We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place for a quick drink” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of St Mary's Gate Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
St Mary's Gate Inn
Ranked #6 of 17 Arundel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Prescot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Nice place for a quick drink”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

Stopped in Arundel and stumbled upon this cute looking Inn. Quaint inside and out.
Friendly bar staff and made to feel welcome,good selection of drinks.
Open fire place but not functioning, and pleanty of board games to use if you were so inclined.
Menu looked good, but displayed in a tacky folder

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    59
    16
    10
    16
See reviews for
27
88
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012 via mobile

Room was clean and all we needed for a one night stay.
Tea, coffee and tv with free view in the room.
Great for parking in arundel as everything is walking distance away. Especially handy as parking in arundel can be expensive and the council are very strict with parking rules.
Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

A perfect location in this beautiful town. Right next door to the R.C Cathedral with its dignified tomb to St. Phillip Howard and just across the road from St. Nicholas (C of E) with the attached Fitzalan(sp?)Chapel. Motel style rooms very comfortable and made parking easy. Our host, very helpful with directions and advice. Enjoyed a pint or two, dinner and breakfast in this very comfortable and affordable inn. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bronwyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

My daughter and I recently stayed here on a quick trip to Arundel Castle. We arrived midday and were directly shown to our very cute room. The bedding was of the same quality as a Marriott with pure white comfy sheets and cozy duvets. The room was very clean, and well kept and included everything we needed for our stay. Our dinner was very good and the Sticky Toffee Pudding was amazing. The morning breakfast was wonderful. We will return to this cute B and B when we are back in the UK. A pleasant and relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janzmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

We recently stayed here for 7 nights and were very pleased. We will definately be returning and recommending it to our friends. Actually, because most of the rooms are set 'motel' style, outside, it would be a great place to go to with a group of friends for a 'getogether getaway'.
Breakfasts are very hearty and cooked to order. Also taken in pleasant surrounding, so that you don't feel 'on show'. Staff very courteous.
Rooms are of a very good size. Plus you can park right outside your room, which is extremely convenient.
There was a live gig on at the pub on one of the nights which we also thoroughly enjoyed. we were able to book the room that allows dogs and left him in there whilst we enjoyed our meal and entertainment. The good news was that it didn't go on until all hours and we were able to retire to our room without being disturbed. Well done St Mary's Gate...we'll be back.....

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

A frequent visitor to Arundel, my normal choices for lodging were either full or under renovation, so I decided to give St. Mary's Gate Inn a try, even though there were a few negative ratings on Trip Advisor. I arrived early morning and the staff was able to quickly clean a room to allow an early check-in, which was much appreciated after an overnight flight. The first thing I noticed on my arrival was an energetic crew of people, three to be exact, thoroughly cleaning the lobby-pub floors. Good sign! My room was nicer than expected and most importantly, clean. a local friend met me for drinks in the evening, and we ended up having dinner in the pub. The food was very good and the menu contained a nice selection of Traditional English Dishes.

I can't say enough about the staff and proprietors of the establishment, very friendly and accommodating, they even included me in a late night dart match. ownership changed just six months ago and the young couple is very determined to make their guest happy with their selection of St. mary's Gate.

The patio in the back is very attractive and is the perfect setting for a fairly large gathering. The location is next to the cathedral, so it is at the top of the hill from the majority of the local pubs and restaurants, but it is just a short walk and very well worth the extra steps.

Parking is off the street and provides a safe haven for you auto.

My suggestions to make this an even better experience:
Add a small shelf in the bathroom above the sink for toiletries.
Increase the free wifi range so it is accessible from the rooms. Good signal in the lobby!

Very nicely done, I look forward to my next stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

My companion remembered going here many years ago and eating a fabulous homemade soup. So, en route back to London from a spring outing to the coast, we parked in town and trekked up the hill to the cathedral and to the pub. The menu could be from any micro wave pub but this is misleading: it is actually high quality, and genuinely home made - in the sense it os actually cooked with care. I had a sausage and onion baguette and my companion had cod, peas and chips. Both were fantastic. The baguette was huge. It was hot, dripping with moisture and oozing flavour. The fish, chips and peas were also delicious and, with a more refined presentation, could easily have been served in a celebrated sea side fish restaurant. I see that some visitors have been less than thrilled with the rooms - and they might be right since pub rooms are notoriously uncomfortable and noisy - but I can unreservedly recommend the food - and the service, which was friendly and professional.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryeats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arundel hotels
0.3 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.3 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#3 of 7 in Arundel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
0.7 mi away
Arundel Park Hotel
Arundel Park Hotel
#7 of 7 in Arundel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Arundel Hotel
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Mary's Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Mary's Gate Inn

Property: St Mary's Gate Inn
Address: London Road | (next to castle & cathedral), Arundel BN18 9BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Arundel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — St Mary's Gate Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your St Mary's Gate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Mary`s Gate Hotel Arundel
St Mary's Gate Inn Arundel, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing