We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”
Review of The Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Swan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Certificate of Excellence
Twickenham
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
Reviewed 19 July 2011

When I booked, I thought the hotel would be little better than rooms over a pub. I was very pleasantly surprised.
The manageress was very welcoming and efficient.
We had everything we wanted in our room including fresh milk-none of the little carton rubbish..The toiletries were lovely.
We ate at the Hotel on the first night and it was so good we ate there on our second evening too.
The breakfast was excellent.
I hadn't expected a full English so it was a nice surprise.
We hadn't expected there to be a Rock and Roll evening on our first night at the pub which was noisy until 11pm.
Had it not been for that, I would have awarded the Hotel 5*

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetHTwickenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    217
    86
    24
    8
See reviews for
87
413
15
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

We stayed for one night in June 2011. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Our room was great, very comfortable bed and a very quiet room considering the room overlooked the High Street. Breakfast was very good, good choice of food available - highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockaphonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

This is above average pub accommodation. Although the hallways could do with a lick of paint, the room itself was just great. A little on the small side, but clean, nicely decorated and had lots of thoughtful details like rolled up handtowels on the bed, lovely toiletries (including bath salts) in the bathroom and a great selection of teas and coffees.
The staff were really friendly (you check-in at the bar) and the breakfast (nice selection of cereals, yoghurts and fruit, followed by a cooked brekkie menu) was really yummy. If we had one 'niggle', it was the poor sound-proofing between rooms. The first night, I had trouble sleeping as I could hear everything - even the person next door using the loo! But it was only a minor problem and we had a lovely stay.

It's also situated perfectly....5 min walk from the glorious Arundel Castle (an absolute MUST see...worth every penny of the £16 entrance fee, to see the bedrooms...the ancient Keep, the rose gardens, the chapel....it goes on and on!) and next door to a Pizza Hut as well as just a few mins from loads of quaint cofee shops and what looked to be a couple of nice Itallian restaurants too. It's also a 10 min walk from Arundel station (£3.50 in a taxi if you have bags!) which has direct links into London and Gatwick Airport.

All in all, we had a really great time sight-seeing in sleepy Arundel, lovely stay at the Swan and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Not all rooms are en-suite - best to double check.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shalott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mebourne
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2011

We stayed at this hotel recently for one night. Our room was a reasonable size and the bed was quite comfortable.There was a portable heater in the room and as it was a bit nippy I thought I'd warm up the room a bit, but it didn't work. Neither did the hairdryer.

The bathroom had a severe case of mould and the grouting and tiles on the bathtub were in poor condition. The window sills and curtains would benefit from a good clean.

We had dinner in the pub which could have been better. The breakfast menu was extensive but our Eggs Benedict could have beenn far better.

I don't think the Swan Hotel is good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Metroviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2011

This inn is well located in the town close to the river. Car parking is free 6pm - 8am at the back of the hotel but you have to pay at all other times.

There is no reception, you check in at the bar, room very small, but okay, could do with re-decoration. Bathroom grouting had mould and the hook holding the shower to the wall was broken.

Breakfast was good, and the bed very comfortable, the room was free from outside and internal noise.

,We enjoyed our stay and would return but I feel the price of 65.00 was the top rate you should expect to pay for the standard of this room and hotel even thro it is in the centre of Arundel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

We were pleasantly surprised having read the negative reviews since booking. The staff were very welcoming and a few small problems were speedily put right. We dined at the pub in the evening from the bar menu and the food was excellent as was the service. Breakfast was also great as again was the service with an excellent range of fruits, juices, cereals, etc.. The Greek yoghurt was a nice touch. The room was very clean and comfortable. Well worth a return visit.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Speedstor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2011

Stayed at The Swan Hotel for a couple of nights as a relaxing break after a busy Christmas with the other half. We arrived at lunchtime on Friday and, despite the staff being very very busy, we got checked in sharply and were led up to our room. The lady that took us upstairs explained everything about the hotel, told us about the half-board offer they had on and couldn't have been more helpful. The fresh milk was a lovely touch too.
After an afternoon spent doing some sightseeing, we went back to the pub to sample some of their ales. They had a really good selection of Fullers beers on and a heapful more in bottles - over the course of our two night stay we tried pretty much all, and the barmen were always at hand with a recommendation.
We ate at the pub on the Saturday night of the stay, and while the menu was a bit limited (only one veggie dish), the meals we had couldn't be faulted and once again the waitress was very attentive. On the breakfast side, it again was very tasty - though service did seem a bit slow on the Sunday morning (it was quite busy).
Overall, we were both really impressed by The Swan - we were a bit worried after reading the reviews on here but I guess more people like to complain than compliment!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randomnessity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arundel
0.1 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#3 of 7 in Arundel
1,031 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
2,041 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
320 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arundel Park Hotel
Arundel Park Hotel
#7 of 7 in Arundel
83 reviews
4.3 mi away
Travelodge Arundel Fontwell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Property: The Swan Hotel
Address: 27-29 High Street, Arundel BN18 9AG, England (Formerly Arundel Swan Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the West Sussex market town of Arundel, The Swan Hotel is a traditional country pub with 14 stylish ensuite rooms. Full English breakfast with local sausages, fish and chips and drinks, The Swan Hotel really is one of the town's hottest eateries. Free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Arundel, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing