We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did us fine”
Review of St Mary's Gate Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
St Mary's Gate Inn
Ranked #4 of 17 Arundel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Very good location just sufficiently away from the Centre to be quiet. Most enthusiastic and hard working ' mine Hostess '.Refurbished rooms with good shower room and friendly bar with plenty of seating.For 2 nights it suited us fine .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andygee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

Great location, staff very friendly and polite, had an issue with water pressure so couldn't use shower but was moved to another room, the rooms are just in the process of being refurbished so im sure the issue will be resolved soon. there are 5 external rooms all with own entrance, pub food is great locals in the bar very friendly would use again for sure. Thanks.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edthered7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I recently stayed at this little gem of a hotel. From the moment I arrived the staff were professional, very friendly and approachable. My room was a good size and clean and tidy. The hotel has a good restaurant menu and is very family friendly. Then to top its all, it has a great location being opposite the Cathedral and a five minute walk down the high street to the town and the truly magnificent Castle. If you get the chance to visit Arundel I highly recommend
staying at St Mary's Gate Inn

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Baldy666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We booked this as a last minute thing and wish we hadn't.
1- This not a country Inn as advertised, just a run of the mill pub, with eating area and people watching football in the main room.
2- The room itself was cold and unwelcoming.
3- The bed was broken.
4- Tv only had half the channels
5- the main door was paper thin so we didn't sleep at all from all the noise from the pub.
6- The bathroom door didn't not shut properly and the lock was broken.
7- the cups in the tea and coffee facilities area were filthy.
8- Horrible stains on the carpet inside and outside the room.
9- no sign of anybody in the morning (9:15) speak to.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Booked at a good rate to stay one night the week before our wedding as a stopover to the dress rehearsal. On arrival we were provided with the key and instructions to our room. Our room was located with an outside door and a four poster bed,lovely decor, average room size, quiet and well stocked - fit for purpose. We were able to walk down to the town and back. Parking avalible outside of the room. The staff were all friendly and welcoming. We both slept well and enjoyed a great breakfast. There was a warm, friendly and welcoming atmosphere and on checking out we were asked genuinely about our stay and encouraged to return. We look forward to going back soon.

Room Tip: We had an external room with door and four poster bed. There is a church right next door and we stay...
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Penny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

great accommodation nice to have your own front door and can park your car right outside with easy access into the bar
and restaurant. the staff made us welcome and were always help full and friendly.we had a meal saturday evening in the
restaurant followed with the included breakfast sunday morning all excellent.Clean and comfortable would definitely stay
again.You really are next to the cathedral and only 5min walk into Arundel .

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Found this place whilst looking for a spur of the moment weekend away.Room was beautifully decorated,every amenity you could wish for,very reasonably priced,polite courteous and extremely friendly staff.Breakfast was fantastic,same as lunch,i will surely be visiting this place again as its cosy,warm atmosphere helped make our weekend break both peaceful and relaxing.i would surely recomend this for all age groups,from families to elderlies.

Room Tip: we had outside room 2,beautiful,was like being at home
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 444Darren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arundel hotels
0.3 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
792 reviews
0.3 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
1,271 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
2,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Travelodge Arundel Fontwell
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
226 reviews
0.7 mi away
Arundel Park Hotel
Arundel Park Hotel
#7 of 7 in Arundel
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Mary's Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Mary's Gate Inn

Address: London Road | (next to castle & cathedral), Arundel BN18 9BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Arundel
Price Range: £64 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — St Mary's Gate Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your St Mary's Gate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Mary`s Gate Hotel Arundel
St Mary's Gate Inn Arundel, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing