We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,313)
Filter reviews
2,313 results
Traveller rating
529
666
599
324
195
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
529
666
599
324
195
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf courseoutdoor poolgarden lodgelovely groundsspa breaksauna and steam roomleisure facilitiesbar pricesold schoollounge areaa bit tiredlovely hotellick of paintwedding receptionlots of choicebreakfast was excellentafternoon tea
Filter
Updating list...
1,514 - 1,519 of 2,313 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This hotel is set in lovely grounds, close to the A27. It has an outdoor pool and an inside pool and there is a terrace with plenty of seating with sun umbrellas.
The seating area in the bar is quite comfortable. Parts of the hotel seemed very sad and dated.
Unfortunately for us, we had a room overlooking the service area at the back of the hotel and were woken at 7.30 when the bins were emptied.
We would stay again if we could be guaranteed a quieter room.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank LBJNrTunbridgeWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park, following your recent stay.

We are very fortunate to be situated in beautiful grounds and have the benefit of many leisure facilities including our indoor and outdoor pools, plus our newly renovated outside terrace area.

It was disappointing to note that you experienced some noise disturbance early in the morning, and we apologise for the inconvenience this caused.

We do hope that you will return for a further visit, and would suggest you contact the hotel directly when making your booking so that we can allocate a room in a different part of the hotel, subject to availability.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your feedback. We look forward to hearing from you and welcoming you back to Hilton Avisford Park.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I went to a wedding at the avisford park in June , there were about 50 people for the sit down meal which was very poor, my beef meal was uncooked and uneatable, looking around at the other guests I could see that most of there's was the same ,I could see that the bride and groom were looking very embarrassed and upset when the uneaten meals were collected by the waiters.

At someone's wedding you do not want to make a fuss about the meal ,but the food was so bad I told the waitress as she picked up the uneaten meal that it was uneatable, she said that she would pass this on to the "chef ? "I was far from alone about the comments made about this very poor meal.

I can only assume that the chef had walked out at a moments notice and the hotel had got the cleaner or the gardener to do the cooking as a real chef would not have let food this bad leave the kitchen . .

I understand the hotel have given back a small amount of money to the bride and groom, but this meal costs £70 per head which is a lot of money for a rubbish meal .

I have given this hotel one star as this was the lowest that could be left.

Room Tip: don't eat here
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank R P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park, following your visit to the hotel for a wedding.

It was very disappointing to read that the standard of the meal did not meet with your satisfaction. We thank you for your feedback, which has been discussed with our Head Chef and his team.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Any hotel that charges over £14.000 per day for an internet connection deserves to be named and shamed. I also think that any organisation that blatantly inflates prices by over 300% to fleece customers at times of high demand should be named and shamed. Step forward the Hilton Avisford Park. This establishment masquerades as a four star. From the standard of my room and that of my colleague, it was little better than a middle ranking B&B. And bearing in mind we were paying over £300 per night (Goodwood Festival of Speed weekend), the room rate was even more galling.

Establishments like this do our leisure industry no favours at all. One shudders to think of the reaction of the many foreign guests staying at the hotel when trying to understand why they where being asked to pay so much for so little.

Upsides? Well you can land your helicopter there. But I'd suggest you only do so in an emergency! However if a force landing is required there is one redeeming thing and that is the staff who are generally very helpful.

Room Tip: find another hotel?
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park, following your recent stay.

Due to the age and former uses of the hotel the size and style of our bedrooms vary, and it was disappointing to read that the standard of accommodation did not meet with your satisfaction on this occasion.

Whilst we charge for internet usage in bedrooms, we do offer complimentary internet usage in our public areas to guests or non-residents using our facilities.

On a positive note, we were pleased to note you found our team members very helpful.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

A big hotel and lovely outdoor area and pool, great for summer weather. I enjoyed the indoor pool and spa which was great for relaxing and beauty treatments. Breakfast was very good, great choice and plentiful and the staff were friendly and efficient. We had a large well stocked room but I have one bug bear. I have stayed in one or two Hilton hotels where the beds are hard and if, like me, you are under 8 and a half stone, you don't sleep well and keep waking up with sore spots. Perhaps they should upgrade the mattresses as some of their competitors rate this a priority for a good night's stay. One other point made by the men that the beer choice is poor but a great place for golf fans with the golf park on the doorstep. I wonder if big chain hotel managers bother to look at Tripadviser?

Room Tip: Do they have a softer mattress?
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dot A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park, following your recent stay.

We were very pleased that you enjoyed the indoor pool and spa treatments; our outdoor pool is also proving a great place to relax in the warmer weather. We were also glad you found breakfast of good quality and plentiful in choice and our team members friendly and efficient.

Our mattresses were changed relatively recently and conform to Hilton standards; we have noted, however, your preference for a slightly softer mattress and apologise you did not sleep well.

We have also noted the comments regarding the choice of beer and thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your feedback.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We attended a family wedding last weekend. We had a wonderful time. It was very well organised and every member of staff we met was so friendly and helpful. Special mention to Freddie who was superb. Always smiling, very accommodating and welcoming.

Only thing to mention was the room was really really hot and not the best shower!

Great breakfast and lovely grounds to relax in!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Gilesj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park, following your recent stay.

We were delighted that you had a wonderful time at your family wedding and found all our team members friendly and helpful. Thank you for your particular mention of Freddie; your kind comments will be shared with him. We were also glad you enjoyed our Hilton breakfast and beautiful grounds.

Your comment regarding the quality of the shower has been passed to our Maintenance team for investigation to ensure all showers are working correctly, and we thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your feedback.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews