We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of The Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Swan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We went for a night away. Arundel is great and this hotel is just perfect. Location is great, staff were brilliant. Accommodation for the price was great value and included breakfast. We were on the top floor which are the cheaper rooms and are small but met all our needs. Breakfast was very good! We will definitely be back!
There is no parking but you can park on the street opposite after 4pm.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EpsomSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (750)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

541 - 547 of 750 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

We needed a location nearby historic dockyard that did not cost a fortune to celebrate parents golden wedding and mum's 70th. The Swan was perfect - 12 of us in all including 3 kids, great location in town centre within walking distance of castle. Rooms are lovely, food was great and staff could not do enough for us. Thanks to Beata and all of the team.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

What a wonderful short break away we have just had at The Swan. All of the staff were so friendly and welcoming, the food was amazing from breakfast with a wonderful full english to dinner. The room was beautifully appointed with so many little touches to make it feel special, proper milk in a little flask for your morning tea, homemade shortbreads, fluffy bathrobes the list just goes on. The staff were just so professional and the dog was treated like a prince ( back to reality for him now). We will definitely be coming back for a return visit...just fantastic and great value for money.

Room Tip: Pick the executive room if you can, its beautifully appointed and even though you are by the road, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

My husband & I stayed here for a night as we were visiting friends near by. The room we had was one of the executive rooms which is supposed to be their best & most spacious rooms. The room was not spacious at all, so I imagine that the other rooms are tiny. However, it was very well appointed, the decor was beautiful and the bathroom was large and really nice. It felt comfortable and a little luxurious. Extras such as home baked biscuits along with the complimentary tea was a nice touch. We arrived & walked through the lovely pub & there were some diners having afternoon tea, it looked amazing and very generous, the scones were huge & I wished that we had not eaten as I would have loved to have tried the food! Breakfast was wonderful, very generous portions and it was a part of the deal that I had booked, so no additional cost. Have to say overall it was great value for money as well. Very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DM45ESS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This is a great pub with rooms. The staff were really friendly & the standard of the room we stayed in was high with a comfy bed and nice toiletries in the en suite. We even had proper milk in a mini flask - nice touch! The only negative was that the room was a little too warm until we managed to get the window open. The food was excellent with generous portions. The castle, cathedral, shops & cafés are all within easy walking distance. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We arrived mid-afternoon and were shown to our room - an executive twin. The room was a reasonable size and pleasantly decorated, although we did notice peeling damp plaster on one wall which was discreetly covered by a curtain (no double due to the recent heavy rains). The bathroom was a good size and well stocked. We loved the restaurant. Our evening meal was of a high standard - the pollack wrapped in pancetta with a barley risotto was excellent (so much so, we asked for the recipe). Breakfast was also delicious - the full English was very tasty indeed. The staff were helpful and worked hard to keep everyone happy. All in all, a nice place to stay for a weekend away.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Getting the car serviced on the 14th Feb and decided to spend the night here on a whim. Last second deal at £50 per the room B&B was a very good price. Room clean and tidy and robes and slippers thrown in, above the norm for a £50 room. Great shower comforatble bed and great view out of the front, views from the rear facing rooms not so good.

Would stay here again.

Arundel great place loads of pubs and can recomend Kings Arms with their order in a takeaway service. We had an Indian takeaway from the Curry Villa, and that ranked as one of the best takeaways we had ever had.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 15, would ask for that one again
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abacusman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arundel
0.1 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
1,208 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
224 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
2,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
346 reviews
4.2 mi away
Travelodge Arundel Fontwell
4 mi away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Address: 27-29 High Street, Arundel BN18 9AG, England (Formerly Arundel Swan Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Price Range: £88 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the West Sussex market town of Arundel, The Swan Hotel is a traditional country pub with 14 stylish ensuite rooms. Full English breakfast with local sausages, fish and chips and drinks, The Swan Hotel really is one of the town's hottest eateries. Free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Arundel, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing