We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in a beautiful period setting”
Review of The Town House

The Town House
Ranked #1 of 53 Restaurants in Arundel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$38
Cuisines: Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Devon, Engand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food in a beautiful period setting”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Met with friends for lunch at a half-way point that happened to be Arundel. Lunch menu is excellent value for money. Beautifully cooked food, excellent service and the building is fabulous - an 18th century Grade 2 listed building with a 16th century ceiling from Florence! planning to go again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaureenRaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    359
    58
    14
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
arundel, sussex
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The Best in Town”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The Town House is always a great experience. The food is head and shoulders above any in the area. The menu is small - about half a dozen choices for each course - always a good indication of fresh seasonal food but with a clever selection of meat, fish and vegetarian, all cooked to order. Similarly the wine list offers a wide selection at all price points.

Service is friendly and efficient and the décor is great. The only drawback is that you must book well in advance, especially at weekends.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank argent7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swadlincote
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Overall good”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We visited to celebrate my husband's birthday. This is a small restaurant and on a Friday night it was fully booked which was to be expected. We had requested a corner table if possible but we ended up against the door which was not particularly pleasant for my husband as there was a constant stream of guests and staff squeezing past him.
The service was pretty good. The home-made focaccia was light and flavoursome. Our staters of foie gras and in particular the langoustine raviolo were delicious, just enough but not too much. My main of venison and wild mushroom risotto was all I could have hoped for. The venison cut just like butter. The chateaubriand however was not very good and was rather chewy and my husband could not eat it all. This was really disappointing as the rest of the food had been good.
Overall a good experience but spoiled by the steak.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TrudJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arundel, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Another 'excellent'”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Cannot fault, go visit - you will not be disappointed !!
Great menu, nice wine list, and comfortable seating.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“THE BEST IN ARUNDEL”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Had lunch here with my wife as always the food was superb and the wine list great.

In my opinion this is the best restaurant in Arundel

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FRAMMY4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Town House also viewed

Arundel, Arun District
Arundel, Arun District
 
Arundel, Arun District
 

Been to The Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing