We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relax away from it all.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Canute Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chichester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Canute Cottages
Ripley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Relax away from it all.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

We have been staying at Canute Cottages in the Old Dairy on a regular basis since they opened. The standard of furnishings was excellent then and still is. You can walk down the lane to the edge of Chichester Old Harbour (approx 3,500 acres) and follow a wheelchair accessible trail along the edge of the harbour to The Point where there is a bench to sit on and watch the 'world sail by'.
There are all sorts of facilities for children in the old barn which in July had a webcam trained on an owl's nest in the roof of the barn.
This is one of our favourite places - sooooooo relaxing!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

My wife and I rented the Old Dairy with our two dogs in March 13 to attend an event at Goodwood Race Track.

The first thing I would say is that the website undersells itself as the cottages are bigger and much nicer than portrayed in the rather small photos.

Furnishings are to a high standard and the heating worked well (personally tested to -5c). The kitchen is well equipped and the beds comfortable. The owner welcomes well behaved dogs, and although the literature mentions a preference for small dogs our two labs felt comfortable and were made welcome.

The cottages are formed out of former farm buildings (probably stables) and form a courtyard with car parking at the far end. Three spaces are under cover. There is a common washing/utility room with very extensive local tourist information laid out and a Barn with some indoor games (Skittles/Ping Pong etc) to keep the children happy on rainy days. Each cottage has a small garden with seating outside.


The coast is a five minute walk away and a pathway around the peninsular allows access to a private path network that is available to guests that offers a delightful walk taking in the coast and some woodland. Great for kids and dogs alike.

All in all we enjoyed our stay and had no complaints. If staying in summer I suspect privacy would be a little limited with the cottages overlooking each other and any noisy guests would not find themselves popular. A rainy day might see demand for the barn games being high if a large number of children were in residence.

The only minus point for me was that towels are charged as an extra at £3 per person. This seemed a little trivial as the rental prices are in the sort of bracket where one would assume that towels and linen are included.

All in all I would recommend Canute Cottages to anyone who is looking for family accommodation and wants an environment that offers something for everyone.

A genuine find that we would not hesitate to return to. Our thanks go to Diana and her staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BoeingBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutherglen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

I've been coming to canute for around 8 years, and since my first visit I've been very much in love.

Always a warm welcome from Diana, with an array of goodies waiting on us when we arrive (Cobnor apple juice, short bread)

The setting is lovely, just a short walk from the beach and surrounded by fields, it's like a whole other world.

If you're thinking of booking up, do it !

You will not regret it.

Thank you Diana.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2009

I booked one of these cottages after seeing their website. I wanted somewhere I could take my Mum who is in a wheelchair and Canute Cottages seemed to offer the approprite facilities. I hoped I had made the right choice as some properties claim to be fully accessible and you find they have only made a small gesture such as a ramp etc. But Canute Cottages is fantastic. I could get the wheelchair around the cottage and surroundings easily. Diana, the owner, was so helpful and provided a fireside chair for my Mum when asked and was anxious to know if we needed anything else - did I want the heating adjusted, was my Mum warm enough? The cottage decor is beautiful - matching pine furniture and very comfortable beds. There is a laundry room and masses of books, games, DVDs etc. It was lovely to sit on the patio outside the cottage for afternoon tea or a gin and tonic later. The biggest bonus of all was the wheelchair accessible path that has been created for about a mile along the sea wall. It is not usually easy to get a wheelchair to such a beautiful unspoiled area. The cottages are located in a truly peaceful and unspoiled spot - but a short drive up the peninusular to the main road are shops and restaurants and access to other lovely places such as Bosham, Dell Quay, Emsworth. I enjoyed my week so much that I have already booked to go again next Spring.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank solotripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2009

We have stayed at Canute Cottages for the past 8 years, and have no hesitation in recommending it unreservedly. It is beautifully situated, impeccably run by Diana, and boasts admirable green credentials. I know that most guests return year after year – some twice a year. I have not stayed at the campsite, but that also appears to be well-appointed, and I know it also has a large group of very loyal regulars. I can only suppose that the previous reviewer must be referring to a different establishment.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SailorS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2009

We have actually stayed at Canute Cottages about 5 or 6 times and quite honestly I think the person that wrote the previous review has the wrong end of the stick which is such a shame. Am very sorry they had such an awful experience but would like to make clear the owner is (a) not a man and is (b) certainly the most lovely, helpful and accommodating person you could meet! My personal experience is that Canute Cottages themselves are smashing. They're well equipped & spotless, all mod cons, very well maintained indeed and nicely furnished, including beautiful paintings. We particularly liked how easy it was to recycle everything and that we could walk to the one of the best pubs in the world in about 15 minutes. The cottages are set in such a tranquil off the beaten track place you can't help but instantly feel relaxed and be amazed by the scenery, the mass of stars at night as there's no light polution and the unbelievable sunsets with a view across to the Isle of Wight. Just last Sunday I saw, against the backdrop of a sunset by the sea, curlews, egrits and herons plus a complete mass of snowdrops and that was just in the winter! And the owner Diana is both on hand should you need her and unobtrusive. Diana is also the campsite owner so somewhere along the way the previous reviewer has recieved incorrect info. Would I recommend these cottages & campsite? Oh Yes! My cousins are staying there in April!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marleneandpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chichester
4.9 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
4.2 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 9 in Chichester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
7.3 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#8 of 9 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Lockgate Dairy
Lockgate Dairy
#1 of 76 in Chichester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Coast Yard
The Coast Yard
#1 of 3 in Selsey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Kite House
The Kite House
#2 of 2 in East Wittering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canute Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canute Cottages

Property: Canute Cottages
Address: Cobnor Farm | Chidham , Near Chichester, Chichester PO18 8TE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Chichester
Hotel Class:4 star — Canute Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canute Cottages consists of 4 award winning self catering holiday cottages converted from farm buildings and grouped in a courtyard on the Chidham peninsular, right in the middle of Chichester Harbour Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty.(AONB) The cottages are all single storey, two are wheelchair accessible with one having a wheel-in wet-room. Plenty of play-space for children and a huge play barn with skittles, ping-pong, table football, toddler toys and more for those wet days. The cottages are to a high standard (Enjoy England 4*) and very well equipped. We have many repeat visitors, some coming several times a year to enjoy the space, peace and beauty of this part of the harbour. Close to Chichester, Portsmouth, and the South Downs, there is always something to do in the area, famous for the Chichester Festival Theatre, Goodwood for horse racing and motor sport festivals, historic ships at Portsmouth and the Roman Palace at Fishbourne. We welcome disabled guests, families, dogs and sailors - we have our own private slipway to launch your canoe or sailing dinghy.( by prior arrangement) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Canute Cottages Chichester, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing