We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful room and Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Arundel Fontwell
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Fareham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Awful room and Service”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We had mold on the pillow, a hole in the duvet and a bed that we could not sleep on. The pillow was replaced but that was all. When we complained about the bed the member of staff said nothing and we just checked out before midnight. No offer of another room no offer of a refund or discount. I paid for an awful room that I did not spend more than 2 hours in. Don't stay here if you want to get a good nights sleep!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge Arundel Fontwell, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
We are sorry to learn of your disappointment Diane B. We expect our pillows and duvets to be up to a great standard so it is regrettable to learn you found them to be in a poor condition. We have also recently freshened up our hotel and put in brand new king sized pocket sprung beds in every room so it is regrettable to learn you found the bed to be uncomfortable. We have had some great feedback but we are aware that our guests may have different preferences on the firmness of the mattress.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    88
    43
    29
    35
See reviews for
96
113
18
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Didn't take note of my booking properly. Distinct lack of service and items available in room, particularly the bathroom. Little chef next door offered the same sub standard service. My advice is take your caravan!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank ST0869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Arundel Fontwell, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for you for your review Stuart T, and we are sorry to learn that you were unhappy that the room did not provide you with the items you would have expected for your stay, as standard we do not offer toiletries however there will be a vending machine at reception which provides toiletries should you need to purchase any extra items. We do expect our staff to provide a great service so it is regrettable that you found the service to be lacking. We will be sure to pass on your comments to the hotel staff so that they can be reminded of the importance of customer care and providing a quality service to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Arundel hotels

plymouth
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Up in the area for daughter's University interview the next day at nearby Chichester. Easy check in, asked for a quiet room which we were duly allocated. Double room, good size, clean and tidy, no shampoo or conditioner or shower gel but for £36.50 can't complain, basic but good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if you want one because other side of place is by motorway, ours overlooked the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bettinabungle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Arundel Fontwell, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
We are pleased to learn you found our rooms to be clean and you had peaceful nights sleep bettinabungle. As a brand standard we do not provide toiletries in any of our hotels although we do offer the option to purchase extra toiletries from our vending machines at reception. This is so that we can continue to offer our great rates in great locations. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bognor regis
1 review
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We had a family room for one night nice,clean,comfortable.pleasant girls on reception.bit of a maize to get to our room number 11.handy petrol station next door so we could get our sunday paper.we attended fontwell racecourse for a christmas party which was just accross the road.highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scfdpf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh On Sea
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I love Travelodge! AS a walking group, we book a Travelodge in the Sale and spend a weekend there; this is near the beautiful South Downs Way , lovely ARundel and Amberley amongst others. The receptionist coped calmly and efficiently with a group of 8, all booked under my name and arriving at different times. Traffic can be noisy; ask for a room away from the road and friends had trouble with children making a noise in the room above- it would be better to book families into downstairs rooms? Little chef next door, with 10% off with booking, and garage for snacks. There's another Travelodge just across the road if you can't get into this one. We'll be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Essexgirlnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Initially our room had heating problems and there was no hot water, however Michelle on reception sorted it out immediately. She refunded our first night and gave us another room across the corridor. The second room was warm, comfy and quieter too. Good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Ann V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Devon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Nothing really wrong with this hotel. And as Travelodges go this one was clean and comfortable. A dry musty smell in the room and the corridors but to be expected with the older buildings. A quickly simple check in and a great check out procedure.

Only criticism I have is we had to make the bed before sleeping. The duvet cover was inside out, the mattress protector was upside down and had also been burnt so was hard and crusty. The mattress was incredibly firm but we were exhausted and it suited us just fine.

Would stay again if necessary.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arundel
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Arundel Fontwell Park
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
216 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
2,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
1,009 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
655 reviews
13.0 mi away
Travelodge Chichester Emsworth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Arundel Fontwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Arundel Fontwell

Property: Travelodge Arundel Fontwell
Address: A27/A29 Fontwell, Arundel BN18 0SB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Arundel Fontwell 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Arundel Fontwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Arundel Fontwell West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing