We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff who understand service!”
Review of The Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Swan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Staff who understand service!”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I stayed one night with my two daughters and grandson and we all greatly enjoyed our stay. We were given rooms opposite each other and the twin was easily able to accommodate the travel cot we took along. The rooms were very clean and decorated to a high standard, and the breakfast next morning was plentiful and tasty. I cannot speak highly enough of all the staff who were very friendly, efficient and helpful, especially with carrying up our luggage.....a baby doesn't travel light! We had our evening meal in the restaurant, not outstanding but quite nice. The only downside in my room were the taps on the basin......the water pressure wasn't great, but the shower was lovely. Also, it may be helpful as the establishment is child friendly to put a baby changing unit in the public toilets if possible. Would definitely stay again, our thanks to Beata and all the team.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2012
Dear Ann,

I'm so pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for sharing your experience on this site. All of my team truly believe that guests are at the heart of everything we do, and I delighted you think so highly of everyone.

My apolgies though about the water pressure. This is a problem we are aware of but due to the age of the building its proving a slight issue. I really hope it won't put you off a return visit to us if your family ever find themselves in Arundel again.

Best regards,

Beata Slapikaite
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    218
    87
    24
    8
See reviews for
88
414
15
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We've just arrived for a few days of research at the Arundel Castle archives, and had to request a room with extra desk space. The hotel manager was lovely and went to some trouble to find us a room that suited our needs, and the rooms are very nice and well appointed. This is a great place to stay in Arundel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2012
Dear K M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us - as I mentioned, some of our rooms are a little more suited than others when it comes to extra desk space and I'm pleased you managed to get all you needed to finished.

If you ever need to follow-on from your work in Arundel, please keep us in mind as a place to stay.

Best regards,

Beata Slapikaite
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitehill
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We stayed here for 1 night and it was a bad experience in OUSE room. The extraction from the kitchens is below the room and its a very looud noise all night. The staff are great and the breakfast is exceptional.
Remedy is that the management LISTEN to our complaints and find the remedy.
Now that is a first for me and i will have NO hesitations in making future bookings.

Room Tip: Book Direct
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Dear Bill,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments with us. We are aware of the issues with the particular room you stayed in, and are in the process of having "muffler"-type fittings placed over the extractors, as well as new glazing for the room itself. Please accept my apologies for this disturbing your sleep, but we are actively trying to fix this.

I do hope you'll keep us in mind if you find yourself in Arundel again.

Best regards,

Beata Slapikaite
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Will be staying there again for sure if we go back to Arundel. I travel a lot for a living and this hotel fits the bill for a short stay, good food and charming service.

We left a leather jacket in the room on departure (doh) and not only had they found and kept it, but recorded delivered it to us back home!

The UK seems to get better all the time for hotels like this, with the Swan being a shining example of how it can be.

Completely recommended.

Room Tip: mid price rooms are worth the £10 upgrade, but the smaller room is totally fine for a 1 night stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Dear Andrew,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay with us. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed yourselves and that your jacket arrived safely home with you. Nothing more annoying that leaving something somewhere and never seeing it again, so we always endevour to reunite guests with their lost items.

If you ever find yourselves down in Arundel again, I hope to see you again.

Best regards,

Beata Slapikaite
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worthing
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012 via mobile

On Sunday we had a function at this hotel for our daughters christening, what can I say from start to finish the whole thing was amazing.
The food was out of this world and everyone said how amazing it was, the service was the best I've seen in ages, thank you to Beata and her team for looking after us so well. We will definitely recommend to all our friends and will be returning very soon.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave11Worthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Dear Dave,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your function with us. I'm delighted to hear you and your guests had a good afternoon - it was pleasure hosting you all. And thank you for sharing the beautiful photos of your cake. Sarah, our pastry chef, spends a lot of time and effort on her creations and they really do look fantastic.

I look forward to see all of your family again soon!

Best regards,

Beata Slapikaite
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We stayed in one of the executive rooms, which was incredibly clean and well decorated. The location is ideal being based on the High Street, whilst the weather was pretty awful there are plenty of restaurants nearby just up the hill.

The price included breakfast, which was of great quality. In all, we thought it was an excellant place and heartily recommend to anybody else.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathjones11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us earlier in the month. I'm pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. Sorry about the weather, sadly no matter how much we ask for Summer, it just doesn't seem to want to show it's head just yet! Hopefully next time you find yourselves down in Arundel, the weather will be a bit nicer and you'll keep us in mind as a place to stay.

Best regards,

Beata Slapikaite
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

The hotel had been newly refurbished when we arrived - which unfortunately meant that the room still smelled a little of paint. The welcome was excellent and, throughout the stay, the staff couldn't have been nicer.

The main oddity was that they'd plonked a kingsize mattress on a double size frame, which meant the mattress hung over the edge and made that side of the bed downright treacherous! The door lock took about 20 attempts to get it to lock - I don't really understand why they hadn't dealt with the lock at the refurb.

Breakfast was good and dinner in the restaurant really very good for the price. Again with good service.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freddieflintstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dear Freddie,

I'm pleased to hear you had a pleasant stay with us at The Swan Hotel, and thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments. As you mentioned, the hotel has not long been refurbished and the bed frame/mattress in the room in which you stayed is on the "snagging list" to be rectified.

But again, I'm glad my team looked after you well during your time with us and truly look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Beata Slapikaite
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arundel
0.1 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#3 of 7 in Arundel
1,032 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
2,043 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
321 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arundel Park Hotel
Arundel Park Hotel
#7 of 7 in Arundel
83 reviews
4.3 mi away
Travelodge Arundel Fontwell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Property: The Swan Hotel
Address: 27-29 High Street, Arundel BN18 9AG, England (Formerly Arundel Swan Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the West Sussex market town of Arundel, The Swan Hotel is a traditional country pub with 14 stylish ensuite rooms. Full English breakfast with local sausages, fish and chips and drinks, The Swan Hotel really is one of the town's hottest eateries. Free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Arundel, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing