We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
St Mary's Gate Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$130
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Norfolk Arms Hotel(Arundel)(Great Value!)
US$178
US$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Arundel(Arundel)(Great Value!)
US$102
US$89
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Swan Hotel(Arundel)(Great Value!)
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Arundel Hotel(Arundel)(Great Value!)
US$95
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Arundel Fontwell(Arundel)(Great Value!)
US$52
Travelodge
View Deal
Travelodge Littlehampton Rustington(Littlehampton)(Great Value!)
US$84
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Angmering Manor(Angmering)
US$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$345
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (203)
Filter reviews
203 results
Traveller rating
88
68
18
12
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
88
68
18
12
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubfour posterbeer gardenspecials boardarundel cathedralbreakfast was freshly cookedstay there againcricket groundbeautiful townbiscuitstown centreshower roomlots of choicefull englishcar parkingvisiting arundelstayed for one night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
144 - 149 of 203 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We were advised to stay here by my Daughter and her husband. We were looking for a couple of days break where we could just relax in comfortable, quiet surroundings.
We had a wonderful time, the staff were very welcoming, helpful and accommodating without being intrusive.
The food - both the breakfast and the meal we had one evening were hot, properly cooked and good old home made fare. And plenty of it. Very reasonably priced we felt.
The room was lovely - very clean, nicely decorated/furnished - beautiful big fluffy spotless towels: lots of Tea/Coffee items ( and biscuits! ); plenty of mirrors/ storage space, it was very warm, but we just turned the heating off for a bit.
We cannot find any fault with our stay and really enjoyed the two nights we were there.
We most certainly will be going back - probably for our honeymoon we loved it so much!
Do try the Inn - it's location is perfect for Arundel as it was only a very short walk to the shops. Right next door to the very beautiful Catheral and a stones throw from the river and the castle itself.
I will highly recommend this Inn to anyone looking to stay in or Arundel or just wanting a break away.
Thanks again to all the staff - Caroline and Chris Wells.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Ok its a pub with rooms, in a great location and under new management- who are charming, however that's where the fairy tale ends, only £5 cheaper than any other accomodation in Arundel, the bed was cheap, porr quality and impossible to sleep on, and wasn't made up properly, with sheet totally adrift by morning revealing a less than adequet mattress. It was ridiculously hot, and poorly lit, the bathroom was decent but the only room with a mirror with no proper lighting (where can a lady do her hair and makeup?). The breakfast was served efficiently but swimming in grease and consisted of the poorest ingredients the local cash and carry could provide- For this price £69 it is not worth the compromise- I hope they take this into consideration and up the anti for the future!

Room Tip: do not book here until upgraded
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

I've both eaten and stayed here before and some of the negatives points by other posters were justified.

However, the landlord and landlady have recently changed so give them a fair chance.
I booked a largish function at almost last minute, they wanted the trade and were more than willing to provide the meals I wanted at a price I wanted to pay.
On the day everything was ready for us and even a couple of people changing their orders was gracefully accepted and dealt with.
Tasty and hot meal followed by scrummy afters (and I'm not a pudding person)what more could we have asked for.
This vibrant young couple will make their mark on this charming pub if they are given a chance.
I will try out the rooms soon.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SPW21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We found St Mary's Gate after a long and very wet drive from Cornwall. On that occasion we stayed for one night but we have visited several times since for long weekends. We also continue stop there on the way home from regular trips to Cornwall. St Marys Gate is not far from where we live but it is comfortable and cosy, with good meals and breakfasts available. It has become our bolt hole when we want a bit of peace and quiet. We will be back soon.
Gill and Chris Thomas

Room Tip: Try the Cathedral Suite, well worth the extra.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GillytEastbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Just checked out of the St Marys Gate B&B after staying for 2 nights as we were attending Fontwell Races.

The building is very old and like some of the other reviews state, the rooms could do with upgrading. Nevertheless we had a very pleasant stay. The only thing I would say is that the towels were not changed every day so by the second night we were using damp towels used the first morning after showers. The rooms were not cleaned every day either so once the cups were used on the first morning for teas and coffees they had to be washed out to be reused. This was not a problem, however if you are paying £59 a night you do expect clean towels every day. We were in Room 1 and our window wouldn't close, this was not a problem as it was very warm during our stay, however in the middle of winter this would be a very different story!

The breakfast we had was one of the nicest breakfasts we have had in a B&B. There was lots of choice (most other places we have been to just have 1 option of a full English). The young waitress was very polite and helpful.

All in all, Arundel is a beautiful town and well worth visiting if you ever get the chance. We will be coming back here for the races again and will be staying in this pub.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank purpler0nnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews