We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous find....”
Review of The Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Swan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2012

I can't fault our stay at the Swan Hotel. My husband and I decided on a last minute weekend away at the end of September and couldn't have made a better choice of hotel. This is far more than a pub! Great food, friendly staff and excellent location. Dinner was fantastic, with fresh, local ingredients at a reasonable price. The included breakfast was amongst the best I have ever tasted - delicious with so much choice. Our comfortable room was newly decorated with shutters and lovely bedding. Extras including fluffy white dressing gowns, a little tin of homemade biscuits, and a flask of fresh milk for your tea/coffee made our stay very special and relaxed. Parking isn't a problem at all, with a small car park behind the hotel. The hotel barman was very helpful in telling us that a ticket bought after 6pm would credit from 8am the following morning, which saved us having to go out before breakfast. We loved exploring the local area including the Castle, the Wildlife and Wetlands Trust and just a short drive to the beach at Littlehampton. However, it was the hotel staff that made our stay so special. The atmosphere was calm, relaxed and welcoming and we will definitely be back....

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AgentLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Swan here on TripAdvisor. I'm delighted to hear you had a fabulous time with us from start to finish. We're always striving to offer the very best to our guests, be it the food we serve throughout the day, the standards in our bedrooms or the level of service offered by the team - so I'm really pleased that you felt we delivered during your stay.

I do hope you find the time the time to visit Arundel again soon!

Best regards,

Beata Slapikaite
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (750)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

660 - 666 of 751 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2012

Staying at the Swan was a thoroughly enjoyable weekend. my room was delightful, the staff were pleasant, and the dinner and breakfasts were delicious and extremely good value. I just wish I could have stayed for longer and hope to return.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Arun room, No. 16, very quiet, roomy, with a lovely bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

Dear Carmel,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us here on TripAdvisor. I'm pleased to hear you had a pleasant stay with us while visiting Arundel, that you enjoying our dining room to the full and that the team looked after you well. I do hope that'll you'll find time to come to Arundel and visit again soon!

Best regards,

Beata Slapikaite
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

we stayed at the swan hotel on 25th september 2012 the staff were very freindly ,nice calm atmosphere ,the food was lovely , the one thing i was dissapointed with was our room it cost £95 was small not really worth the money we stayed in room no 15 .

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank kim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here on TripAdvisor. I'm pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us, but sorry to hear that you did not feel your room was good value for money.

Room 15 is one of "Standard" doubles and is very simple compared to our Superior and Executive rooms, but we feel if you are just after a place to bed down after a hard days sight-seeing, it's a good option for most guests.

I do hope the positives of your stay will keep us in mind if you ever find yourself in Arundel again.

Best regards,

Beata Slapikaite
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I stayed here a couple of years ago with a friend in a twin and it was great, but it's gotten even better since. They appear to have had a refurbishment since I was last there and the room I was in (a double with single occupancy) was lovely. It was full of nice little touches that made you feel very welcome. What really made the stay though was the quality and friendliness of the staff. I'll be sure to return again. (PS I had fantastic smoked salmon and scrambled eggs for breakfast as well).

Room Tip: I was above the main bar (room 7 I think) but it didn't disturb me at all - I liked the décor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

Dear Graham,

Many thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us at The Swan. As a returning guest, I'm pleased to hear you like the refurbishment - a great deal of guest feedback went into the planning process! I'm glad to hear the team looked after you well, and that enjoyed your time with us.

Hope to see you soon when you're next in Arundel.

Best regards,

Beata Slapikaite
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

An anniversary celebration was made extra special by staying at the Swan Hotel. It is difficult to fault and there are so many nice touches: the superior double was a lovely room (no. 12) with fluffy bathrobes and towels, nice decor, huge bed, little biscuits in a tin and a flask for fresh milk.

Dinner in the restaurant was exceptional - three beautifully cooked courses served by attentive and friendly waiting staff (even the new member of staff on duty was doing a grand job and she was well supported by her more experienced colleague). Breakfast was to a similarly high standard with a small but excellent cold buffet with a fantasic choice of cooked options far beyond the normal full English.

All the way the staff were superb and are a real credit to the hotel.

Top tip for parking on a Saturday night to avoid charges: you can park in the many on street parking bays from 4pm on a Saturday with no charge all day Sunday - beats the council run car parks. The only small quibbles: it was not a power shower :-( and there was no information in the bedroom e.g. copy of menu.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimParry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

Dear Tim,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here on TripAdvisor. I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us, from the little touches in the bedrooms, to the food and service in our dining area. All of the team truly endevour to put our guests at the heart of everything we do, so I'm pleased you felt well looked after.

Look forward to seeing you again soon in Arundel.

Best regards,

Beata Slapikaite
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

This hotel is very nice and if you are ever staying in Arundel I would recommend it.
The Decor is lovely and the ambiance is very nice. We had room 16 which they sell as an Executive room but I personally feel that it is a little small to be an Executive room and should just be a premier room. The bathroom is lovely with a really nice slipper bath. the only critisism is the lack of shelves or coathooks in the room, which could be easily remided. However that is a very small issue and it would not take much to make this place excellent in all areas.
The Breakfast is supberb with lots of choice and very good quality.
We also had dinner which I have also reviewed under the restaurant section of Trip advisor.
We had a very nice stay here and would love to come back again. Next time though I would like to stay in The larger Executive Rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I'm delighted to hear you had a good time, and am very grateful for your comments regarding your room. It's not been long since the refurbishment and we're still tweaking everything and taking comments on board. Thank you for also reviewing your meal with us - again, I'm delighted you enjoyed our locally sourced menu and that my team looked after you well.

I do hope to see you again soon in Arundel.

Best regards,

Beata Slapikaite
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We recently got married in Arundel and along with our guests needed to find a nearby hotel that was fitting for such an occasion - after lots of research and several visits we decided to go with The Swan Hotel and pretty much booked out all the rooms. Beata and the team did a wonderful job making us feel special; there was a gift waiting for us on arrival, petals and sparkly in our room in the evening - they really exceeded all of our expectations. They even did last minute canapes for us to take to our wedding at the nearby town hall.

The re-furb earlier this year has made such a difference to the rooms which are light, clean, modern and airy. Dont be fooled by the 'pub-like' exterior this place is simply wonderful. We had so many lovely comments from our guests, especially on the breakfasts!

We have such fond memories of our special day and are looking forward to many more anniversary trips back to The Swan Hotel.

Thanks again, Mr & Mrs D xxx

Room Tip: We had room 3 which was lovely, beautiful shutters which overlooked onto the high street - it was on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

Dear Ellie,

Thank you for taking the time to post here on TripAdvisor about your time with us. It was a delight to have your family staying with us for a couple of days and I'm so pleased you had a fantastic time! Our chefs really love to do little functions, canapes and what-not, so they said it was a pleasure to cater for you. Hope you have a fantastic honeymoon and look forward to seeing you both in the not to distant future!

Best regards,

Beata Slapikaite
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arundel
0.1 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
1,210 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
224 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
2,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
347 reviews
4.2 mi away
Travelodge Arundel Fontwell
4 mi away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Address: 27-29 High Street, Arundel BN18 9AG, England (Formerly Arundel Swan Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Price Range: £87 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the West Sussex market town of Arundel, The Swan Hotel is a traditional country pub with 14 stylish ensuite rooms. Full English breakfast with local sausages, fish and chips and drinks, The Swan Hotel really is one of the town's hottest eateries. Free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Arundel, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing