We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
An wonderful archaeological site

Years of careful excavation have been rewarded by the discovery of the remains a largely untouched... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
richarddZ8969KM
,
Chichester, United Kingdom
Complete view of the palace

Fantastic view of an old era. Very good explanation of the whole place and a good shopping after... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
giancarlo_machado
,
Canoas, RS
via mobile
Read all 859 reviews
  
Reviews (859)
Filter reviews
859 results
Traveller rating
491
294
57
8
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
491
294
57
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mosaic floors guided tour amazing mosaics introductory film tony robinson well worth a visit under cover housing estate short film behind the scenes school parties small museum knowledgeable guide hands on activities school trip fascinating place information boards
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 859 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

A friend and I visited while our wives went for Retail Therapy. This is a very large villa site with both a good museum and some excellent mosaics. Well worth a visit.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

I've always wanted to visit Fishbourne since I first heard about it when I was still at school. The largest Roman period villa in the UK. The mosaics are fantastic. If you are expecting extant walls etc then you may be disappointed....Fishbourne is all about the mosaics. This site can be busy with school visits but that isn't a problem if the teachers keep them in order (were we any different in school?). Our visit coincided with a handling session at the Finds centre next door.....well worth it. As members of the Association of Roman Archaeology we had free entry.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank derrick90332016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018 via mobile

First see the historical overview, take your time, then go to see the excavations, especially the Medusa, the one who worshipped no gods, her head barely visible now. If you're lucky there might be a group of schoolchildren visiting the site, rushing all around, liking the skeleton buried there from another era.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank R Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018

We had been staying in Chichester with friends and to be honest, a bunch of Roman ruins normally doesn't float my boat, but being outnumbered, I complied and have to say I was pleasantly surprised. The staff were incredibly friendly and explained everything before we entered. We started with the film and then, as the weather was great, we walked around the external areas. The film had explained what we were looking at. We then walked around the small museum which was informative without being to heavy on the information. The star of the show is the wonderfully preserved mosaic floors which have been covered under quite an amazing building. Walkways are built above the floors so there are good views and plenty of space. Quite mind blowing. Look out for the cemented trench at the far end where the water pipe was laid (and the reason the Palace was found). There is also a small shop with a good selection of books and general child friendly plastic stuff that all small children need. A real gem and I am so glad I was bullied into going. There is also a collection centre ( which I don't believe was open during our visit) and a tea room.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank nigelrashers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018

Not much to see initially except a small café and nice, grassed picnic area with benches and trees for shade. Welcoming, friendly staff and excellent tour guide (free) who was very informative as well as being open to questions. Entry fee £9.50 (adult), £8.80 (senior) and then free for a whole year with a seasonal pass! Free car park on site. The mosaics are housed inside a large air-conditioned building with walkways everywhere, allowing easy access to view the mosaics from above. Outside there are lovely gardens to walk around, giving a better perspective and understanding of how the palace was laid out. There is a small theatre showing a looped film about the site and a small museum, shop and toilets. The café served a limited menu (no chips, but very nice flapjacks!) Would definitely visit again.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Cheahshir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews