We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad little b&b”
Review of St Mary's Gate Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St Mary's Gate Inn
Ranked #6 of 17 Arundel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level Contributor
103 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not a bad little b&b”
Reviewed 27 April 2013

I stayed here for one night and the room was ok, after reading some of the other reviews and the comments made I would agree that there were a few things that needed doing to improve the decore e.g replace the missing tiles in the bathroom, replace the bedside lamps.
The pub was really cosy and the people who worked there were really friendly. Breakfast was good although not a big choice but it was cooked really nice and presented well. There was a car park to the rear of the pub so parking wasn't a problem. The pub is right next to the cathedral .

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p18tey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    61
    18
    11
    16
See reviews for
27
90
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
leics
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

stayed here for the weekend. the rooms where cramped and dated, but clean and warm. Ate in the pub on the friday night and it was fine, (homemade pub meals) A little way out of town about 10 minutes walk up hill. Unlikely to stay here again, but not bad value for money, just not to our tastes.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spike10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a lazy, relaxing weekend of eating and sleeping in Arundel as we wanted a short break. Okay so our room had dated decor, but then again it doesn't claim to be a five star hotel and it was perfectably comfortable and suitable for purpose.

The rooms are in a kind of side extension of the building so we had our own entrance, so unlike staying at a B&B we didn't feel like we were intruding in someone's home. This also meant that we didn't have to be out during the day, so we could return for a little afternoon snooze. In addition, breakfast is currently served from 9-10am, perfect for those of us who want to sleep in a little later. Many B&Bs serve breakfast at 8.30, so this later start suited us perfectly. Also, checkout was at 11am, again making things more relaxed for us as many places want you out by 10.

It's run by friendly people. The food on the main pub menu is standard pub food, not gourmet but again it has never claimed otherwise so it's fine for what it is. There is a pub quiz on Sunday nights.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkHolidaygirl2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Stayed overnight here in January. Pub is ok although no atmosphere at all and food mediocre at best. Staff are pleasant, however rooms let them down big time. Dog poo all over courtyard!!! Room basic but ok. Bathroom disgusting. Felt dirtier after my shower than before. Tiles missing, mould everywhere and no idea wot was living on shower curtain. Would not stay again. Shame as situated in a nice part of arundel right next to the Cathedral.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennieWelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff, room a little cramped and a little old fashioned. Bathroom was very tired and a little unclean. Evening dinner was fairly standard basic pub fare but breakfast was good. Its an OK place to stay but if you're wanting a little luxury then should look elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikkmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, Middlesex
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We stayed here whilst attending a ghost hunt in the jailhouse in mid January (right in the middle of the snow storm!) and found it to be a really good place to stay as it's quiet enough but literally a few minutes walk down the hill to the high street. It's next to the cathedral and the church is opposite. We stayed in the rooms off the car park so can't comment on the actual rooms above the pub. We had the very end room which was nice as it sided onto the garden. Not sure how noisy it would be in the middle of summer though with everyone outside!? The room was clean and comfy and very reasonable for the £55 we paid. Would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: The end room was fine for us away from the pub door and siding onto the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliep010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Accommodation was comfortable enough and clean, although it might be noisy in summer, backing on to the pub garden. The pub itself looked a bit past its best, and the menu likewise! Love to rate the breakfast, but it isn't served until 9am and the day we were there, chef was late arriving, so it wasn't served until 15-20 mins later. Unfortunately, we were late by then, too!
OK for the basics for a one night stay, but could do better!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arundel hotels
0.3 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#3 of 7 in Arundel
987 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
623 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
1,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
213 reviews
0.7 mi away
Arundel Park Hotel
Arundel Park Hotel
#7 of 7 in Arundel
83 reviews
0.8 mi away
The White Swan
The White Swan
#5 of 17 in Arundel
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Mary's Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Mary's Gate Inn

Property: St Mary's Gate Inn
Address: London Road | (next to castle & cathedral), Arundel BN18 9BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Arundel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — St Mary's Gate Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your St Mary's Gate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Mary`s Gate Hotel Arundel
St Mary's Gate Inn Arundel, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing