We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Arundel Fontwell
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed here twice in November and December, the hotel is OK and has new beds, but as I've found with Travelodge on many occassions it is left to the very good Reception Staff to sort out the problems that are left by poor housekeeping and lazy Managers not checking the rooms properly before we check in.

For instance on our visit in December, the toilet not only didn't flush, but was already leaking all over the floor. the very helpful girl on reception found us another room and we had to move everything, but we shouldn't have to do this.

I have in the past not mentioned things like this, but now I have got so fed up with the poor attitude of Travelodge and the fact that they never seem to care, that I think it is right for people to know what to expect from Travelodge, which is really the whole idea of Tripadvisor.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge Arundel Fontwell, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for your review Alan C. We are truly sorry to learn of the issues you have raised regarding the toilet during your stay. We would expect all of our facilities to be in good working order and our housekeeping staff will check this before your arrival. We would like to take this opportunity to investigate the concerns that you have raised, please use the contact us button on our website to provide us with more information which will allow us to offer a resolution
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    88
    43
    29
    35
See reviews for
96
113
18
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Fantastic new look, very comfortable beds, a bit noisy as it is very close to motorway. Staffs are very friendly and polite. comparing the price with other competitors, you get much more for what you pay! highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Nave1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights, good value and better than some T/lodges we have stayed in. Free parking and right next door to Little Chef & Burger King (currently March 2014) you get a 10% off meals voucher for the Little Chef next door. Also Shell petrol station adjacent, pricey but convenient. Good for Arundel, Littlehampton and Chichester. Staff reasonably helpful, but road noise is a pain so bring ear plugs and soft pillows as pillows supplied are not that soft.

Room Tip: If not busy ask for room overlooking car park, unlikely in main season or weekends but its worth a t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank filby7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Booked the hotel because of the price. You get for what you pay for. Basic, but overall not bad. Room was not overly clean. Had a strong smell of cigarettes, even though clear signs that the room was non smoking. Staff were helpful, beds fine. For a base it was ok. We used the Little Chef next door for breakfast and that was fine.
I would say to anyone check the price for wifi, when I got home I discovered I was charged two lots of £10, despite being told £10 was for 24 hours and 4 devices could be connected. Very expensive wifi, very off putting.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Pauline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Services at Travelodge Arundel Fontwell, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
We’re really sorry to learn of the issues you experienced during your stay with us Pauline F. It is regrettable that other guests appear to have smoked in our hotel and we would like to reassure you that Travelodge take the matter of smoking very seriously. We display signs in public areas and in every room advising customers that a penalty charge will be issued if customers smoke in their rooms. We would like to take the opportunity to investigate your concerns regarding the Wi-Fi charge in more detail so we would very much appreciate it if you would visit our website and use the Contact Us button to provide us with more details, and when doing so please indicate you have left a TripAdvisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We were visiting a relative and needed two nights somewhere close by. For the cost and what you get these days for this price I can say we could not complain. True its basic as its a place to sleep at the end of the day with no frills. Our room was comfortable and surprisingly quiet considering there was a petrol station next door! If you want more luxury then go elsewhere, but this did as it says on the tin and though basic was value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms furthest away from the services/road would be the ones to aim for
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bagpuss125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We had mold on the pillow, a hole in the duvet and a bed that we could not sleep on. The pillow was replaced but that was all. When we complained about the bed the member of staff said nothing and we just checked out before midnight. No offer of another room no offer of a refund or discount. I paid for an awful room that I did not spend more than 2 hours in. Don't stay here if you want to get a good nights sleep!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge Arundel Fontwell, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
We are sorry to learn of your disappointment Diane B. We expect our pillows and duvets to be up to a great standard so it is regrettable to learn you found them to be in a poor condition. We have also recently freshened up our hotel and put in brand new king sized pocket sprung beds in every room so it is regrettable to learn you found the bed to be uncomfortable. We have had some great feedback but we are aware that our guests may have different preferences on the firmness of the mattress.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Arundel hotels

Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Didn't take note of my booking properly. Distinct lack of service and items available in room, particularly the bathroom. Little chef next door offered the same sub standard service. My advice is take your caravan!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank ST0869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Arundel Fontwell, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for you for your review Stuart T, and we are sorry to learn that you were unhappy that the room did not provide you with the items you would have expected for your stay, as standard we do not offer toiletries however there will be a vending machine at reception which provides toiletries should you need to purchase any extra items. We do expect our staff to provide a great service so it is regrettable that you found the service to be lacking. We will be sure to pass on your comments to the hotel staff so that they can be reminded of the importance of customer care and providing a quality service to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arundel
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Arundel Fontwell Park
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
216 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
2,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
1,009 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
655 reviews
13.0 mi away
Travelodge Chichester Emsworth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Arundel Fontwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Arundel Fontwell

Property: Travelodge Arundel Fontwell
Address: A27/A29 Fontwell, Arundel BN18 0SB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Arundel Fontwell 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Arundel Fontwell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Arundel Fontwell West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing