We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location - amazing breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Avisford Park
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Reviewed 20 October 2009

Stayed here for one night and got a great deal on a dinner bed and breakfast package via the internet site. The countryside location makes it a great base for touring the area, and there is ample car parking.

Yes, the floors are creaky and some of the decor is a little tired, but the room was clean and comfortable and the bathroom appeared to have been refurbished more recently. We too found that the top floor room was very stuffy, but unfortunately we didn't discover the fan in the cupboard until the next morning!

Check in was quick, friendly and efficient. There was an excellent choice of menu in the restaurant and unlike some other hotels, no reduced menu for those on an inclusive package. There was an overwhelming choice for breakfast with good quality bacon etc on the hot food counter.

Would definitely consider staying here again.

Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank emmandjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,017 - 2,023 of 2,119 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2009

Stayed here for one night and after reading reviews and seeing pictures was concerned. Check in was normal and then went to our room, which was basic guest room on top floor. Very small but not as bad as I was expecting, clean and bathroom reasonable decor with good tiles, maybe refurbed. Because this was such a small room with low cealing, it was very warm even with the window open as foar as it would go, and this was October, I dread to think what it was like in the summer. It needs a/c desperately.
I would suggest you avoid top floor, in basic room anyway, larger rooms may be ok.

Generally hotel was not bad, a little tired and sometimes messy. We only used the restaurant for breakfast, but the food was good and the best I have had recently at large chain hotel groups buffets. All nicely cooked and not dried up, with fresh breads and good orange juice. Sorry to go on but it was much better than average and they should be complimented.

Yes the hotel does need some investment but I guess times are hard right now.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABritEnglandUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

I booked this hotel for my husbands birthday and got a very good deal for Dinner, Bed and Breakfast. We found the hotel easily and booked in with no problems. As people have said previously, it is a bit of a way out of Arundel. The grounds are lovely and most of them were taken up by the golf course.
We had a family room which was large and very clean but overlooked the loading bay so the view wasn't great. The mattress on our bed was very hard and we had a bit of trouble sleeping but the single bed our daughter had was a bit better. The food was excellent and as children ate free this was an added bonus. The only complaint we had was that the white wine wasn't quite cold enough and it was incredibly overpriced, as were most of the drinks from the bar.
The hotel had a nice relaxed atmosphere and the majority of staff were very friendly and helpful.
The swimming pool was nice and child friendly but the changing room shower had a slight smell of urine to it!
I would definately return but recommend you take a bottle of wine for your room if you are that way inclined!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cappy2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2009

Very speedy check in and check out service. Very pleasant grounds and a quiet location. Be warned though, the hotel is quite some distance from Arundel, we had thought, based on the map showing the location, that we would walk into Arundel for a look round and some lunch. Unfortunately you have to walk alongside a dual carriageway without a pavement, so we drove instead and searched for ages for a parking space as Arundel is a popular tourist spot. The bedroom was a tad cramped, in need of some redecoration, looking tired and dated. We were located on the first floor with a view over the golfcourse, we tried to open the sash window to air the room as it was rather stuffy. Unfortunately the hotel, in it's wisdom only allows it to be opened by 2 inches, which is of no use whatsoever, the room therefore stayed hot and stuffy. We came across a couple of inns in Arundel that had rooms, these looked more "Fun". If we visit again we will probably stay in one of these in preference to the Hilton Avisford Park.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phoebe739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2009

Stayed at this place for a couple of nights for a friend's wedding nearby.

The hotel is located in extensive grounds but the hotel itself needs some investment. The health area is functional but shabby - no robes were available even though my wife was having beauty treatments.

Bathroom smelt damp and was small - the sink prevented the door form being opened barely more than half way. Bed side lamp was held together with electruc tape and the mini bar had been removed from its cupboard. Bottle of water in the room cost £3.95!

All in all, a disapointment and wished we hadn't taken the afternoon off to get there early.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smtuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2009

Have stayed in this hotel a few times, and I have to say it is getting very tired and shabby. Have had problems at check in before, but this time was good, got upgraded as a diamond member to a deluxe room. Unfortunately the bathroom had a bad drain smell, the bed creaked and moved when you sat on it and the room was very noisy being at the front of the hotel and next to the stairs. Reception had no trouble changing the room for us, and even though it was still a deluxe room, the new room was bigger, had a sofa rather than a chair and had added luxuries ie wine and robes. Very strange. We were pleased with the room change, apart from the bed that was so creaky and being a light sleeper everytime either of us moved it woke me up.

The hotel is in a good position, with lovely grounds, but is quite dated and tired in parts. Lets hope it gets a rennovation soon.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller18Oxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

Stayed 3 nights, from Thursday through to Sunday, perfect for Goodwood, I stayed in better rooms, but apart from that me and my wife had a wonderful stay, great food, excellent staff all very friendly, and the grounds were excellent, and won at the races perfect long weekend.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gairo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arundel
2.7 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
1,125 reviews
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
221 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Best Western Beachcroft Hotel
6.1 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
333 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Arundel Fontwell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Avisford Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Avisford Park

Address: Yapton Lane | Walberton, Arundel BN18 0LS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Price Range: £72 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Avisford Park 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Avisford Park, Arundel, a grand Georgian manor house is set in 89 acres of beautiful Sussex parkland. There are excellent transport links to the hotel; proximity to London Gatwick Airport and Southampton Airport and rail links direct to London.The hotel has 140 well appointed bedrooms and an array of leisure facilities including indoor and outdoor (seasonal opening times) heated swimming pools, sauna, steam room, tennis courts, squash court, putting, croquet and beauty rooms offering a range of Elemis treatments and products.There are also various function rooms ideal for weddings, christenings and family gatherings or business events catering for 2 to 550. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Avisford Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Avisford Park Hotel Arundel
Hilton Avisford Park Arundel, West Sussex
Hilton Arundel
Arundel Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing