We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely building fantastic service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of St Mary's Gate Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St Mary's Gate Inn
Ranked #6 of 17 Arundel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely building fantastic service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2011

We stayed for one night in the family room with our three year old daughter. The staff, especially the landlord Terry, were really friendly and our daughter was made to feel very welcome both in the evening and helping to feed the fish in the morning. The 500+ year old building is fascinating and despite sleepng above the bar we weren't at all disturbed by any noise - a testament to very thick walls and ceilings! The decor was a bit dated, very 1990s, and the plumbing interesting but everything was clean and the beds had gorgeous feather duvets so a great nights sleep all round. Breakfast in the restaurant and dinner in the bar were both top notch.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duechristmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    59
    16
    10
    16
See reviews for
27
88
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2011

My fantastic partner decided to book a night for us in the St Mary's Gate in as a surprise, unfortunately shortly after booking and paying in full we had to cancel and rebook another date. The gentleman we spoke to on the phone was very helpful and accommodating. He changed our booking to "2 weeks" later and we agreed to pay the extra fee. After arriving at the Inn (9:45pm) after a very stressful day we were informed that we didn't have a room there. We spent an hour on the telephone trying to sort this "communication" problem out. The Landlord said he would try to find us alternative accommodation for that night although we would have to pay again for this privilege!! The landlord appeared to be helpful at the start but when he ran into difficulties getting us alternative accommodation his attitude changed. I expressed how frustrated i was at the situation to which he implied this was our mistake as we booked on a secure booking system (how secure can a telephone conversation be?). I explained to the landlord that my partner and I both work in the hotel business for a reputable Nationwide company and we would be appalled if our guests were treated in the same manner as we were, to which he replied "i very much doubt you work in the hotel industry". Basically in a nut shell both myself and my partner are liars, we neither booked that date and lied about our professions!!

After a long debate the landlord agreed "out of the kindness of his heart" to give us a refund.

We found him both rude and unaccommodating to what was their mistake. So at 11:10pm we left and made our way home again without so much as an apology!

We would never book at the St Mary's Gate Inn again!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MattUpton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london, uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

Booked for 2 nights into the castle suite (4 poster room) but checked out after 1 night.

The room and decor were very tired. Whist we appreciate the age of the building, the paint on the inside of the windows was peeling showing rotten window frames. Additionally below our window was where the smokers from the pub congregate so we could smell their smoke and hear every word they said.

The four poster bed was very wobbly and creaky. All of the joints need tightening up and it's literally just the 4 posts - no canopy on top.

The bathroom looked superficially clean but the toilet was dirty and the radiator fitments filthy. We had no hot water when running a bath - at this point we gave up and checked out less than 12 hours after arriving.

Breakfast was ok with good quality sausages and the young girl serving us with faultless with her service.

To be honest I don't know how this has such a good rating on here. It looks good for a romantic weekend treat but the castle suite is just a real disapointment.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikkid21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2010

Stayed here in May for two nights to attend a concert held in the Cathedral next door. The pub was very friendly and relaxed and the cooked breakfast was excellent.

My room was a decent size but it was a bit tired, cheap tv/hifi, mismatched furniture. The bed was comfortable and the bedding and towels clean. The bathroom was a bit on the hmmh side - needed a lick of paint, the ceiling showed the signs of a previous leak and some of the grout had seen better days. It was clean enough it just looked a bit sad. I had a very decent sized shower cubical but a friends room had just a bath with a rubber hose you attached to the taps for a shower (but you had to sit in the bath to use it).

All in all it was fine for the money, not a luxury hotel but that would be unrealistic at these prices.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SiegfriedFarnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

Stayed here in 2008 and came back again and stayed the weekend in October 2009
We had the Cathedral suite the first stay and were lucky enough to recieve the same room again on our stay end 2009
This is the supposedly best room in the house overlooking the Cathedral and the castle grounds and has a side view of the castle which is nice!
On both occasions we were dealt with curteously by one of the female staff and were shown to our room and told when breakfast and evening mealtimes were, the room was in need of redecorating in our opinion but was clean and had clean bedlinen and towels in the bathroom, the bath was clean as was the sink and floor but the toilet seat was broken and when we came back on our second stay the seat was still in situ and had not been replaced, that is unacceptable and we reported this both times to the manager Terry who said it would be seen too..
Seems Terry's word isn't his bond!
The stay though was quite good though with good food served for breakfast and a really good evening meal with lots of choice from the menu.
Would we stay here a third time, I think in retrospect I would look for another B&B in Arundel thats fresher and where the beds don't squeak, although the last part was partly my fault! ;-)
If the management lower the room rate or spruce the place up and redecorate I would genuinely think about staying there again.
But please change that broken toilet seat!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crazylegsdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

We have been taking weekend breaks in Arundel for yearsand have stayed at most of the hotels and B & B'sbut always try St. Marys Gate first. In our opinion it has gone from good to excellent over the years. This time we stayed in one of the refurbished rooms in the annexe and it was warm and cosy. We both had a fantastic nights sleep in a most comfortable bed with a feather duvet. The welcome tray was well stocked (not like many of the big chains) and the T.V was a good size with a good picture.We gave breakfast 10/10. If you are ordinary people looking for a comfortable stay and not expecting total luxury, this is the place for you.

The only advice I would give the owners is " don't have flower baskets if you can't look after them - throw them away.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2010

Nice breakfast - if you don't mind staying in a pub this is excellent - near the cricket ground which was ideal for us - a shower would have been the iceing on the cake but the bath was fine.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank indexcheck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arundel hotels
0.3 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.3 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#3 of 7 in Arundel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Arundel Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.7 mi away
Arundel Park Hotel
Arundel Park Hotel
#7 of 7 in Arundel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Mary's Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Mary's Gate Inn

Property: St Mary's Gate Inn
Address: London Road | (next to castle & cathedral), Arundel BN18 9BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Arundel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — St Mary's Gate Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your St Mary's Gate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Mary`s Gate Hotel Arundel
St Mary's Gate Inn Arundel, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing