We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, pity about the food”

The Minerva Brasserie
Ranked #114 of 240 Restaurants in Chichester
Price range: US$24 - US$31
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Sussex
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good service, pity about the food”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Three of us dined on 22 May pre theatre with 3 courses. Fast and courteous service. None of the courses was worth the price. Pasta pretty well inedible and 'crisp' new potatoes soggy.
After commenting to the manager on the food he said he would tell the chef. What hope for an improvement?! - he needs to tell the management

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jdrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welltraveledgent, General Manager at The Minerva Brasserie, responded to this review, 16 May 2015
This is NOT the current caterers Caper and Berry.
We took over in April 2014 and are still waiting for Trip Advisor to remove these comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    85
    54
    38
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent, England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ideal for pre-theatre meal”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We like the convenience of being able to have a pre-theatre meal 'on site' and this was ideal. We arrived 10 minutes before our 6pm booking, asked to have a pre-dinner drink and were invited to have it at our table. Didn't take long to order our food as there is, sensibly, a limited menu. However, service was so quick that we had barely been given our pre-dinner drink before our wine and starters arrived. I appreciate that they have to get through loads of people all arriving at the same time but felt we could have been given 5 minutes.

Food was very good, tasty and well presented, but portions not over generous. Service was pleasant and efficient. They seemed to have plenty of waiters and waitresses.

Tip: Ask for one of the larger 'tables for 2'. They seemed to vary in size and we were very squashed on our table with barley enough room for all plates, glasses etc. Not cheap

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kentscribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible food, terrible service”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I changed the booking in the morning from 3 to 4 people. It took ages for them to change it over the telephone but when I arrived it was still booked for 3. Even though the restuarnat was barely half full we were still given a small table for 3 and the 4th squeezed in, the specials had already run out( at 615) the service was really poor and the food small portions, poorly cooked and tasteless . It was grossly over priced Thank goodness the performance of Stevie was amazing and made up for such a poor start to the evening

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welltraveledgent, General Manager at The Minerva Brasserie, responded to this review, 16 May 2015
This is NOT the current caterers Caper and Berry.
We took over in April 2014 and are still waiting for Trip Advisor to remove these comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“I believe it has improved”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Caper and Berry have recently taken over the catering service and I think it is an improvement. Comme Ca was the best pre-theatre restaurant, but sadly it has gone. The new people are trying very hard - I was chatted up by name, this has never happened to me before - outstanding. As 'Fumba' says, the customers are all very old, but that is just a fact for the CFT customers, only the old and slightly well-heeled can afford it.

We had a three course meal. The extras - 3 glasses of wine, extra for starters, extra for pudding took the price to £62.70 excluding the 10% service charge. With the service charge it would have been £68.97

I hate restaurants that add a service charge. They just do this to keep staff salaries down and make us pay. I would much prefer the French system where you pay what it says on the bill. All taxes and service charges are included.

They always add the 10% but call it 'discretionary'. I had it taken off the bill and put more than 10% in cash on the table because I wanted the waters to have all of it. I learned later that even the cash gets processed through payroll, meaning that staff have to pay tax on that too. I think most people just pay it all on the credit card and hope for the best.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bosham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We booked a pre theatre meal with a high expectation and found the food and the overall experience disappointing. The "special" of slow cooked belly of pork was very poor quality. The fat content was off the scale and the rind was soggy. The watercress soup was good but the floating toast with bacon balanced on top created a sloppy dish. The salmon fillet with a pleasant sauce was quite good but spoilt by the minute size of the portion. The wine by the glass was overpriced for a rather ordinary rose. The final straw was being presented with a 10% service charge added to the bill that we were informed could be removed at the till. We did! Disappointing.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Minerva Brasserie also viewed

 

Been to The Minerva Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing