manager.

All our rooms should be supplied a fan to assist with temperature control and should either be on the desk or in the wardrobe; we apologise, however, if a fan was missing from your particular room.

Our Hilton buffet breakfast is very popular with many of our guests and it was disappointing to read that on this occasion it fell below your expectations. Your particular comments have been passed to our Head Chef for him to review.

Thank you once again for providing your feedback.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,333 - 1,339 of 2,119 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

The hotel, staff, accommodation, food all really good. But the pool and spa facilities not as depicted on the website - think it must be another hotel in the group. I was disappointed as I specifically booked there for this feature.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Yezzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park, following your recent stay.

We have checked the images used on our website for the pool and spa areas and can confirm they are of our facilities.

We were pleased that you found the standard of accommodation, quality of food and level of service to your satisfaction.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Rooms are not the same as pictures! They are tired. Dated decor, the smell of old! Breakfast was rubbery old bacon and a typical buffet. Definitely won't be returning. The only saving grace was the staff, they were delightful and very pleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank sam u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park, following your recent stay.

It was disappointing to note that the standard of accommodation and breakfast did not meet with your satisfaction. Your particular comment regarding the bacon will be passed to our Head Chef for investigation as this is not our usual standard.

We were, however, glad that you found our team members delightful and very pleasant.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

A birthday trip that ended badly. MY wife, my 2 teenage daughters and myself visited this hotel for a surprise birhtday night away for my wife. we had previously visited this hotel a few years ago, The grounds are fantastic and the hotel is not far from the lovely town of Arundel. On arrival we had quite a wait before the hotel receptionist came out of the office to ceck us in. There was no real greeting and we felt there was an air of we was putting the receptionist out as she was far too busy doing something else, the receptionist came across as quite rude and when we asked to see the rooms before leaving our credit card details she was not happy, she begrudgingly agreed.. The rooms where very clean, we requested no feathers in the rooms, this request was carried out by the hotel before arrival. The hotel does not have any air conditioning as it has not been refurbished, this was not a problem as fans were provided. 1 of the fans was broken and upon request the fans was replaced. Unfortunately my with became unwell and we said we had to leave and go home. I requesrted to speak to the hotel manager tas we had only been in the hotel for 2 hours. when the manager came out and spoke to my wife and myself she started off by showing some concern as to the well being of my wife, we explained to her what was wrong with my wife and she then started questioning my wife which turned into a bit of an interrogation. The manager then went off to speak to her head office to see if we could get a refund. My wife went outside to get some fresh air as she was not feeling to well. when the menager returned i tried to talk to her regarding the outcome but she was not too interested in speaking to me, she said to me that we had stayed in the hotel on the previous night, I pointed out this was not the case and she needed to check her records properly, the manager then went outside to speak to my wife to continue her questioing of her and her condition. the manager said the matter was out of her hands and we would have to wait until the following week to see if the hilton group would grant us a refund. We pointed out to the manager we had a 4 o clock cancellation on the booking. the manager then went inside to check. I went upstairs to pack, the manager then returned and started asking my wife questions again about her illness and taking notes, I came down with some luggage and returned for the rest. We were then hassled by hotel housekeepers to get out of the room and by the manager who said we had 5 minutes to leave the room as it had to be cleaned ( we only unpacked then repacked as i pointed iout to the manager) I found the hotel manager to be so very unproffessional and for her to adopt the attitude of a secret police interrogator most distressing. I was always led to believe by the hilton group that the customer is always right. obvoiusly not on this occasion. i would definatlely never recommend this hotel to anybody and would recommend the hilton group look into some of their staffs attitude towards their customers. I must say the receptionist who checked us out was very polite and proffessional and i do not want to condemn the rest of the staff as i was not there long enough to experience the rest of the facilities. we have experienced some great stays at other hilton hotels. so this trip away was quite a shock to us and hope this was just a poor manager in a normally great hotel chain.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park, following your recent visit.

We have responded to and discussed your particular concerns with you personally.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Great stay initial room 202 needs redecoration, moved to 112 and lovely, great helpful staff, well worth a trip.golf and grounds exceptional. Breakfast very good and worth £6 for in room sevice. restaurant food very well presented and tasty.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Derek V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park, following your recent stay.

We were delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and we note that we were able to change your initial room which was to your satisfaction.

We are very fortunate to have extensive leisure facilities and beautiful grounds and we were glad you were able to enjoy them.

We also note that you decided to have a leisurely breakfast in your room and also found the restaurant food very well presented and tasty.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your feedback. We hope you will decide to return for a further visit.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel grounds are lovely. We stayed during a warm weekend. They have a beautiful garden, a golf course, indoor and outdoor swimming pool, gym. Bar/lounge area was also nice on a sunny day.

Rooms are dated but adequate, comfortable and clean. Breakfast not so great. Not much of a variety of pastries/breads. Fruits looked like it came from a tin. Plates weren't taken away quick enough so I had to pile them up. Dinner food and service was better but nothing special.

Reception staff were OK but would be better with a smile. They did their job but didn't go above and beyond, and gave some information about the area that turned out to be incorrect as we later found out from some locals and taxi drivers.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Elena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park, following your recent stay.

We were pleased that you had warm weather during your stay and enjoyed our beautiful setting. We were also pleased to note that the standard of cleanliness met with your satisfaction.

It was disappointing, however, that the quality and variety of breakfast items and level of service fell below our usual high standards. Your particular comments will be addressed with further training and we apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your feedback.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Wife and I are just back from three nights in one of the cheaper rooms on the 2nd floor of the Avisford Park Hilton.
The hotel was OK, but could have been so much better.
The hotel is surrounded by mature parkland/golf course in a lovely area with easy access to south coast points of interest, so it is a really good location to stay. The leafy grounds are attractive, and enlivened by amusing metal statues, particularly near the golf club. There were plenty of seats on the patios outside the lounge and bar areas. The heated outdoor pool was lovely on a warm day, and the smaller indoor pool looked good, too. Despite being close to the A27, we found it a peaceful, relaxing spot.
The building looks quite nice from the outside, but inside, the conversion from a boys school isn't entirely successful. There are extremely creaky floors, upper rooms that get far too hot in sunny weather and odd, bendy corridors. There is no lift, just narrow stairs.
Dinner in the restaurant had a choice of five starters, mains and deserts, plus some main course grills at a small supplement. Two out of three meals were good - interesting and well flavoured, but on a busy Friday night, neither the charming waiting staff nor the kitchen could quite cope. Drinks were 20% more expensive than the other three hotels we used in the past year.The buffet breakfast had a good variety.

the problems were with our room. Not too bad a size, with a comfortable, if creaky, bed and spotlessly clean. Despite being north facing, it was much hotter than it should have been, even with the warm weather at the time, and sleep was difficult., One window would only open half way,and the other wouldn't stay open at all. The space where a minibar fridge had once been, now contained a desk fan which only worked on its slowest speed. One of the bedside lights didn't work and the handy little safe declared that its battery was failing. We took the bulb to reception, and told them about the other problems, but despite reminding them later, in the end I had to go out and buy a bulb myself. The staff solved the problem with the safe by removing it altogether and we propped the window open with the wastebin!. Windows in the corridor which we would have opened to allow better flow of air were stuck shut following painting. Although the staff could do nothing about the window (or, it seems, the light), they did provide another fan. Management were very apologetic and seem to have applied a discount to our final bill. If we go back there, it will be to one of them more expensive rooms on the 1st floor, and with earplugs in case the ceiling is as creaky as was our floor!

Room Tip: Avoid the 2nd floor if the weather is warm or you can't climb stairs easily.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pdfisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park, following your recent stay.

We were glad you found our location convenient for local places of interest and appreciated our beautiful grounds and peaceful setting. We are fortunate to have a wide range of leisure facilities and were glad it was warm enough for you to use our outdoor pool.

It was disappointing, however, that you did not fully enjoy your dining experience on the Friday evening, when both service and quality of food fell below our usual high standards. We also apologise that the standard of accommodation fell below your expectations. Your particular comments will be discussed with the relevant departmental managers and remedial action taken as necessary, to ensure similar occurrences do not arise in the future.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your constructive feedback.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arundel
2.7 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
1,122 reviews
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
221 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Best Western Beachcroft Hotel
6.1 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
332 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Arundel Fontwell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Avisford Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Avisford Park

Address: Yapton Lane | Walberton, Arundel BN18 0LS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Price Range: £72 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Avisford Park 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Avisford Park, Arundel, a grand Georgian manor house is set in 89 acres of beautiful Sussex parkland. There are excellent transport links to the hotel; proximity to London Gatwick Airport and Southampton Airport and rail links direct to London.The hotel has 140 well appointed bedrooms and an array of leisure facilities including indoor and outdoor (seasonal opening times) heated swimming pools, sauna, steam room, tennis courts, squash court, putting, croquet and beauty rooms offering a range of Elemis treatments and products.There are also various function rooms ideal for weddings, christenings and family gatherings or business events catering for 2 to 550. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Avisford Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Avisford Park Hotel Arundel
Hilton Avisford Park Arundel, West Sussex
Hilton Arundel
Arundel Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing