We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC”
Review of The Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Swan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Certificate of Excellence
sussex
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We are locals and had a wonderful meal there in the restaurant of the Swan Friday night. The service was impeccable, the food even more so and the price.....wonderful. They had apparently had some staff off sick but you would never of known it! the service was speedy, reliable and we were even given a free starter!

can't recommend it enough...THE best place for eating out in Arundel in our opinion.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaye2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    202
    78
    20
    7
See reviews for
80
380
14
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in June for Goodwood Festival of Speed with family down from Yorkshire. The rooms were beautiful and very comfortable and the food is if the same high standard I have always expected from Fullers establishments. Staff were welcoming and for a very busy time we were given individual attention and made to feel like we weren't just another customer. Looking forward to next year - if not before

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyB060762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

My wife came here for a late afternoon dinner of fish and chips on a visit to the market earlier that day. The food was excellent and a good choice of beer. The bar had a very pleasant feel to it. We would consider staying here on a future visit to this lovely town in the beautiful South Downs.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Johntimelord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed here for a night in May, the room was quite small but very clean and there were some nice homely touches.
I wasn't so keen on the bathroom, the bottom of the shower curtain had mould on it and the grouting wasn't very clean either. still, didn't get the chance to use the bath or shower as there was no hot water that morning!
the breakfast was absolutely delicious, one of the best I've had, everything was top quality. the staff are very friendly and helpful.
As we were not able to have anything other than a cold wash before leaving we were offered 10% off our next stay! however as we live over 500 miles away I would have preferred the discount at the time of paying.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linda d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The rooms are beautiful, however there is very little space to put your clothes either hanging or folded. No drawers so had to leave everything in the suitcases which wasn't very good considering the cost of the rooms. We only stayed for 2 nights and this was challenging. The other difficulty was that the music in the bar was so loud after midnight that had I not been one of the wedding party I would have been pretty cross about the noise.
The food was superb, both breakfast and main meals. The breakfast made you feel like you were somewhere special, and the choice was really exceptional. The staff were fantastic and nothing was too much trouble for them.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vics17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Our family stayed here in 2012, very friendly staff. Excellent meals, great value. Room was unbelievable for a country pub, quiet, spotlessly clean, modern with comfy beds. Would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glennbowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2014

In the heart of the town great location no parking though. Room was clean beautifully decorated classic shabby chic style. Breakfast included with our room and was delicious. Overall a relaxing and very comfortable stay. My only negative there was obviously not enough staff serving in the evening and at breakfast time. All tables in the morning were dirty and one lady on her own taking orders and clearing on a bank holiday and an obvious full capacity not what you would expect. However as we were in no rush we read the papers and relaxed but did have to ask for service. Enjoyed our stay overall and would recommend and visit again.

Room Tip: Top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjsjan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arundel
0.1 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#3 of 7 in Arundel
984 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
1,965 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Arundel Park Hotel
Arundel Park Hotel
#7 of 7 in Arundel
83 reviews
3.6 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
305 reviews
4.0 mi away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Property: The Swan Hotel
Address: 27-29 High Street, Arundel BN18 9AG, England (Formerly Arundel Swan Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the West Sussex market town of Arundel, The Swan Hotel is a traditional country pub with 14 stylish ensuite rooms. Full English breakfast with local sausages, fish and chips and drinks, The Swan Hotel really is one of the town's hottest eateries. Free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Arundel, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing