We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Night”
Review of The White Swan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The White Swan
Ranked #5 of 17 Arundel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wedding Night”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Spent our wedding night here and it was excellent. Beautiful, modern room, except there were no cups to make any tea!
Comfy, large bed with ample storage space and beautiful views. The sheep woke us up at about 7am, but that was perfect so we didn't miss the excellent cooked and continental buffet breakfast. Orders taken and everything cooked to perfection. All of our guests thoroughly enjoyed their stay and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheepherder24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    125
    45
    19
    20
See reviews for
66
157
6
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Just had the one night at this hotel and would only fault the hard bed and the road noise(was on the front) other than that the food was lovely and the staff very friendly We were told that the food was sourced locally and it was good quality and we agreed it was. Overall a nice place to stay and maybe we were unlucky with the mattress.

Room Tip: Try the back rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

My wife and I had dinner here recently.
The food was very good indeed and the local beer was in excellent condition.
There is a printed menu and then a daily specials menu.
Definitely worth stopping in here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spud30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

we stayed here for 2 nights - room was spacious and clean- on ground floor - bit noisy as near to an extractor fan from kitchen. took about 20 minutes to fill bath as water pressure from hot water tap slow.

Breakfast ok but order full english (taking everything) as only one rasher of bacon and one sausage.also had to get own tea/coffee - bit dissapointing but very generous with toast

We found bar staff very good and attentive

Ate here both nights and to be fair was very good value and quick service - however second morning woken up at 7 by banging doors so came home rather than wait to 830 for breakfast

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banstead
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Booked double room with z bed for child. Had a lengthy conversation with hotel about our requirements prior to booking. On arrival were shown to twin room with no z bed! Room was dull and dark. Visited reception to be told a problem had occurred with the booking ?! Hotel unable to provide us with what we had requested. Left the hotel and stayed in a fabulous hotel 10 minutes down the road! Same price, brilliant staff, great service! The white swan need to learn from this?!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charken76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

A one night stop to visit Arundel Castle from.
Room was clean, smart and spacious.
Service overall was good. Reception was excellent, but the bar staff were not and failed to deliver ordered drinks and got the bill wrong at the end, but that was a minor glitch.
The food was superb and excellent value.
The location is a short hop to Arundel, in which the Castle is an absolute must.
We have stayed in several places in and around Arundel and this is, by far, the best to date.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atomicparrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stopped off at this Hotel for Sunday lunch on our way to Arundel , , The staff were most helpful and friendly,The menu was extensive , We choose the Sunday roast I had the turkey the stuffing was to die for , my husband had the beef which was cooked to perfection it was the best Sunday roast we had had in a long time and all l of it was so hot a most relaxing lunch ,
We enjoyed it so much we went back to the Hotel again on the Monday night for dinner which was excellent The perfect place to stop . We will call in again when we go down to Arundel i at end of Aug .

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maureen I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arundel hotels
1.1 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
622 reviews
1.1 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#3 of 7 in Arundel
984 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
1,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
212 reviews
1.5 mi away
Arundel Park Hotel
Arundel Park Hotel
#7 of 7 in Arundel
83 reviews
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Arundel Fontwell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan

Property: The White Swan
Address: 16 Chichester Road, Arundel BN18 0AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Arundel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Swan 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its full refurbishment The White Swan Inn is now back on Arundel’s map situated just 5 minutes outside of Arundel and perfectly located for easy travel to Chichester, Fontwell and Goodwood. Now part of Pebble Hotels The White Swan has strived to create a contemporary edge to this traditional property with a blend of oak beams, open fires, bold fabrics and striking artwork. Relax in the fabulous new lounge with free WiFi access or enjoy a chilled glass of wine in the beautiful bar and restaurant where the new menus are served all day. The new look ensuite bedrooms offer all personal amenities, 24 hour room service, broadband internet connection and tea and coffee making facilities. Full English Breakfast is charged at an additional £9.50 per person. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The White Swan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel Arundel
White Swan Arundel
The White Swan Arundel, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing