We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cant wait to return”
Review of Arden Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Arden Guest House
Ranked #1 of 17 Arundel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2014

came across this B&B by chance, I`m a well travelled airline Captain and can honestly say that this B&B is in the top ten of hotels we have stayed.
we were greeted by a kind man we now know to be Terry who made us welcome,the room was great, clean and comfy.
we will return.

Thanks again guys.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pete m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
There are newer reviews for Arden Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

This guest house is probably the best we have ever found, the standard of décor and cleanliness, the choice of breakfast and the service were excellent. Nothing is too much trouble and we could not fault it. Near the centre of Arundel, their own car park and easy to find. We will find a reason to stay there again soon.

Room Tip: The double en suite was just what we needed. Very pleasant room.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I stayed at the Arden Guest House with my son, brother and two friends whilst on route back on motor bikes to Hastings for the Yearly May Day event, we went down to Cornwall on the Friday to travel back and stay in places to finish in Hastings, after staying in Cornwall then Southampton and had a nice stay there we then came to the Arden. I speak on behalf of all my group that this was the best place we stayed out of them all, fantastic host's, very welcoming and the rooms nice, clean and warm, myself and brother had the twin on-suite and my son in the single non on-suite (me and my brother tried getting it off him lol) and our friends in the twin non on-suite. All rooms were real nice and we all slept well. Breakfast in the morning was well cooked (my son is well fussy but he ate it all so it really has to be good). We highly recommend the Arden for both groups like us, family and just yourself. We will use again as this really is a nice place to stay with nice friendly owners and a real good price.

Room Tip: Double Non on-suite has a lovely view from the window
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We have just returned from a very enjoyable week-end break in Arundel. We stayed at the Arden Guest House which is located close to the bridge over the River Arun and within a short walk of the cathedral, castle, friary, pubs, restaurants, tea-rooms and shops in the town - we parked the car at the Arden Guest House when we arrived and did not need to use it again until we were due to depart for home. The Arden Guest House is run by Ann and Terry who looked after us and made us feel very welcome indeed. The bedroom (with en-suite) was large, extremely clean and included everything required for a very comfortable stay. Breakfasts were a real treat, were well cooked and included all we needed to set us up for our days exploring the town. Ann and Terry were a mine of information on places to eat, drink and visit and also on the history of Arundel and surrounding areas. We would thoroughly recommend The Arden Guest House to anybody looking for somewhere to stay in Arundel - we know that you will be well looked after by your very warm, welcoming hosts Ann and Terry.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HibiscusCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The room was clean, but the bathroom had a strange smell in it. The decor was definitely in dire need of updating! The owners were very friendly and made us feel welcome! The breakfast in the morning looked ok but was very greasy and heavy on the stomach. Sausages were also very cheap and poor quality. We ate it however, went on our way, felt ill all morning then got home and vomited!! Definitely will never return! Avoid, avoid, avoid!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie F, Owner at Arden Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2015

Dear Luke, as the new Owners of Arden House (from March 2015) we're sorry to read your review from February 2014 and to see that you had a less-than-enjoyable stay.

We hope you will consider visiting Arundel again some time, and that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Arden House for a more positive experience!

Best wishes,

Lucie & Iain | Arden House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We can thoroughly recommend this bed and breakfast, a warm welcome, comfortable room, extremely clean and well-appointed bathroom, and very good and extensive breakfast. It's situated very close to the town centre and all attractions, and parking is available.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Praia-da-Luz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We arrived in a mad panic with just enough time to iron clothes, change and disappear to a wedding.
Our hosts Terry & Ann were smiling, helpful & calm, they pointed us to the ironing board and instructed us how to get in, what time breakfast would be served, and how to get to the town hall...and off we went. We had intended to arrive earlier, but a traffic jam on the M25 put paid to serenity, luckily we had left in good time. Full marks to our hosts. We returned late and went to bed. The alarm signaled breakfast, with five minutes before there was none.
Still hazy from the night before, Ann brightly served a simple full English with grapefruit and cereal, before the fry up arrived. Check-out is officially 10am, but Ann said we could lie in a while, we left at about 11am.
The couple who run this outfit were delightful and house is cleaner than spotless, everything is well put together and well thought out. It all works. I can't say the decor is to my taste, it's a little bland, but it's comfortable and situated within easy walk of all that Arundel has to offer. They run a tidy ship and they looked after us.
Ann told me that they are trying to sell up to retire, I wish them well.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ackhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arundel hotels
0.2 mi away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#2 of 7 in Arundel
1,078 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
702 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hilton Avisford Park
Hilton Avisford Park
#5 of 7 in Arundel
2,084 reviews
4.3 mi away
Travelodge Arundel Fontwell
0.3 mi away
Arundel Park Hotel
Arundel Park Hotel
#7 of 7 in Arundel
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arden Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arden Guest House

Address: 4 Queens Lane, Arundel BN18 9JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Arundel
Price Range: £75 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*UNDER NEW OWNERSHIP SINCE MARCH 2015 * A warm and friendly guest house situated in a peaceful setting just a short walk from Arundel Castle, and the High Street with its range of independent shops, restaurants and pubs. We are able to accommodate up to 14 guests in a choice of 7 double/twin bedrooms, which offer either en-suite bathrooms or shared facilities. We provide bathrobes and slippers in our non en-suite rooms for use during your stay. Our room rates including full English, Continental or packed breakfast and we're pleased to cater for Vegetarian/Vegan, Dairy-free, Gluten-free and other dietary requirements. We have free parking on-site for up to 4 cars (must be booked in advance), and additional parking is available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Arden Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arden Guest House Arundel, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing