We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely as always”
Review of The Spur

The Spur
Ranked #33 of 53 Restaurants in Arundel
Price range: US$16 - US$40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Spur Inn is a Family run Traditional Country Pub with a separate Restaurant and a Skittle Alley. The pub has open fires and oak beams with a friendly cosy atmosphere. Serving excellent home made pub food. Well known for our Traditional Sunday Roasts. We are not a Gastro Pub. We look forward to welcoming you soon.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Lovely as always”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

First and foremost its a pub ! but its a pub which serves very good food at sensible prices and with a smile ! You will travel a distance to find a place with this much character and such friendly owners , at least these folk smile and welcome you , unlike the guy before them!! relax and enjoy I always do , a small tip in cash for the staff gets you remembered and its always betetr to arrive early or book in restaurant . Love it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    52
    17
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch with Friends”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

For lunch we went up to nearby Slindon to The Spur. They are quite a large establishment which serves both bar food, and has a restaurant. We opted to eat in the restaurant - and at first were a little concerned this may not be a good idea. There was a table of at least 30 aligned down one side of the restaurant - and clearly they were just about to order. It might be a long wait!

As it turned out, we needn't have been worried. We were served within an acceptable time, and when our meals arrived they were excellent. Whilst it may may not rate (nor aspire to) gourmet ribbons, it was a perfectly nice meal, served by polite staff, and all for a reasonable price. There is little doubt that we will return - and probably try a week night where the menu looks a little more varied.

Try it, you may be surprised.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gorsefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very friendly”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Went there for lunch with our dog. We were made to feel very welcome and the food was excellent. I had the lamb burger which was cooked perfectly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pretty Average Overall”
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

Sunday lunch about 3pm which was not busy. Ordered at the bar and waited for about 45 mins for the food to arrive. When it did arrive, starters and mains came altogether which was unexpected. Roast vegetables side dish to the roast chicken was completely overcooked and some of the vegetables were burnt. Quality of food and welcoming were ok but service was disappointing. Ordered coffees which took about 25 mins so just as well we did not order desserts.
The meals were a little pricey for a pub restaurant.
Return visit may not be a while just yet.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Holgag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bognor regis
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spur public house”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Very excellent food served in nice surroundings eat in or out , restaurant or bar, there also is a skittle alley to hire for group events with food at a modest cost. Thost and staff greet you in a friendly manner

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tohood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Spur also viewed

Arundel, Arun District
Arundel, Arun District
 
Arundel, Arun District
 

Been to The Spur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing