We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must see if in the area”

Arundel Castle and Gardens
Ranked #1 of 30 things to do in Arundel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Arundel Castle is open from Saturday 1 April to Sunday 30 October 2017. Open Tuesdays to Sundays inclusive, Good Friday, Easter Monday, May Bank Holiday Mondays & all August Mondays. Arundel Castle & The Collector Earl's Garden, Arundel, West Sussex. Ancient Castle and stately home of the Duke of Norfolk, reflecting nearly 1,000 years of history,and commanding the surrounding landscape with magnificent views across the South Downs and River Arun. Fine furniture and works of art in sumptuously furnished rooms. Ancient Motte & Keep. The Collector Earl's Garden. 14th century Fitzalan Chapel. Collection of arms & armour. Personal possessions of Mary Queen of Scots. Varied programme of Special Events.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Stairs / lift, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 6 April 2012

A better organised experience than the NT or English Heritage run equivalents. Nice cafe/restaurant. Redolent with history and definitely the 'real thing'.

1  Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,488)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,253 - 2,257 of 2,488 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2012

It is very difficult to review attractions like a castle. Obvious targets if you want to moan are the prices to get in and although previous reviewers that have ranked this place as poor (to that I say "cobblers") can point at the bronze, silver and gold admission levels and the staff then needed to police the place and prevent fraudulent access, for me the £11 to cover the keeps, grounds & gardens and chapel was fair. My partner and I only had 2 or so hours and as the sun was shining opted for exterior routes. Cannot comment on the main castle rooms and bedrooms.

If it is possible to call a castle attractive then Arundel ticks that box. It's an imposing structure set on high embankments with goats to keep the grass the down so unlike other similar old structures it does not look like a run down old ruin poking out the scrub land. The grounds are well maintained and formal gardens and rose garden will be blooming lovely (we visited early April so not everything was out). Great views from the ramparts and if there is a knight on duty an opportunity to dress up and wield a sword (photo opps for the grown ups and excitement for the kids)

I am glad that we visited and would recommend this stately home, particularly good as a stop over point if travelling along the South coast to Brighton, Eastbourne etc. or back

2  Thank hanhamvillager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

the castle is strategically locared not far from the Cathedral and can easily be located from a distance.

1  Thank philip k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

My husband and I decided that after 11 years of living within 3 miles of Arundel Castle, we ought to visit it - and we were not disappointed!

We visited on a beautiful day and were able to fully appreciate the grounds and gardens. The castle itself is wonderful and the visitor route is very well detailed with information and art at every turn.

The staff are unobtrusive but always on hand to answer any questions - they are also very knowledgeable.

There is ample seating in the restaurant and we enjoyed cappuccinos and cake at very reasonable prices.

We will definitely be visiting again to take our 9-year old son who will love it.

3  Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

A wonderful, restored medieval castle.

Arundel Castle, and the neighbouring estates, have been in the family of the Dukes of Norfolk for over 400 years. It is still the principal seat of the Norfolk family, with the current Duke being Edward. The popular and attractive Duchess is Georgina.

The Castle is a of great architectural interest - it is stunning - even though it hasn't seen much in the way of action over the years: no bloody battle of Arundel.

As an attraction it is very dated in terms of presentation. Rather bored and tired guides and attendants in most of the rooms and not much of a welcome or spark.

It could be so much more alive and welcoming for its many visitors.

the castle grounds has possibly the most attractive cricket ground in the country. and the cricket teas are far better than those on sale to the castle visitors!

1  Thank sirlenscap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arundel-Castle, General Manager at Arundel Castle and Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Thank you for visiting Arundel Castle in October 2011 and submitting a review in March 2012.

In 2011 we welcomed 157,000 visitors many of whom completed our visitor survey. 98% of respondents said that they would recommend a visit to the Castle to family & friends. In response to the question - which member of staff did you find particularly helpful- 37% replied – All or Every one- and an additional 44% named individuals and or their roles.

As Castle Manager I regularly receive directly verbal and written praise about my colleagues. I also welcome and regularly act upon constructive feedback. The reviewer is known to me personally and I would have expected and welcomed a direct approach on any areas of concern

VisitEngland is the national tourist board for England, responsible for marketing England to domestic and established overseas markets and for improving England’s tourism product

in 2011 VisitEngland signed up Arundel Castle as its 1000th attraction to its Visitor Attraction Quality Scheme (VAQAS).

The Castle was assessed by VisitEngland’s independent assessors and was awarded the VisitEngland plaque by Lady Cobham, VisitEngland’s Chairman.

Lady Cobham commented - I am delighted to welcome Arundel Castle into the VisitEngland quality scheme. This is one of the most beautiful stately homes in England. Our assessors praised Arundel Castle for offering a truly memorable experience to visitors where standards of interpretation and customer care were very high and the presentation of the grounds and gardens was outstanding.

The VisitEngland quality award for attractions is recognised as a stamp of approval. Visitors can be assured that if they see the organisation’s red rose logo outside an attraction it has been annually assessed by an independent assessor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Arundel Castle and Gardens also viewed

 
Crawley, West Sussex
 

Been to Arundel Castle and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing