We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok - Ish”
Review of The White Swan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The White Swan
Ranked #5 of 17 Arundel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Ok - Ish”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

So we arrived at the hotel and was greeted by a pleasant receptionist who checked us in promptly. Our room was number 3, ground floor, twin room. Room was clean, beds were comfy, shower was nice and powerful with lovely hot water.

We decided to have lunch, there were approximately 15 people all together and all ordered at the same time however the meals did not arrive at the same time, one meal turned up once everyone else had finished and the waitress was clearing the plates. The menu was quite pricey for what was served in my opinion. The home made onion rings we were looking forward too, came out and they were huge, however, the batter was very watery, if you can imagine watery batter, and had no flavour whatsoever.

About 5 people who ate at this time suffered stomach pains and upset tummies after eating so I am not so sure their 5* rating is all it cracks up to be.

When complaints were made about the time it was taking for certain meals the staff were rude about it and didn't apologise once. Not even when the last meal was brought out.

Service at the bar for drinks were poor, again the prices were high so we decided to pop out down to the local shops (10 mins away) for some drinks for the evening to save on the pennies (would recommend)!

In the morning (Monday morning) at 7.30 the bin men turned up and woke us up (which we didn't appreciate after our wedding party the night before) and then someone had a hoover on in the car park ?

The breakfast the next day was nice, full English, crossants and cereal were on offer together with orange juice, apple juice and tea/coffee.

For the price the room and breakfast I would say it is reasonably priced but they obviously bump up their drinks to cover costs.

Would I stay here again ? If they improved their food menu, reduced the food/drink prices and changed their bar staff yes.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    127
    46
    19
    20
See reviews for
67
158
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I booked online and had requested an early check in as we were arriving on our bikes with luggage via the train. Jessica emailed me the next morning with all the right answers saying they had a secure place to keep our bikes overnight during our stay and would do her best to organise the early check in.

We arrived as planned and welcomed at reception like old friends ( we'd never stayed there before). All our requests had been met as if it was not a problem at all! Our room was ready with a view over the cricket field and the sheep grazing.

Dinner was delicious and fast but not hurried and the bar staff were excellent, as it was a Sunday evening it was pretty quiet so we had the big tv to ourselves so we could catch up on the snooker final with a Rocky Road sundae to share.

We'll definately be back when we visit Arundel again.... Faultless!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben80jamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

My son had the steak, onion rings etc and I chose the Spagetti and meatballs and green salad. Very very nice. The onion rings were home made and the best I have ever tasted. For dessert I had the blackberry pudding and custard. Delicious. However service was very very slow as they had a large wedding party to cater for. For the delay they offered free cappucino coffees and 10% off the final price, for which I appreciated. Service was professional and friendly. I would certainly re-visit and recommend. Atmosphere was also good. A+

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The problem with driving from Christchurch to Brighton, is that there is hardly anywhere to stop for a mid way coffee or snack. There used to be a Happy Eater just before Chichester, but that has closed. The only coffee stop en route without detour, is now The White Swan at Arundel. The last time we stopped there a few months back the service was so painfully slow we left before the food was delivered!! So this time, we made sure we would have a quick stop. We ordered coffee and asked what was quickest for a quick snack. We were offered a choice of two starters, some Mushrooms on Toast or some Calamares. It appeared we were going to get the mushrooms, but after requesting they produce whichever was quickest, to our surprise we got Calamares. And really excellent they were. Not your usual pre battered, pre bought kind, you generally get in this kind of hotel restaurant but fresh and beautifully cooked, tender not chewy, with lots of spicing. Oddly enough I had ordered the same thing in a French restaurant last week and they were dire! Furthermore they appeared in the ten minutes promised. It was a delightful surprise and we would have been happy if they had been presented in a good quality restaurant, rather what is in fact a large lounge bar. We shall do the same thing again on our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paxpeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benalmadena, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed here in march for a night whilst passing through the area,
Check in was good, Room was nice and clean with fresh bedding,
There was champions league football on so we sat in the lounge and had dinner,
Fish and Chips and the Pie and chips. But they took about 45 minutes to arrive and the place was dead.
Both were good but at £11 a piece they should be.
Barman / manager could do with a personality though as he wasn't very sociable.
It was about 10.15 and we were asked to settle the bar bill as because it was quiet he wanted to close early.
So we paid up and went to bed.
Next morning breakfast was really good but again this took ages to arrive also.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joe_mac001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed for 3 nights to explore Arundel and surrounding area. Convenient hotel, very pleasant staff. When we checked in our room was changed so we would not be near the function on the Saturday night. The room was clean and good size for 2 plus dog. Breakfasts were good and service was quick. We had dinner on 2 nights and food was excellent, both quality and quantity. Plenty of nearby footpaths for dog walk in the morning and evening. For a medium price hotel this ticked all the boxes.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Came here twice for a meal during my stay in arundel, was very pleased with the first time so booked a table for a second night. It was very welcoming, food and service was excellent. I would highly recommend the chicken burger & pie! 10/10!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin_irvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arundel
1.1 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
645 reviews
1.1 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
1,004 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
1,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
216 reviews
1.5 mi away
Arundel Park Hotel
Arundel Park Hotel
#7 of 7 in Arundel
84 reviews
4.7 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan

Property: The White Swan
Address: 16 Chichester Road, Arundel BN18 0AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Arundel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Swan 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its full refurbishment The White Swan Inn is now back on Arundel’s map situated just 5 minutes outside of Arundel and perfectly located for easy travel to Chichester, Fontwell and Goodwood. Now part of Pebble Hotels The White Swan has strived to create a contemporary edge to this traditional property with a blend of oak beams, open fires, bold fabrics and striking artwork. Relax in the fabulous new lounge with free WiFi access or enjoy a chilled glass of wine in the beautiful bar and restaurant where the new menus are served all day. The new look ensuite bedrooms offer all personal amenities, 24 hour room service, broadband internet connection and tea and coffee making facilities. Full English Breakfast is charged at an additional £9.50 per person. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The White Swan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel Arundel
White Swan Arundel
The White Swan Arundel, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing