We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very poor food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Avisford Park
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I went to a wedding at the avisford park in June , there were about 50 people for the sit down meal which was very poor, my beef meal was uncooked and uneatable, looking around at the other guests I could see that most of there's was the same ,I could see that the bride and groom were looking very embarrassed and upset when the uneaten meals were collected by the waiters.

At someone's wedding you do not want to make a fuss about the meal ,but the food was so bad I told the waitress as she picked up the uneaten meal that it was uneatable, she said that she would pass this on to the "chef ? "I was far from alone about the comments made about this very poor meal.

I can only assume that the chef had walked out at a moments notice and the hotel had got the cleaner or the gardener to do the cooking as a real chef would not have let food this bad leave the kitchen . .

I understand the hotel have given back a small amount of money to the bride and groom, but this meal costs £70 per head which is a lot of money for a rubbish meal .

I have given this hotel one star as this was the lowest that could be left.

Room Tip: don't eat here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank rcp117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park, following your visit to the hotel for a wedding.

It was very disappointing to read that the standard of the meal did not meet with your satisfaction. We thank you for your feedback, which has been discussed with our Head Chef and his team.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,324 - 1,330 of 2,119 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

Any hotel that charges over £14.000 per day for an internet connection deserves to be named and shamed. I also think that any organisation that blatantly inflates prices by over 300% to fleece customers at times of high demand should be named and shamed. Step forward the Hilton Avisford Park. This establishment masquerades as a four star. From the standard of my room and that of my colleague, it was little better than a middle ranking B&B. And bearing in mind we were paying over £300 per night (Goodwood Festival of Speed weekend), the room rate was even more galling.

Establishments like this do our leisure industry no favours at all. One shudders to think of the reaction of the many foreign guests staying at the hotel when trying to understand why they where being asked to pay so much for so little.

Upsides? Well you can land your helicopter there. But I'd suggest you only do so in an emergency! However if a force landing is required there is one redeeming thing and that is the staff who are generally very helpful.

Room Tip: find another hotel?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park, following your recent stay.

Due to the age and former uses of the hotel the size and style of our bedrooms vary, and it was disappointing to read that the standard of accommodation did not meet with your satisfaction on this occasion.

Whilst we charge for internet usage in bedrooms, we do offer complimentary internet usage in our public areas to guests or non-residents using our facilities.

On a positive note, we were pleased to note you found our team members very helpful.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

A big hotel and lovely outdoor area and pool, great for summer weather. I enjoyed the indoor pool and spa which was great for relaxing and beauty treatments. Breakfast was very good, great choice and plentiful and the staff were friendly and efficient. We had a large well stocked room but I have one bug bear. I have stayed in one or two Hilton hotels where the beds are hard and if, like me, you are under 8 and a half stone, you don't sleep well and keep waking up with sore spots. Perhaps they should upgrade the mattresses as some of their competitors rate this a priority for a good night's stay. One other point made by the men that the beer choice is poor but a great place for golf fans with the golf park on the doorstep. I wonder if big chain hotel managers bother to look at Tripadviser?

Room Tip: Do they have a softer mattress?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dots122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park, following your recent stay.

We were very pleased that you enjoyed the indoor pool and spa treatments; our outdoor pool is also proving a great place to relax in the warmer weather. We were also glad you found breakfast of good quality and plentiful in choice and our team members friendly and efficient.

Our mattresses were changed relatively recently and conform to Hilton standards; we have noted, however, your preference for a slightly softer mattress and apologise you did not sleep well.

We have also noted the comments regarding the choice of beer and thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your feedback.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We attended a family wedding last weekend. We had a wonderful time. It was very well organised and every member of staff we met was so friendly and helpful. Special mention to Freddie who was superb. Always smiling, very accommodating and welcoming.

Only thing to mention was the room was really really hot and not the best shower!

Great breakfast and lovely grounds to relax in!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Gilesj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park, following your recent stay.

We were delighted that you had a wonderful time at your family wedding and found all our team members friendly and helpful. Thank you for your particular mention of Freddie; your kind comments will be shared with him. We were also glad you enjoyed our Hilton breakfast and beautiful grounds.

Your comment regarding the quality of the shower has been passed to our Maintenance team for investigation to ensure all showers are working correctly, and we thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your feedback.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This was our last stay as part of a vacation package by ScanBrit. They did an excellent job of providing us with consistently good hotels. Avisford Park was no exception. About two mile from Arundel itself it was an oasis of quiet, with lovely grounds, a golf course and a giant chess set on the lawn. Both an indoor and an outdoor pool are available, as well as a fitness center. Our room was quite a way away from the front entry and was very comfortable. Very nice linens and towels, nice size bathroom. One drawback was that WiFi was £15 per day, except in the lounge area, where it was free. Another (hopefully temporary) problem was that we were next to a public restroom. Since it was at the very end of a hall it was not used much, but somehow, while we were there, water kept running in one of the rooms. It certainly did not keep us from sleeping. Breakfast was wonderful, with freshly squeezed orange juice, lots of healthy choices and of course, full English breakfast makings as well as salads and veggie drinks. We also had dinner at the hotel restaurant, which was good and fairly priced. Loved the cheese platter!! Parking was in the grounds, and the staff was friendly and helpful. If I had one suggestion it would be to make the entrance signs bigger and clearer. We drove by the first one, and turned around before we got to the second one, which may actually have been an exit. The first entrance sign was low to the ground and quite overgrown and not very eye-catching.
Overall a wonderful place to stay, pool just right, sauna and steam room a definite plus.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Euronaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park, following your recent stay.

We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us as part of a vacation package and were able to utilise some of our extensive leisure facilities during your visit. We were also pleased that the standard of our buffet breakfast and evening meals met with your satisfaction, particularly the cheese platter!

Thank you for your suggestion regarding the entrance signs – we will certainly look at these to ensure they are clearly visible to our guests.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your feedback. We do hope you will choose to stay with us again.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Chose this Hotel because of it's brand association, location (near to Arundel) and for what it had to offer. Staff were nice and helpful but there is only so much they can do if the operator shows no interest. Initial room offering was hellish and upon threatening to leave got up-graded. Bigger, better located room with (as we found out at bedtime)horrible bed, non functioning TV and furniture so dated we thought we had somehow landed in the 1970's. Although the room was big, it was also hot as the ''air-con'' was a fan in the corner of the room. Breakfast was OK even though our ''OJ'' was on the turn. In conclusion, best avoid.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank AHUK2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park, following your recent stay.

Due to the age and former uses of the hotel the size and style of our bedrooms vary and we were sorry to read that the standard of accommodation did not meet with your satisfaction on this occasion. Your particular comments regarding the quality of the bed, television, furnishings and orange juice have all been duly noted, and will be discussed with the relevant departmental managers for investigation and remedial action as appropriate and we apologise for the inconvenience and disappointment caused.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This place was once a boys school and the restaurant is lined with all the boys' names, though the rest of the school has been very well converted. The setting is beautiful with a surrounding golf course, parkland, and outdoor pool. There is also a reasonable gym and indoor pool. Rooms are comfortable, though not particularly large, and breakfast is the usual Hilton standard. The restaurant provides a good range for dinner and service is friendly and swift. If you are in this area, visiting historic sites or sporting venues, this place is well worth considering.

Room Tip: Ask for an older room in the main part of the hotel if you want space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buckster21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park, following your recent stay.

We were pleased to read that you appreciated our historic charm and found our location, leisure facilities, quality of food and level of service all to your satisfaction.

Thank you for choosing Hilton Avisford Park. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back for a further stay.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arundel
2.7 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
1,117 reviews
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
221 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Best Western Beachcroft Hotel
6.1 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
332 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Arundel Fontwell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Avisford Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Avisford Park

Address: Yapton Lane | Walberton, Arundel BN18 0LS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Price Range: £72 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Avisford Park 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Avisford Park, Arundel, a grand Georgian manor house is set in 89 acres of beautiful Sussex parkland. There are excellent transport links to the hotel; proximity to London Gatwick Airport and Southampton Airport and rail links direct to London.The hotel has 140 well appointed bedrooms and an array of leisure facilities including indoor and outdoor (seasonal opening times) heated swimming pools, sauna, steam room, tennis courts, squash court, putting, croquet and beauty rooms offering a range of Elemis treatments and products.There are also various function rooms ideal for weddings, christenings and family gatherings or business events catering for 2 to 550. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Avisford Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Avisford Park Hotel Arundel
Hilton Avisford Park Arundel, West Sussex
Hilton Arundel
Arundel Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing