We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“some nice touches”
Review of The Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Swan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed here for a night in May, the room was quite small but very clean and there were some nice homely touches.
I wasn't so keen on the bathroom, the bottom of the shower curtain had mould on it and the grouting wasn't very clean either. still, didn't get the chance to use the bath or shower as there was no hot water that morning!
the breakfast was absolutely delicious, one of the best I've had, everything was top quality. the staff are very friendly and helpful.
As we were not able to have anything other than a cold wash before leaving we were offered 10% off our next stay! however as we live over 500 miles away I would have preferred the discount at the time of paying.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linda d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (791)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

572 - 578 of 791 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

The rooms are beautiful, however there is very little space to put your clothes either hanging or folded. No drawers so had to leave everything in the suitcases which wasn't very good considering the cost of the rooms. We only stayed for 2 nights and this was challenging. The other difficulty was that the music in the bar was so loud after midnight that had I not been one of the wedding party I would have been pretty cross about the noise.
The food was superb, both breakfast and main meals. The breakfast made you feel like you were somewhere special, and the choice was really exceptional. The staff were fantastic and nothing was too much trouble for them.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vics17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Our family stayed here in 2012, very friendly staff. Excellent meals, great value. Room was unbelievable for a country pub, quiet, spotlessly clean, modern with comfy beds. Would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glennbowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

In the heart of the town great location no parking though. Room was clean beautifully decorated classic shabby chic style. Breakfast included with our room and was delicious. Overall a relaxing and very comfortable stay. My only negative there was obviously not enough staff serving in the evening and at breakfast time. All tables in the morning were dirty and one lady on her own taking orders and clearing on a bank holiday and an obvious full capacity not what you would expect. However as we were in no rush we read the papers and relaxed but did have to ask for service. Enjoyed our stay overall and would recommend and visit again.

Room Tip: Top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pjsjan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Not many places seem to balance dog-friendly with luxury, cleanliness and a calm environment. Moreover, many places will now allow dogs so taking 'time out' can be problematic. This hotel solves these problems. We were not made to feel second rate by having our well behaved dogs with us, so was able to unwind and re-charge our batteries. Our room was lovely and clean, and re-cleaned with tea/coffee replenished daily. The breakfast was superb. We also ate in the hotel in the evening. The food was so nice we ordered the same meal two nights running.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HelenLon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My husband and I had one night here at Easter and found the hotel very clean, staff very friendly. We didn't have dinner here but breakfast was lovely the Eggs Benedict was really nice. Would definitely go back.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Michele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

My husband son and I stayed for two nights from 15 April, we had an executive room and our son had a superior room. Both rooms were well appointed, very clean with comfortable beds. This is our third stay and as usual the service and breakfasts were very good with great choice freshly cooked and very tasty. We would certainly have no hesitation to stay again

Room Tip: Executive room no. 2 is large and has a walk in shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PalmBayTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arundel
0.1 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
1,269 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
226 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
2,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Travelodge Arundel Fontwell
3.6 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
355 reviews
6.4 mi away
Findon Manor Hotel
Findon Manor Hotel
#5 of 10 in Worthing
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Address: 27-29 High Street, Arundel BN18 9AG, England (Formerly Arundel Swan Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Price Range: £58 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the West Sussex market town of Arundel, The Swan Hotel is a traditional country pub with 14 stylish ensuite rooms. Full English breakfast with local sausages, fish and chips and drinks, The Swan Hotel really is one of the town's hottest eateries. Free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Arundel, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing