We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must for any Roman fans” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fishbourne Roman Palace

Fishbourne Roman Palace
Ranked #7 of 61 things to do in Chichester
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A must for any Roman fans”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

We had arranged a holiday in Chichester specifically to visit the Palace and the cathedral. You can easily spend a whole day here exploring the mosaics the gardens the very good exhibitions. We had a very good guided tour of the mosaics from a member of the West Sussex archaeology team which is well worth waiting a few minutes for Definitely value for money only down side is the cafe

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank christinedavidson39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    205
    45
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Real history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

This is a great place to visit if you are interested in history, art, engineering and architecture. The exhibition itself is beautiful and illustrates the impressive skills of the Romans. There is a museum area where there is lots of information, but also interesting things for children. While there we were shown how to play some traditional Roman games and the children were able to have a go at building a Roman road. We all enjoyed the dressing up as well!
The mosaic floors are housed in the main building (this part can be quite cold) There is also a small theatre to watch and introductory documentary (this is very chilly, but the film is interesting)
You can have a guided tour. We really enjoyed this as our Guide was excellent - really enthusiastic and had a wealth of knowledge.
Outside are the gardens - replanted in the same trenches as the original. There are umbrellas you can borrow if the weather take a turn.
The gift shop was quite reasonable, with a good selection of gifts and books for both adults and children. There is also a family guide book, which is suitable for children. You can also purchase plants and herbs grown on site.
There is a children's activity area with books, computers and mosaic building. (though this was a bit messy as we visited late in the day)
There is a good sized car park. There are toilets off of this as well as a café. The café serves a range of snacks and meals. It is very clean and the food is nice. The staff in both the exhibition building and the café were lovely.
We had an enjoyable time and we were the last people to leave.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rupunzel_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavernspite, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Thoughtful presentation and run by enthusiasts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

I wasn't prepared for the sheer extent of the Roman palace at Fishbourne. What is visible inside the enormous modern hangar is just one wing of what must have been a vast complex in its day, the remainder now sadly obscured by modern development. The mosaics on display are of a fine quality, although their state of preservation is somewhat variable. However, what made the visit for us was the enthusiasm and knowledge of the staff who gave costumed interactive demonstrations on Roman clothing and food, and who allowed us to handle and discuss some of the artefacts.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cathie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

On arrival we wondered whether we had gone to the wrong place as it looked like we'd arrived at a 1960s school in the middle of a housing estate. Upon going in, we entered history.
Wonderful Roman mosaics and great guided tours provided by such an enthusiastic archaeologist. We also visited the artefacts store and handled some Roman remains.
Very good value cafe.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Selhurst300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Interesting visit in lovely surroundings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Just a short walk from the bus stop in Fishbourne for those hoping to use public transport. The display is interesting and interactive and leaves a lot to the imagination and up for discussion as there are lots of 'perhaps', maybe' and 'might's in the information but visually very interesting. While we were there one of the museum workers gave a knowledgeable and engaging presentation on the hygiene habits of the time which one of the highlights of the visit. The mosaics are well preserved and can be seen very clearly from the viewing platforms. Definitely worth a venture outside to the Roman gardens and bring a camera for your chance to snap the family peeping through boards depicting them as comical Roman characters. Reasonable and well stocked gift shop. The café, however, is overpriced and service is slow. Staff also prioritised staff lunch choices over customer orders during our visit which was disappointing, given the high level of professionalism everywhere else.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gemma186406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fishbourne Roman Palace also viewed

 
Chichester, West Sussex
Bosham, Chichester
 

Been to Fishbourne Roman Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing