We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”
Review of St Mary's Gate Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St Mary's Gate Inn
Ranked #6 of 17 Arundel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Visited for Goodwood Revival weekend and stayed Saturday/Sunday night. Nice place, right next to the Cathedral and about 100metres from the Castle (which is closed Mondays - pity). The hotel was reasonably priced, which they kept to, despite the event nearby as we had booked it several months ago.
(Unlike another hotel that gazumped us by doubling their rates and demanding a 4 night minimum stay, after accepting the booking. My review of that place was censored despite the fact that I had stayed there before).
We had one of the Motel type rooms adjoining. Could do with a bit of a tidy up, but perfectly adequate and comfortable nevertheless. Has the advantage of being able to park right next to the room. Handy for loading when it is raining. Pub was nice and staff welcoming and friendly. We ate there one night and had a good pub meal at a reasonable price.
Arundel is a charming little place, only about 10 minutes walk with a few good looking eateries even on a rainy Sunday night.
The only downside was that the Hotel had very recently changed hands and the previous incumbents had taken the credit card facilities with them leaving the unfortunate new owner with no means of accepting anything other than cash. It was a minor inconvenience, no more than that and I am sure it is probably sorted out by now.
Would I go there again. It would certainly be on the list, that's for sure.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisandjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    61
    18
    11
    16
See reviews for
27
90
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We booked at the last minute and got the last room which was a family room sleeping 3. The room was in the inn itself and was very comfortable but could do with a bit of updating. The other rooms were adjacent to the inn and from what we could see there were very modern and looked fantastic. We has a roast dinner on our arrival which was very delicious and very filling. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful especially with ideas of where to go and what to see.The inn is situated on top of a hill and is next door to the stunning Arundel cathedral. The walk into town for the bars and restaurants takes about 5 mins, walking back after a few wines is an experience but easily done. We have stayed in many places in Arundel and this is as good and comfortable as any of the others. We would definitely stay there again. The landlady works very hard and is always ready with a greeting and a smile.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ptech2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2013

What a wonderful amazing beautiful place and to be met by the biggest smile. Service exceptional food fantastic experience amazing. We will definitely be back in the near future and will be recommending to family and friends

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackmccabe2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Always go to this place whenever we visit, went for a meal there on saturday just gone and it was thoroughly enjoyed, the pub itself is pretty nice, deffinitly has the village pub feel about the place, although it always seems to be absolutely dead! We were there for approximately 2 hours and in that time I only witnessed 10 people in the whole pub! Perhaps this is what makes it feel a bit special though, as you're well looked after from the second you enter the door.

Next time we are in Arundel, we'll be sure to come back as always, perhaps during the day next time as I noticed the beer garden for the first time the other day (it looked pretty impressive!)

Overall, although I cant comment on St Mary's Gate as a B&B, as a pub / restauraunt its deffinitly worth a look in if you're looking for a nice quiet evening.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
100 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

I stayed here for one night and the room was ok, after reading some of the other reviews and the comments made I would agree that there were a few things that needed doing to improve the decore e.g replace the missing tiles in the bathroom, replace the bedside lamps.
The pub was really cosy and the people who worked there were really friendly. Breakfast was good although not a big choice but it was cooked really nice and presented well. There was a car park to the rear of the pub so parking wasn't a problem. The pub is right next to the cathedral .

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p18tey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leics
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

stayed here for the weekend. the rooms where cramped and dated, but clean and warm. Ate in the pub on the friday night and it was fine, (homemade pub meals) A little way out of town about 10 minutes walk up hill. Unlikely to stay here again, but not bad value for money, just not to our tastes.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spike10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a lazy, relaxing weekend of eating and sleeping in Arundel as we wanted a short break. Okay so our room had dated decor, but then again it doesn't claim to be a five star hotel and it was perfectably comfortable and suitable for purpose.

The rooms are in a kind of side extension of the building so we had our own entrance, so unlike staying at a B&B we didn't feel like we were intruding in someone's home. This also meant that we didn't have to be out during the day, so we could return for a little afternoon snooze. In addition, breakfast is currently served from 9-10am, perfect for those of us who want to sleep in a little later. Many B&Bs serve breakfast at 8.30, so this later start suited us perfectly. Also, checkout was at 11am, again making things more relaxed for us as many places want you out by 10.

It's run by friendly people. The food on the main pub menu is standard pub food, not gourmet but again it has never claimed otherwise so it's fine for what it is. There is a pub quiz on Sunday nights.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkHolidaygirl2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arundel hotels
0.3 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
0.3 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#3 of 7 in Arundel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
0.7 mi away
Arundel Park Hotel
Arundel Park Hotel
#7 of 7 in Arundel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Arundel Hotel
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Mary's Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Mary's Gate Inn

Property: St Mary's Gate Inn
Address: London Road | (next to castle & cathedral), Arundel BN18 9BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Arundel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — St Mary's Gate Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your St Mary's Gate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Mary`s Gate Hotel Arundel
St Mary's Gate Inn Arundel, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing