We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Swan Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Comfort Inn Arundel(Arundel)(Great Value!)
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Norfolk Arms Hotel(Arundel)(Great Value!)
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Arundel Hotel(Arundel)(Great Value!)
US$102
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Arundel Fontwell(Arundel)(Great Value!)
US$52
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    Travelodge Littlehampton Rustington(Littlehampton)(Great Value!)
    US$64
    Travelodge
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    Angmering Manor(Angmering)
    US$132
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    US$341
    Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
    US$301
    Travelocity
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (830)
    Filter reviews
    830 results
    Traveller rating
    405
    265
    106
    37
    17
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    405
    265
    106
    37
    17
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsroll top baththe pubfresh milkpublic car parksuperior roomlittle touchesbottled waterlovely roomlovely hotelbeautiful townone night staycomfortable bedcentral locationbiscuitsperfect staylovely foodarundel castle
    Filter
    Updating list...
    748 - 753 of 830 reviews
    Reviewed 28 August 2012

    Stayed at the The Swan for just one night. The staff were friendly and helpful, the hotel was well located, generally clean, comfortable and well presented. Breakfast was very good with an excellent choice. The one fly in the ointment was our room. Room 16 is billed as a 'superior' room but really doesn't deserve it. It's up in the eves with lots of low and angled ceilings so plenty of opportunity to bang your head, only a small window and absolutely no drawer or shelf space to put clothes etc. It's also very hot and stuffy on a warm night (no A/C)! On the plus side it did have a bath and shower in the en-suite, although the plumbing was a bit quirky..
    We'd happily stay at The Swan again but would warn anybody to steer clear of the eves rooms especially if they're classed as 'superior' at £20/night extra!! We did steal a look into some of the 1st Floor rooms which looked far better. We mentioned our concerns to the management who told us there were several rooms without any storage and that our concerns would be reported to the owners (Fullers Brewery) - lets hope they were!!

    Room Tip: Avoid room 16 (Arun) and any other eves rooms classed as 'superior'
    • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank David S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

    Dear David,

    Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I'm pleased to hear that overall you had a pleasant stay with us in Arundel and once again apologise for the room not living up to expectations. With our refurbishment, we've tried to get the most utility out of the limited space we had available, but, as I mentioned, we're still tweaking the rooms a bit so as they better suit everyone's needs -

    I do hope that you will indeed keep us in mind if you find yourself in the area again.

    Best regards,

    Beata Slapikaite
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 23 August 2012

    We stayed for four nights & preferred room 9. The hotel & the rooms were kept very clean. There was excellent choice for brekfast. All the staff were extremely friendly & helpful. We would particularly like to thank Carol who could not have done more for us.

    • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Abdul M
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

    Dear Abdul,

    I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us in Arundel, and that my team looked after you well. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Swan again soon!

    Best regards,

    Beata Slapikaite
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 19 August 2012

    This hotel is ideally placed, for all attractions and the River walk, there is a large public car park behind the hotel.
    The staff could not have been more helpful, and breakfast was worth waiting for.
    The room we had No 7 looked exactly like their web site picture, lovely furnishings and bedding, but very small no floor space, we had upgraded to a superior room as these bathrooms had all been refurbished, our room had a lovely bath but a hand held shower, and in this modern age this is not acceptable, there was not even a bracket on the wall into which you could put the shower head, hopefully they will sort this out.
    I would recommend this hotel, we were there for only one night, the room was too small for any longer. But I know it is an old pub, and they have done very well with the space.

    • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Ipswichsan
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

    Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us in Arundel. I'm pleased to hear my team looked after you well and that breakfast was spot on. My apologies for the lack of anything to hold up the shower head - this was an oversight during the refurbishment but has since been rectified.

    If you find yourself in Arundel again, I truly hope you'll keep us in mind as a place to stay.

    Best regards,

    Beata Slapikaite
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 16 August 2012

    We stayed in room 6 and it was the most comfortable hotel stay we have had in a very long time!
    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful , the food was delicious and the room was spacious clean and comfortable! Definitely will be staying here again!

    • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Sarah B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

    Dear Sarah,

    I'm delighted to hear you had such a good time with us at The Swan. We try and offer and unique experience here in Arundel, with delicious food, engaging service and boutique rooms. I do hope if you find yourself down this way again, that we'll see you again soon.

    Best regards,

    Beata Slapikaite
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 12 August 2012

    Really enjoyable stay in this well-organised inn. Beate has employed very helpful staff and excellent chefs and we ate here every night. Try the Sunday Roast or the burger, or any of the specials which included excellent fish dishes.

    • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank MFS66
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

    Thank you for taking the time to share your comments here on TripAdvisor. I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at The Swan Hotel, that my team looked after you well and that you loved the food. All of us are extremely proud of what we offer here, and I do hope to see you again soon.

    Best regards,

    Beata Slapikaite
    General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews