We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of The Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Swan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2013

From the moment we got there to moment we left, the service and stay was perfect. The staff were lovely and accommodating. Room was clean and tidy with nice tea/coffee area. Breakfast was impeccable. Totally recommend it.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Dippy-doo-day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (734)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

539 - 545 of 734 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2013

Great location and setting, good range of beers and food. Breakfast was simple but of good quality. Extras in the room were nice touches, bottled water, fresh milk and shortbread biscuits in a tin. As others have said a bit cramped but if you know that in advance you can't moan really. Only draw back for me........not the husband who was sound asleep is the way the noise travels through the building, lots of creaking you can hear bathroom fans in other rooms and we were room 10 which is near the after hours access route so heard all the activity from 11pm onwards until 3am followed by someone singing happy birthday at 7.30am! So despite a comfortable bed and clean soft white linen a very poor nights sleep.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank GSjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We had an excellent stay at the above hotel. The Christmas lunch was very generous and the staff were very accommodating to our little terrier dog. The lunch had all the trimmings and at no time did we feel rushed. Our rooms were beautifully appointed. We were due to have two rooms one superior double and one twin for our teenagers. Due to unforeseen circumstances the teenagers ended up with what appeared to be a superior double each (with Christmas hampers for the inconvenience!).
The staff were very helpful.
The Breakfast menu was excellent with a wide choice.
It was very, very warm but, I think that may just have been that we'd eaten and drunk a little too much and hadn't actually adjusted the heating in our rooms - perfect for really cold winter weekends.

Room Tip: All three doubles were well appointed although I would prefer to keep to the rooms with the view ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The Swan Hotel in Arundel was magical. The hotel is very close to the train station, restaurants, and quaint little shops. The cathedral and castle is just up the street and wonderul so see. The hotel restaurant served excellent food. Not being a cooked pea lover, I have to admit I am in LOVE with their mashed peas and the chef even shared the receipe with me!! Beata and her staff are so warm and friendly which made the stay even more enjoyable. This is such charming hotel with very nice touches and great service. I must say it is a repeat on my list when I return to England.

Room Tip: They have a variety of room sizes to choose from. I stayed in the Black Downs room and it was a nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank latriciaf66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Love this hotel . i stay away once a week on business and this place is up there with the best .
Great greeting from the staff . Room itself has lovely little extra's like 2 bottles of water , short bread biscuits in a tin , and decorated so nice i ended up taking photo's to show the family where i'd stayed :) I loved the little trays for the coffee , and the smellies in the bathroom . Also liked the extra touches of shutters on the windows , extra pillows/cushions , and trendy pictures on the wall .

Breakfast was fab and i have now added a favorite "star" on my google map so i remember to stay with you next time .

many thanks

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bulgaria4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

lovely hotel on the High Street with ample parking on the street or pay as you go parking at rear. Rooms have been upgraded since my last visit, Very comfortable and well furnished, good toiletries, bottled water tea/coffee etc. breakfast was very tasty. meals at night looked good but my colleague preferred to eat out. good range of local beers and lagers. good value for money

Room Tip: despite having a room at the front, there was very little noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ianyscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

this is a lovely hotel in the heart of Arundel very close to the castle and high street and River Arun
serves a lovely pint and a great breakfast with lovely rooms which are clean and offer tea and coffee in your room the downside is that the rooms are tiny with next to nowhere to hang your clothes but overall very good

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arundel
0.1 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
1,169 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
2,135 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Travelodge Arundel Fontwell
3.6 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
342 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arundel Park Hotel
Arundel Park Hotel
#7 of 7 in Arundel
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Address: 27-29 High Street, Arundel BN18 9AG, England (Formerly Arundel Swan Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Price Range: £73 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the West Sussex market town of Arundel, The Swan Hotel is a traditional country pub with 14 stylish ensuite rooms. Full English breakfast with local sausages, fish and chips and drinks, The Swan Hotel really is one of the town's hottest eateries. Free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Arundel, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing