We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£86
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Hotels.com
Official Site
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,103)
Filter reviews
1,103 results
Traveller rating
569
335
128
47
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
569
335
128
47
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub roll top bath fresh milk lovely hotel lovely room comfortable bed central location beautiful town car park sunday lunch high street excellent breakfast weekend break centre of town evening meal tea and coffee fullers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 1,103 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2023

Room was pleasant but scaffolding outside the window, heating didn’t work, bathroom cold, shower not strong, pillows hard and Saturday night very noisy as over the pub. Breakfast was slow service for cooked food because it was busy, but excellent

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank MMviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Swan Hotel, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, Arundel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2023

Good Evening,
Thank you for the feedback. We apologise that you were disturbed during your stay from the scaffolding. We can assure you, all of your comments have been taken on board. We have now had all of the heating resolved by the engineer. We do hope you would still return despite the issues you faced during your stay.

Kind Regards,
Harry Cottey
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2023 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights. The staff were all very friendly, welcoming and accommodating. We had been upgraded to a bigger room and the facilities were excellent with high class toiletries and tea and coffee. We were also supplied with dressing gowns slippers and big fluffy towels. Breakfast was included in the price and was also excellent with a very good selection and generous portions. We had dinner on the first night which was also very good and reasonably priced.
The hotel itself is in an ideal location for access to local amenities and also for places further afield
I would highly recommend a stay in this excellent place

Room tip: No parking on-site but a good car park at the back of the pub which is £8 a day
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Pippamoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Swan Hotel, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, Arundel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2023

Good Evening

Thank you so much for leaving us a review. We are so pleased that you had such a positive experience with us. From the room itself to the breakfast & dinner. This is all we hope for, for our guests and we really hope to see you again soon. Until then.

Kind Regards,
Harry Cottey
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2023 via mobile

I guess one has to expect to pay £150 a night in one of only two hotels in the town centre, but I found it a bit steep for what we got. Our second floor room (12) was in the comfy category according to the blurb. It was reasonably spacious and the twin beds were comfy. I soon learned to duck the sloping ceiling in the bathroom - which, with no heating is no doubt cold in the winter.

Shabby chic is still in vogue, but this room had too much shabby - paint splashes on the floor and grubby marks on the loft door, signs of wear and tear in various places. Could do with a makeover.

And why oh why are so many hotel rooms dimly lit - to hide the shabby, maybe?

A reasonable selection for breakfast including the usual cooked to order suspects. Friendly staff were very obliging.
This being a Fuller’s establishment you are guaranteed the UK’s best beer - London Pride, nothing queer about that, if you are wondering.

A lunch and dinner menu to suit most tastes in the restaurant. Best to book a table.

Take care if booking online. The discount trail therein I found misleading and ended up paying non refundable in advance. Anyway, we made it.

Room tip: Paid parking adjacent. Rooms and access thereto not disabled friendly.
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Joebelvedere
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Swan Hotel, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, Arundel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2023

Thank you for your honest feedback with your stay. I appreciate your comments and take them on board. Sorry you have felt your stay to be a little disappointing
Regards Jasmine, Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2023

We have stayed at the Swan a number of times now as its so perfectly placed. Car parking is available right behind the hotel in the council car park (Ringo) and is not expensive, or there are other free parking places close by. We are normally staying two or three nights so sometimes eat in the hotel which has always been very good, or there are several very good restaurants very close by. Breakfast is always good and you wont walk away feeling hungry as there is plenty of choice and nothing is too much trouble.
All the staff are very good and very welcoming and most seem to be long term as well which is always a good sign.
Arundel itself is a lovely place, some nice interesting shops, some good restaurants (no mcdonalds etc!) and of course the Castle, Lido, Museum etc. Look forward to the visits we already have booked for next year, see you all soon.

Room tip: You can normally stop outside with ease if you juts need to drop your bags off.
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Baldyman2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Swan Hotel, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, Arundel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2023

Thank you for your lovely review, I am pleased that you have enjoyed our central location & have found our staff helpful and friendly. I hope to see you again when your coming to Arundel
Regards Jasmine, Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2023 via mobile

From the minute we walked in & spoke to Jasmine (apologies if name is wrong, we’d just walked the South Downs & were shattered) we were made to feel very welcome. Room was lovely, bed was comfy, lovely little extras & proper coffee machine. Gowns & slippers to use. Breakfast, we were welcomed & chatted to. Cooked Breakfast was lovely - well done chef - self service bar was really good too. Such a nice place if we need accommodation in the area again- we will definitely stay here.

Room tip: Park in Mill Road for free parking & only 2 minutes walk (depending where on the road you park)
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank DebbieandIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Swan Hotel, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, Arundel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2023

Thank you for your lovely review, I am pleased you were able to relax and unwind with us after the long walks in the South-downs! I shall pass your comments to the team
Regards Jasmine, Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews