We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding at The White Swan”
Review of The White Swan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The White Swan
Ranked #7 of 17 Arundel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We've just had the most amazing time down in Arundel at the White Swan, arrived on Thursday 21st August for our friends wedding on the Friday. We got there early for check in time but we were checked in well before time by the very helpful receptionist. The room was a good size with a nice laid out bathroom and most of all a comfy bed. Jaquie the manager was very imformative explaining all that was to happen and all the staff were always happy to help with any query we had. The wedding rooms were well laid out and spacious and we had the run of the place for the day of the wedding. Thusday night we had the most amazing meals in the resturant all the service was spot on over the couple of days so we throughly enjoyed our stay. Our friends had a fantastic wedding and i think all the guests went away happy with their time at the Swan. Would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling down that way, easy to find on the main A27 and i know we would stay there again. Big thanks once again to Jaquie and all the staff.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leeky54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (335)
There are newer reviews for The White Swan
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

This was our second stay at The White Swan whilst visiting from Australia. The staff are faultless. The rooms clean and comfortable with good sized bathrooms. Nice range of complimentary teas, coffees etc. This time I arranged a surprise 50th birthday party for my husband in their Arundel Suite. As you can imagine this is not the easiest task from the other side of the world but The White Swan staff did their utmost to assist in everything. The catering was exactly what I asked for and extremely good value. Our room rate included breakfast. The selection and quality was great. I really cant thank them enough for our experience. Would definitely return there.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank SteffyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

During our stay in Arundel, we decided to pay the White Swan a visit as we were impressed by the look of the hotel. The menu delivered a good choice of food and we made a decision to eat there for dinner. This was the worst decision we made on our whole holiday of 3 weeks. My Son ordered bruschetta and when it arrived it was unrecognisable as it was toasted baguette with ham and cheese with the absence of any onions, herbs or tomatoes (essential for bruschetta). My husband and I ordered pate which still had the creases of what appeared to be plastic wrapping. My daughter ordered vegetable soup which came as carrot and coriander. Main meal was equally, if not more disappointing. The sausage and mash came with onion gravy which was watery with the absence of onions. The mash was lumpy and tasted pre bought and sausages were of poor quality. Chicken and ham pie was burnt and bland with the same mash as previous meal. Rump steak was costly with a mediocre pepper sauce which cost an extra £2.50.
The steak itself was slightly burnt and extremely tough. Meatball spaghetti came in a watery sauce with doughy spaghetti strands and bland, dry meatballs. The entire meal costs £85.70 and was of extremely poor quality. We will not be returning again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We used the White Swan as our base for exploring Arundel and surrounding areas; booked online as 'Bed and Breakfast'. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable. The food was well prepared and served promptly, plus the Chef was very good about accomodating requests for slight modifications to a set dish. The menu was fairly limited, as one would expect for 'pub food', but good value for the quality and amount of food served. Breakfast was good and plentiful. All the staff were friendly, helpful and polite. The hotel is based on a main road, so there is some noise. However, this was offset by the convenience of being based in a location that provided easy access to main road links for both inland and coastal attractions.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Heyer100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I have to say it was a little disappointing and definitely not a 4* hotel. Arrival was good and we were put in room 4 which was very dark with a tree immediately outside the only window which blocked all the light coming through and there was a fire door immediately outside the room in the corridor which banged the whole time (very loudly!!!). So we went to the bar to escape the noise where the drinks were quite pricey, the food fairly expensive and very bland. We didn't eat or drink there again in the evenings. The breakfast however was very nice the next morning. Our towels weren't changed overnight and with the room being so dark and no warmth they were still wet when we went to use again, not very pleasant. The location is quite good though and only 1 mile from the centre of Arundel itself. Not a complete disaster of a holiday as we were able to make the best of it, but we wouldn't book this hotel again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Popet70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

So we arrived at the hotel and was greeted by a pleasant receptionist who checked us in promptly. Our room was number 3, ground floor, twin room. Room was clean, beds were comfy, shower was nice and powerful with lovely hot water.

We decided to have lunch, there were approximately 15 people all together and all ordered at the same time however the meals did not arrive at the same time, one meal turned up once everyone else had finished and the waitress was clearing the plates. The menu was quite pricey for what was served in my opinion. The home made onion rings we were looking forward too, came out and they were huge, however, the batter was very watery, if you can imagine watery batter, and had no flavour whatsoever.

About 5 people who ate at this time suffered stomach pains and upset tummies after eating so I am not so sure their 5* rating is all it cracks up to be.

When complaints were made about the time it was taking for certain meals the staff were rude about it and didn't apologise once. Not even when the last meal was brought out.

Service at the bar for drinks were poor, again the prices were high so we decided to pop out down to the local shops (10 mins away) for some drinks for the evening to save on the pennies (would recommend)!

In the morning (Monday morning) at 7.30 the bin men turned up and woke us up (which we didn't appreciate after our wedding party the night before) and then someone had a hoover on in the car park ?

The breakfast the next day was nice, full English, crossants and cereal were on offer together with orange juice, apple juice and tea/coffee.

For the price the room and breakfast I would say it is reasonably priced but they obviously bump up their drinks to cover costs.

Would I stay here again ? If they improved their food menu, reduced the food/drink prices and changed their bar staff yes.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I booked online and had requested an early check in as we were arriving on our bikes with luggage via the train. Jessica emailed me the next morning with all the right answers saying they had a secure place to keep our bikes overnight during our stay and would do her best to organise the early check in.

We arrived as planned and welcomed at reception like old friends ( we'd never stayed there before). All our requests had been met as if it was not a problem at all! Our room was ready with a view over the cricket field and the sheep grazing.

Dinner was delicious and fast but not hurried and the bar staff were excellent, as it was a Sunday evening it was pretty quiet so we had the big tv to ourselves so we could catch up on the snooker final with a Rocky Road sundae to share.

We'll definately be back when we visit Arundel again.... Faultless!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben80jamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arundel
1.1 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
1,081 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
702 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
2,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
220 reviews
1.4 mi away
Arundel Park Hotel
Arundel Park Hotel
#7 of 7 in Arundel
85 reviews
4.7 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan

Address: 16 Chichester Road, Arundel BN18 0AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Arundel
Price Range: £74 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Swan 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its full refurbishment The White Swan Inn is now back on Arundel’s map situated just 5 minutes outside of Arundel and perfectly located for easy travel to Chichester, Fontwell and Goodwood. Now part of Pebble Hotels The White Swan has strived to create a contemporary edge to this traditional property with a blend of oak beams, open fires, bold fabrics and striking artwork. Relax in the fabulous new lounge with free WiFi access or enjoy a chilled glass of wine in the beautiful bar and restaurant where the new menus are served all day. The new look ensuite bedrooms offer all personal amenities, 24 hour room service, broadband internet connection and tea and coffee making facilities. Full English Breakfast is charged at an additional £9.50 per person. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The White Swan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel Arundel
White Swan Arundel
The White Swan Arundel, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing