We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor service”

Ask Italian - Chichester
Ranked #69 of 247 Restaurants in Chichester
Price range: US$9 - US$17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: ASK Italian in Chichester is a place for great food and warm service. Think fresh bread made to tear and share. A glass of fine wine worth deserving of your time. Delicious main dishes prepared the traditional way. Everything we know and love about Italian food is served straight to your table. Take a look at our Chichester menu and, if you like what you see, book a table.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
470 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 519 helpful votes
“Very poor service”
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Waited ages to be seated even though the place was empty. The welcome was unfriendly - brusque, even. The food was fine but the wait between courses and to get the bill was poor. Tables all around had not been cleared and there was clearly no leadership - as new staff came along they stood around even though there were customers waiting to be seated and tables to be cleared. The modern toilets upstairs were fine until you looked down the basin overflows which both had green mould growing in them. Ever heard of bleach? .We didn`t pay the service charge and won`t be back.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    102
    41
    36
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Nice Surprise!”
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Its Very Well Run ... by a nice team of young people, who know what they are about.

I am a fan of food, and restaurants.

Slick, charming sevice.

Very nice food indeed.

If I win the lottery, the greeter, and the waiter can have job for life.

Thanks!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank docbravo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I know it's a chain BUT...”
Reviewed 25 August 2011

... you won't feel like it when you get there.

The staff are great - funny and friendly. The chefs are very good and the food is always brilliant. We haven't had a bad visit there and we have been many times.

It's not the cheapest place to eat in the world but, if you're strapped for cash, just go for a main meal with some bread on the side.

New design (glasses, tables etc.) are very cool. New menu is LUSH. Great additions like the funky chips.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Of all the pasta restaurants this is probably not the best !!”
Reviewed 22 August 2011

On our visit recently the restaurant was busy but the service was helpful but nothing special. The food bland compared to the other pasta restaurants in the area. The pizzas had shrunk, more so then the other chains. But too be fair the bottle beers were cold although the glass was dirty. This restaurant does have a nice welcoming feel about it but on this occassion was let down by the food. We'll give it another go one day but for now if we fancy a pizza we have too many other choices.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank CorralejoDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great experience”
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Staff were very pleasant, polite and helpful. Food was perfect.
Would recommend this experience to everyone

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eng867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ask Italian - Chichester also viewed

Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 
Chichester, West Sussex
 

Been to Ask Italian - Chichester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing