We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday Meal at the Swan”
Review of The Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Swan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Certificate of Excellence
Worksop, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Birthday Meal at the Swan”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We booked a table for 15 for my husband's 50th birthday at the Swan. Can't speak highly enough of the service we received. The communication with the manager was excellent - she was extremely helpful and went out of her way to make sure our experience was really special. The bar and restaurant are very warm and comfortable and the food was fantastic. The staff are all friendly and efficient. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseTeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    197
    71
    20
    7
See reviews for
75
371
14
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We stayed at the Swan Hotel while in town for our friends wedding. You check in at the bar, which is a bit disconcerting, but then you realize it's so welcoming that you want to sit down for a drink immediately! :) The hotel has a very historical feel to it. The rooms are small, but cozy. Definitely don't bring a big suitcase or you won't have a place to stow it, but for a weekend it's perfect. The hotel is in the center of Arundel, which is a very well preserved town with lots of nice restaurants, a farmer's market every 2 weeks on Saturday, and an amazing castle (original construction by William the Conqueror in the 11th century!). And within 15 minutes walk you can be in real English countryside (head along Mill Road to the lake). In nice weather, you can have tea by the river, walk the grounds of the castle, and get to the coast at Littlehampton in just a short drive. It's really a great place to spend a weekend!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jande_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

The swan hasnt got its own carpark so we had to park in the street abit of a distance from the hotel but it was a quiet night so all was fine..The room we had was lovely with clean bedding and a comfortable bed which is always a bonus..Lovely toiletries which was a treat...The breakfast menu has some choices which made a nice change from the usual 'full english' ..The smoked haddock and poached egg was beautifully cooked..We had a restful night and a good breakfast which set us up for the day so would definately stay again...

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huffyhail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Great location with a lovely lady giving breakfast, however staff were completely indifferent to being told that the tv was cracked and only showing a shattered picture. Wonder how many others will find out the same before anything happens

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gsadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

What a nice surprise. Ideally located, clean, well furnished and spacious room. Delicious plentiful breakfast, Lovely hosts and really friendly service.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbed4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We had a lovely stay here after a day visit to Arundel Castle. Free parking available not too far past the Castle entrance, no problems with damage to car. The staff were all excellent, the food was good. We had dinner at the hotel and were very happy with the meals for all three of us. Yes it is old and creaky but you are in an old building so expect that. We did not have any problems with smells of any sort. The price was good and the location was perfect.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor and we happy with our room for three.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet-PerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Stayed here on a business trip, first thing was, they dont have their own car-park, and you have to park in the short term council car park behind the hotel, so not ideal if you have a nice car and dont want the local chavs using it to sharpen their knives on it. The upstairs landing and bedroom smelt of wee, although the room itself was nicely decorated. The freebie shower gel and body lotion were probably the nicest I have found in extensive amounts of travelling around the UK.

During breakfast in the dining area, you could quite clearly hear a heated argument going on in the kitchen.

Finally, I stayed in a room with window boxes and due to it being summer, the window was open, but twice during the early hours, the automatic watering system woke me up with squirting noises.

Staff were friendly though, and at the end of the day, this is basically an old pub with some bedrooms for rent.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Telecoms2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arundel
0.1 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#3 of 7 in Arundel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Arundel Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arundel Park Hotel
Arundel Park Hotel
#7 of 7 in Arundel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
4.0 mi away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Property: The Swan Hotel
Address: 27-29 High Street, Arundel BN18 9AG, England (Formerly Arundel Swan Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Grade Two listed building in the heart of the West Sussex market town of Arundel, The Swan Hotel is a traditional country pub with rooms, affording those enjoying the peaceful surroundings of the South Downs to stay a little longer and sample our fine food, too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Arundel, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing