We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay at The Swan”
Review of The Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Swan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall,UK
Level 6 Contributor
316 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Excellent stay at The Swan”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We spent one night at the Swan recently, and no complaints really. Only negatives are no free car park,though I managed to park in the street close by for free. And narrow stair cases to take your luggage. If you in any way having difficulty with stairs, this isn't the place for you.
The staff throughout the stay were great. Very friendly from check in onwards, helpful and efficient.
The room was on the top floor, not huge but perfectly adequate, with a good size bathroom with separate shower. View from the window included the castle and the river, with the main street right outside. There was very little noise problem though. Everything was very clean and well maintained.
Breakfast was excellent, great choice and everything freshly cooked.
Location is also excellent, right in the very pleasant little town of Arundel,close to the river and castle and shops.
I would definitely stay at The Swan again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Badcat110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    213
    84
    20
    8
See reviews for
84
404
15
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tolland, Connecticut, United States
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Booked this Hotel based on reviews for a one day visit last week. The staff were really attentive and helpful, and the room with en suite was well appointed and very clean. Even provided dressing gowns and slippers! Breakfast was way above average, with leaf tea and real fresh fruit. I am a vegan, and for dinner the chef came out to ask what he could make specially for me - the end result was a delight. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,110 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,662 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

My husband and I stayed 1 night in a superior room and enjoyed the whole experience.
The Swan is a beautiful hotel tastefully redecorated 1 year ago, it is in a very central location walking distance to the river, castle, cricket ground and all the restaurants, cafes and many pubs.
Payed parking is available behind the hotel for 7 pounds / day.

Our room was large, clean, fresh and airy with lovely décor and had views of the street.
The queen bed was very comfortable and the room had tea and coffee making facilities with biscuits. Also free Wifi was available which worked well in the room.

The bathroom was also large and very clean with a great double shower head.
It must be noted that to get to the rooms you must go up a narrow stair case.

Breakfast was excellent with a large choice of fruit, cereal, juice, tea and coffee and a large choice of cooked breakfasts which were delicious.
We also had dinner in the hotel which was also of a very high standard, extensive menu and very cosy atmosphere.

We would definitely recommend the Swan Hotel when staying in Arundel and the friendly, helpful staff topped of this lovely experience.

Room Tip: Superior double has more room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindakthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Parking in the pay as you go car park at £7 per day behind the hotel. Bar area ok, good breakfasts. The main issue with this place was the labryinth of stairs up and down two floors without lifts to get to your rooms. Some rooms are quite small. Bar staff friendly. Dog friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosebankT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

My wife and I decided to dedicate our 25th wedding anniversary celebration to tours of great castles and homes in England, setting the itinerary around a visit to Highclere Castle, the primary venue for filming of the popular TV series Downton Abbey. Noting the first day after a trans Atlantic trip is one characterized by exhaustion, we decided to spend the first night in Arundel.

The Swan House had received some nice reviews, thus we elected to stay there that night.

There are some plusses here, and some trivial minuses.

1. The street access to the hotel is tricky, noting the number of one way streets in Arundel. We came down High Street, saw the hotel to the right at the bottom of the hill, just after the triangular structure dividing the two directions, but discovered one must go one further street STRAIGHT, then make a right, and then the next right in order to park in front the hotel.

2. As it was a Saturday, and we did not wish to squander time seeking parking options, we parked in the pay lot behind the hotel. There have been multiple reviews here noting the hotel’s absence of a parking facility of their own. For the record, that pay and park requires 7 pounds, in exact change, for one day. As breakfast on the second day was served at 8 am at the earliest, we had to feed the ticket machine and put another card "behind the windscreen" to cover the additional hour before we departed on that day as well. Did not break the bank, but be prepared for a possible add on cost.

3. We arrived at Heathrow at 8:05 a.m. USAirways had the flight originally due to arrive at Gatwick, which would have entailed a 45 minute or so drive to Arundel, but the Heathrow change resulted in an 80 minute or so drive. We usually try to take a one hour or so power nap once we arrive at European destinations, thus prior to arrival we contacted the hotel with the request that, if at all possible, we might be able to access our room significantly earlier than usual check-in. It did take until about 12:45 before we could take the nap, but clearly an extra effort had been made on our behalf, and we did appreciate it.


4. Our room, #11, was a standard double on the second floor. The bed was a comfortable queen, window opened up onto the small very quiet alley leading from the street to the pay parking lot. It was easy to keep the window open and not be disturbed by any noise. The room size was adequate. There is rarely enough light in hotel bedrooms, this was no exception.

5. Others have complimented the hotel on their choice of toiletries, indeed they are nice. Only downside we noted was there being only a single tube of body wash/shampoo to meet the needs of two people, though interesting there WERE two body LOTION tubes. Others have noted that the water pressure in the bathroom sink was phenomenonally low. We were OK as far as the shower was concerned, adjustable options for rain shower or hand held, and the temperature was more than adequate. One big issue, though, the shower is super slippery, there is no anti-slip mat, and there is no bar along the sides for gripping…be careful. An additional oddity in our room was that the light switch for the bathroom was located just outside the bathroom, i.e. in the bedroom, and was tied in with a fan which automatically was activated when the light was turned on, and then automatically switched off a couple minutes after the light was turned off. The sink in the bathroom has separate outlets for the hot and cold water, but given the temperature of the hot water, simply running that one alone provided what was needed. There is no Kleenex in the room, one must utilize the toilet tissue!

6. The WiFi worked great both in the restaurant and our room, nice speed and dependability at zero cost. The front desk staff will provide you with a five letter code needed to access the net.

7. The breakfast offerings were nicely varied and equally nicely and promptly prepared. Testimony to the attentiveness of management was exemplified when we inquired as to the definition of “blood pudding”…which was patiently explained to us…and then, without specifically requesting, we were both provided with patties to try.

Needless to say, one must have expectations in line with what is reasonable for a B&B/”boutique hotel” in a town such as Arundel…our five star review is a reflection of the convenience of the hotel to the Castle, the comfort of the room, and the uniform attentiveness and enthusiasm of the staff. This is a place we would recommend to anyone finding themselves in need of a place to stay in Arundel!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petergoode2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

The most central location in Arundel. The executive room we stayed in wasn't massive, but it was well appointed. The double bed wasn't huge either, but being in an attic room a king would have filled the space. Having said that, it was new and very comfortable.

The staff are extremely pleasant and helpful, you can tell they're happy dong what they do. The breakfasts are top notch: a very wide choice, with prime ingredients. Don't miss the bacon.

There's lots to do in Arundel too: we had a terrific 3 days there, and will be back. The castle is stupendous.

Room Tip: Don't travel with 15 suitcases
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sodworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

Great location comfortable room but our superior double was very small not enough room to open 2 cases or hang clothes had to put stuff under the bed told this was the size of a supine double and the standard rooms were smaller! Peaked at an executive double and this was a good size
Room was clean waterpressure was low staff friendly and helpful good beer and excellent breakfast just be aware of room size

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caspermainecoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arundel
0.1 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
1,009 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
2,007 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Arundel Park Hotel
Arundel Park Hotel
#7 of 7 in Arundel
83 reviews
3.6 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
314 reviews
4.2 mi away
Travelodge Arundel Fontwell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Property: The Swan Hotel
Address: 27-29 High Street, Arundel BN18 9AG, England (Formerly Arundel Swan Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the West Sussex market town of Arundel, The Swan Hotel is a traditional country pub with 14 stylish ensuite rooms. Full English breakfast with local sausages, fish and chips and drinks, The Swan Hotel really is one of the town's hottest eateries. Free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Arundel, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing