We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“JAK”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The White Hart

The White Hart
Ranked #38 of 54 Restaurants in Arundel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$32
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood, Grill, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“JAK”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Having read some mixed reviews, i decided to give JAK anyway. I can only assume the poor reviews came from persons who don't understand the concept behind "tapas". The food was really very good, lots of small plates of food not all spanish but with some Thai influence as well. Well worth a go.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Longstone2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    16
    5
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crediton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Lovely food and lovely beer garden complete with sand pit for the children.

bar staff called us a taxi back to our hotel when we were ready to leave. Very nice

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Sunday lunch - a great family roast with all the trimmings”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

My husband and I decided to visit Arundel last Sunday (27th April), and we stopped at The White Hart pub for lunch. We all opted for the Sunday lunch menu - super easy - no messing around with choice for the kids - just good old roast chicken, with all the trimmings, and presented in bowls for all the family to dive into, just like being at home. It was utterly delicious. Succulent chicken, a mountain of roast potatoes and yorkshire puddings, carrots, cheesy leeks, dark green cabbage with sesame seeds, a very tasty onion sauce that I've never had before, and home made gravy (with strict instructions to stir then immediately pour). There was no way we could have finished it all, but we did our best as couldn't stop picking even after had filled our plates first time round.
Pudding is included, and we opted for one portion of polenta (even my husband pronounced he liked it, although normally won't touch the stuff), an exquisite chocolate cake (although to call it that doesn't do it justice - hints of ginger and orange reminiscient of Green and Blacks chocolate), both served with natural yoghurt, and lovely local Caroline's Dairy Ice Cream for the kids. Heaven.
Service was charming, with a chap who has apparently just started but is very welcoming and helpful, and the hellos we got from behind the bar as we walked into the pub were as if we actually knew all the locals.
Really really enjoyed this - a very successful family meal (our kids are 6 and 8 yrs). Good atmosphere, good attitude and divine food at very good value. So SO much better than your average tasteless pub cavery - it seemed to me the chefs here really know their stuff and know what good food is about - my husband and I would come back to try the tapas and dishes from the other menu.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arundel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Going downhill”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Have eaten a couple of times at this pub. Tapas good, not brilliant but Sunday lunch an eating experience. Not a good one at that. Have had two Sunday lunches, no choice just the joint of the day! Whilst the meat was top notch the rest was very poor. The vegetables were badly presented and tasteless. Same sauce on leeks and cauliflower all mushed in together. The gravy with the beef was disgusting, just the fat and juices from the beef. Sadly spoilt the whole meal. On a point of hygiene, the cook came out and served at the table wearing a filthy dirty apron.

Pub always very friendly and atmosphere good, but couple running the food need to look at their serving staff, one very bored inexperienced boy and the cook. I think the idea is good to serve food with a twist but currently they are way off the mark. Interesting canapé - 5 small pieces of pork crackling, and on a previous occasion a small pot of humous with one piece of bread between two.

Overall nice staff but quality poor and very expensive.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arundel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“NEVER GO HERE!”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Having been for a pleasant walk around Burpham, we thought it would be nice to head to Arundel for a light snack. We hadn't tried the White Hart before so decided to give it a go. Upon entering the pub we were told our food purchase would have to be paid for separately to our drink purchase, which was most inconvenient, but we went ahead anyway, seeing it was tapas we were quite excited as we both enjoy this food. We each ordered a tapas dish, with my boyfriend opting for the larger version of his choice as he has a slightly larger appetite.
When the food came out, the person serving the food was wearing an extremely dirty apron and still had on the plastic gloves that she had used to make the food. This looked like they couldn't afford a waitress, heaven knows why, as the food was not cheap, this also gave a bad impression of presentation. Along with this, the food was presented on one platter as if the same order, tapas is one thing but this was taking that to the extreme, as the tiny slate platter looked hardly enough for one! When we mentioned that it was two orders, and we were told this is how it comes and were asked with some oddity if we would like a plate each and a fork. The food itself tasted good but there was hardly anything there, literally half a chicken breast for a supposed large portion- I'd hate to see what the half portion was! Same for the houmous which was presented with what appeared to be half a roll, and certainly not enough bread for the houmous given. Perhaps they expect you to eat houmous with your fingers! Needless to say, we felt the price was way over inflated for what we were offered, certainly not value for money or experience and after the 3-4minutes it took us to finish the tiny food we were given, we left, only not complaining so as not to cause a scene. Upon returning home, we both needed to further lunch to satisfy us. Not the experience we were hoping for and certainly one we would NEVER repeat! If you wish to eat here I'd advise that you have a meal before hand and a large wallet size. Appalling and ruined our afternoon!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 786TashaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The White Hart also viewed

Arundel, Arun District
Arundel, Arun District
 
Arundel, Arun District
Arundel, Arun District
 

Been to The White Hart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing