We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic - went above and beyond!”
Review of The Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Swan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2012

A beautiful hotel that is newly renovated. The rooms are beautifully presented and very comfortable. I was visiting from Australia for a wedding and the staff were so accomodating and welcoming. They really went above and beyond for their guests and made our stay very enjoyable and memorable. The entire hotel was booked by guests of the wedding and nothing was too much trouble. Would love to visit again and highly recommend anyone visiting Arundel, which in itself is a beautiful township, to stay at the Swan.

Room Tip: All rooms are newly renovated (4 months ago from October 2012) with some smaller than others. They...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (702)
There are newer reviews for The Swan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

603 - 609 of 702 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2012

Nice hotel in the center of Arudel. Nice rooms and a good size, We stayed in room 6 and although sited on the corner of the hotel overlooking the road was very quiet.Staff very good and attentive and an excellent breakfast with a good choice. We also used the restaurant one night and although fairly limited choice was also good. There are a large number of places to eat in Arundel within very short walk so the competition ensures a reasonably high standard.
Minor gripes with the plumbing/heating - being an old building had not been refurbed to the extent of the interiors - so heating didnt work in the bedroom - this was quickly resolved by the staff and electric heater and the shower wasn't particularly effective. Tip for the hotel - dirty trays/plates left in corridor from room service need to be cleared quicker - one room had tray outside door when we went out on Sunday night, was still there at breakfast and was still there when we checked out the following day and as corridors fairly narrow was a bit of a hazard. There is car parking at the rear of the hotel in the 'pay & display' but is a bit expensive £7/day but there is restricted free parking in the street available free overnight from 4pm - 10am and all day Sunday - restricted Mon - Sat to 1 hour between 9am - 5pm. Access to rooms via fairly narrow stairs/corridors - so not particularly disabled/inferm friendly. Overall an excellent and relaxing weekend stay inArundel.

Room Tip: Access to all rooms is via narrow stairs/corridors - be aware if have large bags or any imobility
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard-Moon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012 via mobile

We booked to stay here for a night when we couldn't get into our usual hotel. What a gem. The rooms were delightfully decorated , quiet and comfortable. The bathroom was adequate although the shower could have done with more umph! The breakfast was the absolute highlight you get a full breakfast included in the price. The staff were lovely and couldn't do enough to help. Will be back and would definately recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jules196350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We stayed at The Swan as part of a large group visiting Arundel for a wedding.

We couldn't have been more impressed with the swan as our home away from home for five nights. The staff were exceptional in taking care of us, nothing was too much trouble.

Included in our room price was the delicious fresh cooked breakfast each morning, definitely worth getting out of bed for.

Even though the rooms are about the bar/pub, we weren't ever disturbed by noise, the rooms themselves were cosy and sweetly appointed.

Highly recommend a stay at The Swan for anyone visiting Arundel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jareejane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

Dear Jane,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It was a pleasure to have you and your family with us during your time in Arundel, and I do hope you had a fantastic break. If you ever do find yourselves in the UK again, please be sure to pay Arundel a visit and say hello!

Best regards,

Beata Slapikaite
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We stayed here 4 yrs ago and was so impressed we returned for our first wedding anniversary in sept, it had changed a bit (new refurb) which improved the decor but the feel of the place remained the same very relaxing, staff were as friendly as before, always ready to help and very pleasent. The choice on the menu was excellent as was the range of ales from the Fullers brewery. There is plenty to do with the castle a 5 min walk away and a wetland center further down the road, it nestles on the river with the town having an old feel to it, at the top of the road is a beautiful cathedral which is well worth a look. The Swan Hotel will always be a special place for us.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank thebex1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us here on TripAdvisor. I'm delighted to hear you like our refurbishment - we really didn't want the redecorating to impact the cosy feel of The Swan and I think that the balance has been struck pretty well. That our hotel is a special place for you ia lovely to hear, and I do hope we'll see you again soon.

Best regards,

Beata Slapikaite
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012 via mobile

My friends got me a Virgin Experience voucher for my 30th birthday which was for an overnight stay at one of 8 selected hotels in the UK. We live in West Sussex and as parents to a 2 year old the prospect of a night away meant that The Swan, Arundel was the perfect place for us.

My experience with The Swan began on the Thurs evening before our stay when I called to enquire as to the parking arrangements. As we'd arranged the booking back in June via Virgin I also thought it best to check that all was in order. My heart sank when the very polite gentleman on the phone (Neil/Ian?) said they had no record of our booking :( fortunately the hotel had had a cancellation earlier that evening and so we were booked in, no questions, and all was fine! I was delighted with the great customer services and was grateful that The Swan so so accommodating.

When we arrived on the Saturday we spent the day at the castle and checked into the Swan at about 3pm. When we were told that we were in room 14 I'll admit that my heart sunk a little as I had read reviews on here of it being a broom cupboard etc but we were pleasantly surprised! The room was Beautifully decorated and had a lovely view of the castle. So there isn't a wardrobe rather a very stylish rail to hang clothes on but we liked that! The fan in the bathroom was very loud (as mentioned by a previous guest) but we found that we didn't need it on! The shower takes a fair amount of fiddling with to get the temperature right and I'm not sure how I did get it right in the end as it seemed to have a mind of its own.

The bed was super comfortable and all in all we were really pleased with the room. We were unlucky that at 1am on what was supposed to be a peaceful, sleepful night away from being parents, a car decided to drive into a shop window right outside our bedroom window which resulted in a bad night's sleep as what followed was 2hrs of police cars, fire engines and ambulances! That was nothing to do with the hotel of course :)

Breakfast was really excellent! A very comprehensive menu and hubby and I both opted for a full English which was delicious.

We wouldn't hesitate to recommend The Swan to friends and family and hope to stay again one day. Arundel really is charming. Thank you!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VibsHarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

Dear Ms Harrison,

Firstly I would like to apologise for the mix-up with your booking to begin with. We're still investigating this occasion with Virgin Experiences to see what exactly went wrong. I'm pleased, though, that this mix-up didn't adversely effect your stay with us and that you still managed a pleasant stay.

As I mentioned when during your check-out, Arundel is normally a very peaceful town and the incident that happened during your stay was definitely the most of that kind of excitement that we've had in a very long time! I'm sorry you didn't get the perfect night away that you were hoping for, but I do hope you'll come visit us again some time, and I'm sure we can arrange something special for you.

Best regards,

Beata Slapikaite
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012 via mobile

We booked the swan as our reception for ours sons christening and was very happy with every aspect of hotel. The management were very easy to deal with and kept in touch until we had everything how we wanted it. We had a buffet for our guests with tea and coffee, for the prices they charged we were expecting bog standard food with instant coffee and tea. How wrong could we of been, all of the meats, sausages etc came from the butchers across the road, sandwiches on thick crusty bread with no shortage of filling and fresh ground coffee on tap.

We had enough food for our party then enough again for 20 people that they all kindly packed up for when we got home.

We had some family stay over at the hotel and the compliments that came back to us just re assured us this is a wonderful place to eat and stay.



  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank standings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beata S, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

Dear Mr & Mrs Standing,

Thank you for reviewing you christening buffet at The Swan on TripAdvisor. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed it and that your guests were well fed! I do hope that you'll not be a stranger and that we'll see you again soon!

Best regards,

Beata Slapikaite
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arundel
0.1 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
1,078 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
2,084 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
328 reviews
4.3 mi away
Travelodge Arundel Fontwell
0.4 mi away
Arundel Park Hotel
Arundel Park Hotel
#7 of 7 in Arundel
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Address: 27-29 High Street, Arundel BN18 9AG, England (Formerly Arundel Swan Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Price Range: £90 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the West Sussex market town of Arundel, The Swan Hotel is a traditional country pub with 14 stylish ensuite rooms. Full English breakfast with local sausages, fish and chips and drinks, The Swan Hotel really is one of the town's hottest eateries. Free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Arundel, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing