We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location very small room”
Review of The Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Swan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
204 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great location very small room”
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

Great location comfortable room but our superior double was very small not enough room to open 2 cases or hang clothes had to put stuff under the bed told this was the size of a supine double and the standard rooms were smaller! Peaked at an executive double and this was a good size
Room was clean waterpressure was low staff friendly and helpful good beer and excellent breakfast just be aware of room size

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caspermainecoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    197
    71
    20
    7
See reviews for
75
371
14
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chabanais, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I like staying in good quality public houses, with real ale, accommodation and a decent breakfast. The Swan was no exception and it is very well placed for the town centre. The room was clean and whilst there would be no rewards for style, it is a decent room to sleep in. We didn't try the restaurant excepting breakfast and this was especially good.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Our 'superior double' was small but clean and comfortable. Situated next to the back stairs, it tended to be noisy with guests returning to their rooms late at night. Room service was good, and the little extras in the room made a nice touch. Our only complaints were the poor water pressure in the sink and shower, and the room was airless, even with the windows fully open.

Room Tip: Top price rooms are the biggest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidaypixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed for one night - a Thursday. The staff are efficient, professional, helpful and really just what you want from an establshment of this type. The room was clean. tidy, well appointed. Not a huge room but in keeping with a town hotel. The en-suite was clean, recently refurbished and complete with both a bath and a seperate shower. The room welcome pack included fresh milk in a flask, a variety of teas and coffees, a small tin with biscuits, dressing gowns - shall I go on?

Breakfast included a good variety of items for a continental style breakfast and there was a good selection of cooked items on the menu. Cooked breakfast was not restricted to the listings on the menu, asking for items not on the menu did not phase the staff.

We didn't eat in the restuarant in the evening but the room was well laid out and looked inviting. Relatives living in Arundel told us the food at the Hotel is good quality. Breakfast was of course taken in the dining room which was tastefully furnished.

The Hotel is located in the centre of Arundel and hence there was some street noise both at night (though not late) and in the morning. The main downside to the Hotel location is parking. In Arundel parking is difficult during the peak tourist season but there is a car park at the rear of the Hotel and other paid or restricted parking close by.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginge247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed overnight here after a day at Goodwood racecourse, and what a find! Our room was amazing, with great decor and attention to detail. The bed was huge, and very comfortable too. The staff were friendly, and the food in the restaurant got a great big thumbs up from me and my hubby. The only downside was that due to our room being road facing, we were awoken a lot earlier than we had wanted, by the market vendors setting up, which may have been due to the Arundel festival weekend.

Room Tip: Rooms not overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linpin63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Just got back from a stay at The Swan Hotel, we stayed in an Executive double room which happened to be above the bar facing onto the High St. Lovely spacious room, nicely decorated and huge bed. We didn't find a problem with noise, although in the morning the traffic would wake you. Nice touches like the toiletries, and plenty of tea & coffee with plenty of fresh! milk also free water. Had an evening meal there, which we paid for, little bit pricey but well worth the money as the food was freshly cooked, and delicious. The inclusive breakfast was gorgeous, great selection of food, again freshly cooked. Only negatives were, for the price of the room the floors hadn't been vacuumed, the restaurant service could've been more attentive, and we arrived when the pub was full and you have to check in at the bar and bring your luggage through in front of pub/restaurant customers.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katleau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Great room, small but cosy. Ensuite v nice. Good food and smack in the middle of Arundel. Breakfast was very good.Friendly, helpful staff.Beautiful area of South Downs national park.
Will book again when revisiting

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindackirby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arundel
0.1 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#3 of 7 in Arundel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,935 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Arundel Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arundel Park Hotel
Arundel Park Hotel
#7 of 7 in Arundel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
4.0 mi away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Property: The Swan Hotel
Address: 27-29 High Street, Arundel BN18 9AG, England (Formerly Arundel Swan Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Grade Two listed building in the heart of the West Sussex market town of Arundel, The Swan Hotel is a traditional country pub with rooms, affording those enjoying the peaceful surroundings of the South Downs to stay a little longer and sample our fine food, too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Arundel, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing