We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Base for the Area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Avisford Park
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good Base for the Area”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Convenient location for exploring Arundel and the area and a very reasonable tariff. I found the bed uncomfortable and struggled to sleep, which may have just been my bed and taste. Staff all friendly and can't comment on food as we dined out.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BigChrisR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park, following your recent stay.

We were pleased you found our location convenient for exploring Arundel and the local area. We were also glad that you found all our team members friendly.

It was disappointing, however, to note that you found the bed uncomfortable.

Thank you for choosing Avisford Park and we hope you will return for a further visit and take the opportunity to dine with us.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,965 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    592
    515
    273
    147
See reviews for
416
892
43
233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Level Contributor
94 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Here for a wedding reception. Staff service and food good although bedroom was small, a little tired and in need of air conditioning. Ideal for golfers and a good enough base for exploring West Sussex

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park, following your recent stay.

We were pleased that you found the level of service and quality of food to your satisfaction during your stay with us, whilst attending a wedding reception.

Although we do not have air conditioning, we do provide fans to assist with temperature control which we hope you found useful.

We are fortunate to have a wide range of leisure facilities including an on-site golf course, as well as being in a convenient location for exploring the local area.

Thank you once again for your review and we hope you will return for a further visit.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough
Level Contributor
113 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Tried this hotel out as part of a premium membership package deal and to be honest it’s not really what you would expect.
Scratch behind the scenes and this is just a rather boring formula Hilton where not a penny is spent on anything that they feel can be avoided. It’s soulless and behind the scenes just very poor. We stayed in a lodge room as I felt we had to call beforehand to see if we could get an adequate room as the reviews on this site were just so disappointing. It’s a good job we did I feel however 530 looked out over rubbish, broken bottles, discarded golfing trolleys and the most wonderful sheds.
A look around the fire exit door said it all. Third rate staff accommodation was plainly evident to see. If they treat their staff this badly and expect them to live in such style then it’s obvious what Hilton as a group think of their employees. Disgraceful corporate greed at its worst. However I must comment staff on the whole were cheerful and helpful so despite the poor hand given by the management and owners they still tried and this was much to their credit.
So more specifics. Breakfast followed on from a really terrible dinner the night before which seemed like Brake brothers or similar pre-prepared rubbish served dolled up and very sadly lacking any finesse whatsoever. Back to breakfast, soggy and held for hours cooked selection served in a dining room with overflowing tables left dirty as there were insufficient staff to clear. Disgusting!
Perhaps I just have standards higher than Hilton’s management, however they need to really get a grip on this hotel especially in the food and beverage department and carry out a real and detailed upgrade program of works.

Room Tip: the lodge rooms seem more modern
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BatmanMarlborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park, following your recent stay.

It was disappointing to read that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. We have over the past few years carried out refurbishment work in our public areas and most recently the outside terrace area, which has proved very popular this summer.

We apologise that the standard of evening meal and breakfast was not to your satisfaction, and have passed your comments to our Head Chef and Restaurant Manager so that they can more closely monitor food quality and ensure tables are cleared in a more timely fashion.

On a positive note, we were glad you found our team members cheerful and helpful.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Arundel hotels

York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed as a family group. Hotel is a fine old school with large grounds and very friendly staff. Can be slightly tortuous to find but a quiet spot. And Arundel, about 5 miles away, is a lovely town. Could have done with more clothes storage in the room and the Internet charges are very high but still enjoyed our stay.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Hairyshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park, following your recent stay.

We were pleased that you found our location peaceful and convenient for visiting Arundel.

We pride ourselves on being a friendly team and were glad to note this was your experience.

Your comments regarding storage space and wifi charges have been noted; the latter being set by Head Office rather than at hotel level.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope you will return for a further family get together.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This is the second time I have stayed at Avisford Park in the last couple of years. This is a great hotel and convenient for Arundel, Chichester and Goodwood.

Accommodation is great. The breakfast buffet choices are wide and varied. The restaurant in the evening has a great menu and the panelled dining room has a great atmosphere. You have to remember that this hotel is set in an old school so it does have that feel about it.

The weather has been fabulous, so it is always a bonus to swim in the outdoor heated pool. The terrace is lovely with new furniture though in some areas some big potted plants or trees would improve the space. Access to the terrace from the bar / lounge area needs to be addressed as it is currently via a fire door which bangs in the breeze. I accept it cannot be hooked back or wedged open as it is a fire door. (Frankie our waiter nearly ended up being scalded coming through this door whilst carrying a tea tray and the door banged back on him).

All staff are helpful and efficient, though special mention must go to Frankie who is particularly attentive and engaging nothing being too much trouble.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maj0rR0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park, following your recent stay.

We were very pleased to read that this was your second visit to the hotel in last couple of years and that you find it a convenient location.

We were also glad that you found the standard of accommodation and quality of food to your satisfaction and you appreciated the character of the property with its links to its history, namely the panelling in the Cedar Restaurant which contains the names of the former Head Boys from the time when the building was a school.

Our latest project has been the completion of the outside terrace area with new furniture and a new menu, and it is proving a very popular place for guests and visitors to linger with a drink or enjoy an al fresco meal. Your comments regarding some additional plants have been noted and we thank you for your feedback. We are also looking at an additional exit onto the terrace which should address concerns with the current exit/entrance door arrangement.

We were pleased that you were able to enjoy the outside pool during your stay and found all our team members – in particular Frankie – helpful and efficient.

Thank you for choosing Hilton Avisford Park – we hope you will return for a third stay before too long.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Spent a fab week here. The staff couldn't do any more to help and went out of their way to give genuine smiles every day. I never felt neglected and the set up was so clever that I heard nothing from the wedding guests that partied on Friday night. The facilities are great too. I would have liked a bigger gym - I think this would be a great improvement to the hotel. But I cant complain because the two pools were more than enough compensation. Thanks guys for looking after me :-)

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Edwina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park, following your recent stay.

We were delighted you had an enjoyable week-long stay with us and were well looked after by our friendly team members. We are very fortunate to have extensive leisure facilities and were pleased that you were able to utilise them during your stay, in particular the indoor and outdoor pools and gym.

Thank you for choosing Hilton Avisford Park. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back for a further stay.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I stayed at this hotel in July. The outside and the gardens are great but it stops there. I know it was very hot for England during my stay but I had to sleep with the window open every night and was still hot. Two fans were provided in the room which helped somewhat. The room was cheap but the whole place not what one would expect for a Hilton. I was out from breakfast time until mid-afternoon and when I returned my room had still not been serviced. I sat for ages in the lounge and was never served...after 20 minutes or so I gave up. The one thing I can say is that the staff were helpful or tried to be.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterNCass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 26 September 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park, following your stay in July.

We were sorry that you found your room hot during your stay. We note, however, that the provision of fans did help make the room more comfortable in the absence of air conditioning.

Your comments regarding your room not being serviced and the fact you were not served in the lounge have been passed to our Head Housekeeper and Restaurant Manager for action as appropriate, and we would like to assure you this is not our usual level of service.

On a positive note we were pleased you found our team members helpful.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arundel
2.7 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#3 of 7 in Arundel
984 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
622 reviews
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
991 reviews
3.0 mi away
Arundel Park Hotel
Arundel Park Hotel
#7 of 7 in Arundel
83 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Arundel Fontwell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Avisford Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Avisford Park

Property: Hilton Avisford Park
Address: Yapton Lane | Walberton, Arundel BN18 0LS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Avisford Park 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Avisford Park, Arundel, a grand Georgian manor house is set in 89 acres of beautiful Sussex parkland. There are excellent transport links to the hotel; proximity to London Gatwick Airport and Southampton Airport and rail links direct to London.The hotel has 140 well appointed bedrooms and an array of leisure facilities including indoor and outdoor (seasonal opening times) heated swimming pools, sauna, steam room, tennis courts, squash court, putting, croquet and beauty rooms offering a range of Elemis treatments and products.There are also various function rooms ideal for weddings, christenings and family gatherings or business events catering for 2 to 550. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Avisford Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Avisford Park Hotel Arundel
Hilton Avisford Park Arundel, West Sussex
Hilton Arundel
Arundel Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing