We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not family friendly”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of the walnut tree

the walnut tree
Ranked #45 of 238 Restaurants in Chichester
Cuisines: Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not family friendly”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2011

We visited the Walnut Tree with four generations of family for a Sunday lunch. Sadly we would not visit again. When booking we were told they had not got any highchairs for our 14 month old. We thought this was probably because it was popular and they were all booked. As luck would have it we have a portable one so went ahead and booked anyway. Well, there were none there and we got the distinct impression children were not particularly welcome. Finally my Husband asked the man who appeared to be in charge if they had changing facilities (usually in disabled toilets) and he said no and walked off. My husband then attempted to ask a member of staff if there might be somewhere he could change our daughter and the manager (?) again shouted across other customers "Outside". I was suprised he would feel so offended by a child needed changing. All in all we did not feel very comfortable at the Walnut Tree and could not reccomend it to other familes.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ohabigail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    142
    67
    38
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't wait to go again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2011

Had a school reunion party of ten of us food and service was absolutley fantastic. Shoulder of lamb really good value for money and the bread and pudding was to die for. Louise and Gerry thank u for your service and your smile.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matie45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“I must have gone on an off-day”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2011

On Friday 28th January I made a booking in this restaurant for 6.30 pm. On arrival I approached the booking desk and waited. There were two staff sitting talking at a nearby table, they looked at us and carried on talking. I continued to wait until another member of staff came out of the kitchen and asked if she could help. She took our orders and we were shown to our table by another member of staff. We asked this girl if we could have a bottle of wine to go with our meal. In the middle of our conversation my wine was unceremoniously dumped onto the table and the girl just walked off without saying a word.

We had no complaints about the food it was most enjoyable. Shame about the service.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marvin1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“leaving do”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2011

The Staff here were amazing, we had a party of 40+ and were excellent and friendly!! Food was great! Thank you to Page, David and staff!! Guinness spilt is a Guinness shared!!

  • Visited February 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nursebridle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Made to feel extreamely welcome, will without a doubt return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2011

Had lunch in there with an business client, and the staff, food and ambience was first class.
Nothing was too much trouble for you, and the food was delicious. It was busy with other customers all eating but you were still made to feel like you were number one. The place holds a great atmosphere, and the food is first class, whether you want a sandwich or a full meal. I would strongly recommend The Walnut Tree to anyone, and I will definitley be returning very soon.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise_B78_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed the walnut tree also viewed

Pagham, Arun District
Chichester, West Sussex
 
Hunston, Chichester
Chichester, West Sussex
 

Been to the walnut tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing