We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming cafe right in the middle of Arundel”
Review of Lulamaes

Lulamaes
Ranked #15 of 53 Restaurants in Arundel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$10
Description: Traditional Tea Room
Restaurant details
Description: Traditional Tea Room
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
372 reviews
275 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A charming cafe right in the middle of Arundel”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This charming café was doing a brisk business today when we visited.

Coffee was very good, and the toasted sandwiches we had were very tasty.

Very cleanly decorated with plenty of quality souvenirs and cards to take home with you as well. Cards accepted for purchases above £10, cost of a light lunch for 4 people at £21 was really good value too.

Small things come in small packages there only say 7 or 8 tables so you may have to wait or potter round the antique shops for a few minutes.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MrSofthreebridges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    35
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The English Tearoom”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Lulamaes is a wonderful antidote to the homogenous coffee chains that are taking over our towns and cities. Here tea is served in a pot with china tea cups brought to you by a helpful waitress who really was apologetic to report they were out of Rooibos tea. Squeezed into a space perhaps no bigger than 20m by 3m (60 * 10 ft) there is an intimate homely atmosphere that does need you to adjust your seating position if you sit near the door. One the bright sunny day we visited trade was brisk and service exemplary but you did not feel rushed. The food was fresh, the cakes homemade and the ice-cream enjoyable. The additional craft items available at the counter as you pay on the way out were enchanting. Who Lula Maes was I have no idea but I can recommend her tea room.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Clive F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely traditional teashop”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is a traditional, family run teashop with (I think) home-made cakes and an updated drink selection that includes coffee latte, cappucino, herbal teas etc to meet 21st century tastes. It is clean and bright with prompt and excellent service and it seems to attract a nice clientele. I went there initially for morning coffee and cake and returned for a first class ploughman's lunch and again for a cream tea. All were very good and very reasonably priced. It also sells a nice selection of gifts.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank GrandGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Splendid!”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Following our visit to the castle we were in need of refreshments & this establishment lured us in with its promise of cream teas. We were not disappointed, home made scones and cakes a plenty, tea served in a pot with a proper china cup and saucer, could only be bettered if it were loose leaf tea. The scones were delicious & it was great value for money & left our visitor from France, for whom this was his 1st cream tea, eager to come back for more!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nice little teashop”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Nice little tea shop. My wife had a good scone, and I had a cheese and ham sandwich. Pleasant atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Johntimelord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lulamaes also viewed

Arundel, Arun District
Arundel, Arun District
 
Arundel, Arun District
 
Arundel, Arun District
Arundel, Arun District
 

Been to Lulamaes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing