We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is just a really great place to stay!”
Review of The Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Swan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2009

We loved it - large comfy rooms, large bathrooms, very comfy beds, great breakfast, Jim & Stacey the perfect hosts, great team, very affordable, great location, car parking, total relaxation - highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatK2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (734)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

715 - 721 of 735 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2009

We stayed at the hotel for two nights and had a fabulous time. The hotel is clean, comfortable and well decorated.
We had breakfast both mornings and dinner on one evening and found the food to be of a very high standard.
The main strength of this hotel is the staff who are friendly and supply excellent service.
A lovely hotel with great staff.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sussex20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2009

I really liked this hotel which was centrally located in the picturesque town of Arundel on a cute street close to the castle and within steps from a bunch of interesting shops, restaurants and pubs. We ate dinner in the great pub in on the main level and had some tasty English fare. The staff was friendly and helpful.
As for the room, it was the least expensive place we stayed but was smaller than the other places and my partner thought the bathroom could use some more attention. Overall, I loved it and would go back. I posted 3 pictures of our stay which shows the hotel Dec 23rd 2008 (pub on main floor, rooms on 2nd) and a view up the street from the hotel.
Matthew

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank matthewzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2008

Although not a Boutique hotel or absolute luxury, this is a very nice village pub and hotel. Our room was a pretty standard hotel room and I have no real complaints other than the bathroom floor being a pretty horrible colour but thats not really a problem, just personal tastes. The beds were bit soft too but really, the room was absolutely fine.

Check in staff were a bit unfriendly but the staff at breakfast were very nice and helpful and the food at dinner was fantastic...I highly recommend the lamb shank. Breakfast was very nice as well.

As a base in Arundel, this hotel is perfect...it is good value, part of a nice pub, has a good food and a great location.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank brighton_max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2008

The staff were friendly and keen to help, but there are many things not right that management should be attending to, and we didn't see any sign of a responsible adult! The bathroom blind was mouldy, and the external window sill was thick with guano. The 'Chef's Desserts' were probably out of the freezer...and the lemon torte turned out to be a very small lemon tart, almost floating in a bowl of cream. Waffle and bacon for breakfast wasn't better for there not being any syrup available.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LGaryThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2008

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank de_lymer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2007

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gaben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arundel
0.1 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
1,169 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
2,135 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Travelodge Arundel Fontwell
3.6 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
342 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arundel Park Hotel
Arundel Park Hotel
#7 of 7 in Arundel
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Address: 27-29 High Street, Arundel BN18 9AG, England (Formerly Arundel Swan Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Price Range: £73 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the West Sussex market town of Arundel, The Swan Hotel is a traditional country pub with 14 stylish ensuite rooms. Full English breakfast with local sausages, fish and chips and drinks, The Swan Hotel really is one of the town's hottest eateries. Free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Hotel Arundel, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing