We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Lunch”

St. Mary's Gate Inn
Ranked #26 of 53 Restaurants in Arundel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Description: We are a traditional pub, restaurant and B&B. We are dog friendly and our own dog Barney is always around to welcome you. Our menu consists of classic pub favourites, homemade using local produce wherever possible and our specials board is updated weekly.
Restaurant details
Description: We are a traditional pub, restaurant and B&B. We are dog friendly and our own dog Barney is always around to welcome you. Our menu consists of classic pub favourites, homemade using local produce wherever possible and our specials board is updated weekly.
Wellesbourne Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Birthday Lunch”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

My father had his 80th Birthday lunch here. The Buffet put on was first class and well worth the 142 miles we had to travel to get it. The pub has altered over the years since last there but the atmosphere was pleasant and the staff friendly. Drinks seemed pricey but ales were well kept.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darylpoland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    28
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Sausages are a great attraction”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Pleasant pub next to the Cathedral with a sausage menu, but other food is served as well. I went for the hot Mexican sausages with chilli mash and red wine gravy, with a black pudding starter. It all tasted just as good as it sounds!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank OldtravellerDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Early disappointment , later satisfaction”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My friend and I travelled to Arundel for the day and visited the Cathedral and noticed the pub which advertised mussels which we both love. Sadly they were very dry and we had to send them back.However our replacement meals of beef chilli and veg chilli were excellent. In fact, the best beef chilli I have ever had in a pub. I always say that a place shows its quality in the way it handles complaints and the staff couldn't have been more helpful when we complained about the mussels. Our starters of camembert cheese and fish cakes were good. We couldn't manage a dessert. I will certainly return when in Arundel again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moggy848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New South Wales, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Staff a bit slow but good quality food”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The staff here where a bit weird but still the food was actually really good and reasonably priced. Well worth the walk up the hill. I had the lamb shank and it was really good. If you have the chance while in Arundel I would go to this pub as it was really quite good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank samwil212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
downnham market,uk
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good value pub food”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Pub was recommended by a fellow visitor to the area, nice clean pub with a good selection behind the bar. The menu was starring mainly sausauge dishes of all varying kinds, but a good selection of altenative fayre. Our meals arrived promptly, well presented and a generous portion. Not sure if the lady that served us was our host for the evening, but noted that she greeted everyone when they came in and checked if our meal was up to expectations, if we did not live so far away we would certainly call in again. Would recommend this pub for its frendly atmosphere and great food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stephen_manney56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St. Mary's Gate Inn also viewed

Arundel, Arun District
Arundel, Arun District
 
Arundel, Arun District
 

Been to St. Mary's Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing