We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just superb!”
Review of The Town House

The Town House
Ranked #1 of 54 Restaurants in Arundel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$38
Cuisines: Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 16 August 2014

On a visit to the area our friends took us to this restaurant for lunch, having just discovered it themselves a short while ago. The menu was tempting and our friends recommended the seafood main, but another dish caught our eye....for starter I went for local potted crab with Melba toast, one of the nicest potted crab I have ever had -the texture and taste was lovely. My partner had foie gras, he said was really good and our friends both had the duck breast that they really enjoyed. The mains we went for grilled corn fed chicken with chilli and ginger rosti, pak choi and soy jus; our friends had the seafood platter, with lobster thermidor, garlic prawns, potted crab and smoked salmon. All dishes were superb, simply but well presented and flavours really worked well.
Finally I opted for coffee as so full, but the others had ginger panna cotta with raspberry sorbet. This silky smooth dessert was the icing on the cake, the ginger cutting through the softness of the raspberry.
The restaurant itself is small but elegant, the tables set stylishly but simply, the service helpful, professional and friendly. Next time we are in the area, we will definitely return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank LoveDevon1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paula_williams83, Public Relations Manager at The Town House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for your comments we appreciate any feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

280 - 284 of 455 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

My husband and I travel on business throughout Europe at least every 6 weeks and are very fortunate to have the opportunity to eat in lots of different restaurants in an array of cities. I guess at times we get a little blasé in that often a restaurant meal becomes purposeful as part of the business travel package. Often we eat in good restaurants and are pleased with the meal but are rarely blown away.
However, The Town House, which is local to home, is one of those places where you eat and you think 'Wow!' We have dined a couple of times and the attention to detail is perfect; everything is about the pleasure of taste and as guests and hosting guests it is a pleasure to share the experience of this place with friends; to watch their faces because you have found a gem of a place to eat. Homemade bread, crab pate, duck salad, lobster thermidor and a to die for ginger panacotta. Heavenly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sally E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paula_williams83, Public Relations Manager at The Town House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for your comments we appreciate any feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile


A massive thank you to all the staff at the Town House for looking after our wedding party at the end of July!

The food was amazing and the service was slick.

Readers of this review you won't be disappointed - the food is great and the pricing is well balanced!

See you soon for another great meal..

1  Thank BRH10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paula_williams83, Public Relations Manager at The Town House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for your comments we appreciate any feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My husband and myself had a meal at the Town house last night and it was the best meal we've had at a restaurant. The fois gras and salad were delicious. The salad in the main meal was as good as the lamb. The staff were very friendly as were the other guests at the restaurant. The wine was great and it was reasonably priced. We would definitely gladly return!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Frances M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We ate in the restaurant but did not stay in the rooms above (stayed elsewhere). The menu was really well put together. There was a small and varied choice of about a half-dozen dishes for each of the starters and mains. The food was delicious - well-cooked and high quality and easily the best food we ate while in Arundel.

Thank Topladytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Town House also viewed

 
Arundel, Arun District
 

Been to The Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing