We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveller rating
118
17
20
12
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
118
17
20
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews south downs apple store outdoor shower art room new addition the main house monsoon shower chicken house veg garden large conservatory chaise longue tack room a pre dinner cocktail pork chop lovely birthday walled garden cottage pie
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 171 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2023

The restaurant was with crammed to overcapacity with tables. The fishcakes could have been shoplifted from Tescos and the food generally bland and overpriced. Usually I don't write reviews but I feel driven to this.

Room tip: Go to a good pub restaurant
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank rupert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 November 2023

We were a little apprehensive having seen some of the reviews, but were overwhelmed by how good it was. Staff amazingly helpful and very attentive. Can’t understand the food criticisms. Portions were large and food excellent.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Adrian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 November 2023 via mobile

We visited on a beautiful autumnal day so we had a wander around the spectacular grounds before indulging in a delicious Sunday lunch . Everything about this hotel is on point from the surroundings to the attentive and slick service. The food was beautiful which was the cherry on top of the cake .

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank andrewolivermorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 November 2023

Wonderful overnight stay at THE PIG in the South Downs. We stayed in one of the rustic field wagons which was extremely comfortable with a huge bath and excellent shower. I had a soothing massage which was fantastic. The ambience in the bar is lovely and the food in the adjoining restaurant is sensational. Beautiful setting, friendly, smiley staff. We will return soon!

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SussexHaleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 October 2023

As a mini adventure, we caught the train to Amberley and hiked to The Pig over the South Downs Way. We arrived just before sunset slightly muddy and a bit jaded, to enjoy a sundowner on the terrace before discovering our amazing room (Chicken Shack). A well-earned dinner ticked the box before a great night's sleep accompanied by rain on the roof.
Breakfast was a treat before setting off back to Amberley, this time via Arundel. However, before leaving we took a walk round the veg gardens and realised why last night's dinner tasted soooo good with so many of the ingredients grown on site.
We absolutely loved our stay, from the attention to detail, the imaginative use of buildings, to the incredibly friendly and helpful staff. Food and drink was original and tasty, with a focus on local and sustainably-produced ingredients. We can't wait to be back!

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ajryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews