We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay on a Saturday night”
Review of The White Swan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The White Swan
Ranked #5 of 17 Arundel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Do not stay on a Saturday night”
Reviewed 24 August 2010

I recently stayed at this hotel for a weekend with my wife, but what they did not tell was that a wedding was being at the same weekend, for which i was given a room directly over the disco. I asked what time the music would finish and was informed approx midnight, to which it overran by a couple of minutes.

I asked to change rooms but was told the hotel was fully booked and therefore could not be moved. My wife and I could not even watch the tv becuase the music was so loud, and it felt like the whole place was shaking. In the morning when i complained I was not offered a discount.

The character of the hotel is lovely, nice fire in the tv lounge, wooden beams, plenty of parking.

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank thewandererandwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    127
    46
    19
    20
See reviews for
67
158
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

We booked our wedding meal and reception at this hotel and although we had a fantastic day overall, it was despite rather than thanks to the staff at this hotel. I have never written an online review or written a letter of complaint before - but was compelled to do both after our experience!

A huge number of mistakes were made, from the small and trivial (not having spoons out at the reception buffet, place setting not set out for one guest, having to queue for coffee after the meal) to rather massive cock ups (no complimentary honeymoon suite, or in fact any bedroom, for the bride and groom meaning paresnts had to give up theirs, the breakfast the next day taking over an hour to arrive and not being cooked, trying to overcharge the bill...etc etc) and I honestly don't think any of my family of friends would ever visit the place ever again.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Superfran_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

We stayed here for 2 nignts , and these were possibly the worst 2 nights we have ever had in a Hotel. The place is a joke , badly staffed, and poorly maintained , quite frankly we had to laugh otherwise we would have cried . These two nights really took the shine off of an otherwise promising weekend .

When we arrived we were shown to our room , a promising start because some hotels just give you the key and leave you to find the room yourself, but it went downhill from here on First of all the TV had no remote , it was stuck on radio and very loud , I asked reception for a remote but was told that they were full and they were 5 remotes short , afer a bit of to-ing and fro-ing the receptionsist took one from another room . We had planned to go out for dinner , but when we tried to have a shower the shower would not work, it only produced a cold dribble , another trip no reception and the manager was called , she came to the room but was also unable to make the shower work , again we were told the hotel was full so she could not move us , she suggested we take a bath and offered a 50% reduction in the price for that night , we reluctantly agreed . after she left we tried to t=run a bath but then the bath would not hold water , yet another trip to reception and more toing and froing produced a key to a scruffy staff room some distance from our room where we told we could take a shower , but there was no shower screen and to be honest we were not in the mood for walking around the hotel just to get a shower . After all of this we decided it was too late to go out but we were pretty hungry so we opted to eat in the hotel.

The restaurant only had about a dozen customers so we thought service would be quick This was a BIG mistake , our starters were just about passable , the main courses were something else and after waiting sometime for them we started to hear some of the other diners complaining . I had chosen Dover Sole and my other half chose a Pasta dish and as soon as they arrived we could see what the complaints were about . My fish looked and tasted absolutely disgusting , it was burnt , covered in burnt oil and surrounded by soggy chips . My other half took one mouthful of her Pasta and spat it out in horror as it was smothered in extremely hot chillies , the acompnying garlic bread was no better , it must have had a whole bulb of garlic on one slice of bread and was just inedible.

We complained and sent the food back , reluctantly choosing another dish , but after waiting almost an hour we gave up and told them to forget it . The manager apologised and offered to buy in a take away for us , so we trooped off to reception and they ordered a us a Pizza .

We'd had a couple of drinks by now so we cherefully downed the barely edible Pizza and went to bed . Breakfast the next morning was acceptable and we left for a long day out at Goodwood, The manager told us that they would move us to the "best room in the house" for the second night and we should jsut speak to the night reception when we returned late that night. However when we arrived back at about 1:00 to find reception full of drunken wedding guests who had apparently been locked out of the bar and access to their rooms , the night reception was no where to be found . After about 15 minutes of searching and banging on windows and doors we finally managed to attract the attention of the manager who came out and showed us in to our new room. This was tatty even compared to the first room but at least the shower worked . We went to bed

But were then woken by banging on doors (including ours and lots of shouting by drunken wedding guests tryting to get in to there rooms . At 3 :00 they finally wenet quiet and we got some sleep until they again woke us at 7 with there loud shouting and banging . We got up had breakfast ( cooked by the manager who had suddenly become the chef!!) and left as fast as we could vowing never to return. We are now trying to get our money back .

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrianR0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

We had not booked but came across this lovely hotel by chance late in the day. The receptionist was extremely helpful and the room lovely with views across the fields. Dinner was really good with excellant service. We will definitely go back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuffolkTopsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2010

Stayed here for one night and the room was really nice, and the friendliness of the staff was outstanding. After seeing the menu prices we decided to go out to nearby Chichester to eat and the staff were great at recommending places there and gave us directions too. Breakfast was included in the price and the food was very good. If we needed to stay in that area again we would definitely go back. The hotel was lovely to look at and we were pleasantly surprised at the size of the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fionacoaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2010

This is a beautiful hotel from the outside and very inviting when you are inside and the "one man" staff was accommodating and pleasant. We both ordered lambs liver which we thought was calves liver but they assured us it wasn't. I was invited t o go out to the kitchen and see the "dripping with blood" bag that was labeled lambs liver. I declined. It had certainly been kept warm a very long time! The chips with mine were not crisp more like steamed or reheated in a microwave. For liver and potato with onion gravy it was way way overpriced. I left mine. This is the first time i have felt compelled to write a review to make sure everyone knows this is an overpriced hotel that serves poor quality food. Would not be visiting there again despite the outside appearances.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stella319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W,SUSEX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2010

We booked the White swan for our wedding reception and wished we never had. When we went to look at the hotel it was fantastic, great location and very good value for money.

On the lead up to the wedding the problems started to happen, everytime we call know one knew what they were doing and very unhelpful to wanting extra money for a deposit even though we already paid a deposit.

By the time it was 6 months to the wedding the hotel had changed their wedding co-ordinator 6 times.

We finally had Sam for the wedding but on the morning of the wedding he went sick and that is when the problems started to happen.

The general manager didnt have any idea on what time we was going to arrive from the church to what time we were going to do speeches or sit down for the wedding breakfast. The worse bit is that the bedroom that was reserved for us had someone else belongings in and had not been clean etc.

So when we did finaly sit down to the wedding breakfast there was no wine on the tables or wine for toast the food wasnt even ready.

My husband confronted the General manager and her attidtude was oh well we will sort it when we have time. If it wasnt for our Ushers and the Best man nothing would of been done.

The evening was fantastic because we were left to our own devices and we did have a fantastic evening.

The morning after when our guest went to check out they were being charge to much, but this was quickly resolved.

We would not be hurrying back anytime soon its such a shame because this is a fantastic hotel but they need to be a lot more organised.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KDSUSSEX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arundel
1.1 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
655 reviews
1.1 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
1,009 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
2,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
216 reviews
1.5 mi away
Arundel Park Hotel
Arundel Park Hotel
#7 of 7 in Arundel
83 reviews
4.7 mi away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan

Property: The White Swan
Address: 16 Chichester Road, Arundel BN18 0AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Arundel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Swan 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its full refurbishment The White Swan Inn is now back on Arundel’s map situated just 5 minutes outside of Arundel and perfectly located for easy travel to Chichester, Fontwell and Goodwood. Now part of Pebble Hotels The White Swan has strived to create a contemporary edge to this traditional property with a blend of oak beams, open fires, bold fabrics and striking artwork. Relax in the fabulous new lounge with free WiFi access or enjoy a chilled glass of wine in the beautiful bar and restaurant where the new menus are served all day. The new look ensuite bedrooms offer all personal amenities, 24 hour room service, broadband internet connection and tea and coffee making facilities. Full English Breakfast is charged at an additional £9.50 per person. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, LateRooms, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The White Swan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Hotel Arundel
White Swan Arundel
The White Swan Arundel, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing