We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Refurbishment! Same friendly, helpful staff!”
Review of The Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Swan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Having stayed here well over a year ago, my partner and I, on having to go to a wedding nearby, decided to visit The Swan again. It turns out we timed our visit just perfectly! The whole place had just reopened from renovation earlier in the week and everything looked fantastic!

A bit skeptical that with the new look might have changed the staff, we were pleased to see the Manageress was still Beata and all her team were as friendly as on our last visit. On being taken up to our room, "Black Down", we were literally gobsmacked - the room looked totally diffeent but still kept a charming, cosy feel. The bathrobes and slippers in the room were a lovely touch too.

For dinner we actually ate at nearby Osteria, as we were meeting friends, but the breakfast selection in the morning was very good. I had a smoked salmon bagel and my partner apple and blueberry pancakes - both a lovely change from the usual "full english".

The Swan is definately our home away from home in Arundel - I wish Beata and her team all the best with their new hotel!

Room Tip: We had an Executive Room, Black Down, which was lovely - double shower, roll top bath and large sofa...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randomnessity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (702)
There are newer reviews for The Swan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

646 - 652 of 702 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2012 via mobile

I stumbled upon this hotel by accident. I was lucky to find that every hotel in the area was fully booked and I was desperately trying every b and b in the area. This hotel had literally just reopened following its refirnishment, so.there were rooms available. Absolutely fantastic. Clean, very well presented, good quality extremely well situated.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dungwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. I am delighted you had a great stay with us, you truly were one of our first guests after our re-opening earlier in the week! If you ever find yourself in Arundel again, please do pop by and visit again - we offer a 10% for return guests if you book directly through us and we would love to hear your comments now the fresh paint smell is gone!

Best regards,

Beata Slapikaite
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This hotel was very easy to find. Just a short walk from the train station. Friendly staff. Delicious breakfast that was included in the price. Arundel is a beautiful town!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

My boyfriend and I visited here over Easter and had a wonderful stay. Firstly, Arundel is such a beautiful and unspoilt town, we cannot wait to go back again. I would firstly like to address a few of the negatives that others have pointed out in previous reviews! 1) You do not get locked out after 11pm. The pub/bar closes then and you get your own keys for the back door if you want to come in later, it is your choice. 2) The TV does NOT only have 4 channels. We had over 30 and all very good reception. Also maybe we were just lucky but the bed was very very comfy!

The main positive I would like to point out is how pleasant the staff are. We arrived early with luggage and they let us leave our stuff there before check in so we could make the most of our day. Likewise, after we checked out at 10.30am, we had a good 4 hours before our train home and they let us leave our luggage there. The location is also perfect-only about a 10 minute stroll from the station and the castle/shops/riverside are on the doorstep. The room itself is also of a decent size and also there were some nice little touches like free shortbread and hot chocolate!

There were a few small negatives however which prevented me from giving this hotel full marks.

1) The mobile reception was almost completely non-exsistent which was annoying.
2) The TV was tiny!!
3) It WAS noisy but only until 11pm and booking a room at a pub you have to expect this, I don't understand anyone who moans about this when surely they know this would be the case!
4) The breakfast was ok but I didn't like the choice of breakfasts, I had the waffle though and it was delicious. None of the tables were cleared so it was all a bit messy.

Overall all though we had a fantastic stay at the Swan Hotel and would definitely re-visit, especially to see the wonderful town that is Arundel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cher86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Having stayed here for many year I always look forward to my return. This hotel I understand is in the process of a refurbishment, however having said that the rooms are fine and offer excellent value for money. Breakfast is always excellent and service is great too. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Arundel

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights over Easter - great breakfasts and brilliant location. Very reasonable price too.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Have just visited for an Easter day family lunch and was very impressed. Tables were well laid out with little net bags of mini eggs on each place. We were offered a carafe of water for the table as soon as we were seated, which was a good idea. Good menu choices and specials. 3 of our party had the roast pork and a roast beef. All were good portions with a varied vegetable selection and massive yorkshires! Good roast potatoes too. Delicious puddings. Reasonable price for good quality food and service.
Think I have mentioned this in a previous visit but good toilet facilities too!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CurlyWurlyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arundel
0.1 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
1,080 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
2,086 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
328 reviews
4.3 mi away
Travelodge Arundel Fontwell
0.4 mi away
Arundel Park Hotel
Arundel Park Hotel
#7 of 7 in Arundel
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Address: 27-29 High Street, Arundel BN18 9AG, England (Formerly Arundel Swan Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Price Range: £90 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the West Sussex market town of Arundel, The Swan Hotel is a traditional country pub with 14 stylish ensuite rooms. Full English breakfast with local sausages, fish and chips and drinks, The Swan Hotel really is one of the town's hottest eateries. Free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Arundel, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing